We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat

Save
Share
2941 Forest Rd, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 20-09-05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Updated 20-09-05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 18 hotels in Stratford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
We are a 20 room outdoor retreat set on 32 acres just outside of Stratford. Our rooms are split between our main motel, McCarthy House, and bed and breakfast across the road. All room rates include free breakfast, campfires, walking trails, bike rentals, canoe rentals, and BBQ facilities. Some of our Suites have private saltwater hot tubs (not public use, only private to certain rooms) available at an extra charge.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Badminton
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Outdoor dining area
Bicycles available
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 1 more
607Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 462
  • 124
  • 16
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
eggsmith3 wrote a review Nov. 2020
Goderich, Canada12 contributions10 helpful votes
The property was lovely, we stayed in The McCarthy House and it was perfect. Two suites inside a quaint log cottage, both with hot tubs and a view of a very pretty lake. We were off by ourselves and you would have thought we were in the middle of a forest. So quiet, and beautiful sunset and star filled sky. The suites were comfy and had all we needed, a kitchenette, small living area and great beds. We enjoyed our lunch bag breakfast. We felt safe. No contact with staff or other guests. I highly recommend this experience for singles or couples.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Schelhaas, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Responded Nov. 30, 2020
Thank you so much for your review, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back! Ben Schelhaas Manager
Read more
tcvtraveler wrote a review Oct. 2020
Toronto, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
If you love picnicking or roasting marshmallows, bring your picnic and enjoy the beautiful surroundings or have take out from the fabulous restaurants in Stratford. When theatre comes back, this is the place to stay or enjoy this fall or winter getaway
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Schelhaas, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Responded Nov. 1, 2020
Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back soon! Ben Schelhaas Manager
Read more
anneharris2020 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Dundas, Canada2 contributions
Amazing location, friendly staff, clean room, access to dock, canoes, bikes, bonfire and bbq. Had an awesome time. Also was close to Stratford shopping. Lots of stores close and downtown has cute shops and great food for lunch. Would recommend highly and would go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Schelhaas, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Responded Oct. 28, 2020
Thank you so much for your review, Anne! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back soon! Ben Schelhaas Manager
Read more
Brad P wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution
Lousy experience, I doubt I’d go back. Breakfast was cheap. Never seen the owners. Want you to was your own dishes, take out trash, and then tip on top of the $200 it costs to stay. The dog was barking. They didn’t say on the website that it would be across the street in their house. There was no cream or sugar for the coffee. They cut quality corners that make a trip nice and expect you to still pay a high price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Schelhaas, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Responded Oct. 28, 2020
Hi Brad, Difficult as it may be to believe, things are different at hotels during a pandemic. Aside from the basic self-monitoring questions about COVID-19, we do not know where you have been recently, who you have interacted with or how many people you have been in contact with. As a result, for our own safety, we are asking guests to take some extra measures to keep ourselves, our staff, and our other guests safe. This is why we are asking you to wash your dishes, so they are clean before we wash them AGAIN, to make sure everything is sanitary. We do not want to touch anything that you have put to your face or mouth, so we ask guests to put their garbage out so we do not come in contact with cups, wrappers, tissues, etc. We always ask guests to tip our housekeepers, but even more so during this time, as your room is quarantined, sanitized, then cleaned by our hardworking housekeepers to a higher level than ever before. This is also why we are providing bagged breakfasts in guest rooms. Unfortunately, our breakfast room is closed by our local health unit, and this is the best solution to keep all guests socially distanced and safe. On our website, it is clearly stated on the Bed and Breakfast page that your room was in the B&B across the road. This is exactly why we call the units B&B rooms, not motel rooms or cabins. I had 11 other rooms available during your night with us, and you did not contact us asking to move rooms, which would have been a simple fix. And in your room, directly above the keurig machine is an entire container filled with creamers, sugars, and sweeteners for your morning coffee. We are in the office 8am-8pm daily, and included in your check-in package was a business card with our personal cell numbers in case you were in need of anything during your stay. We did not receive any contact from you, even though we live right underneath the unit you were in. We are all doing our best as hoteliers to keep our guests and staff safe, healthy, and happy. I hope you understand that is our primary concern above all else. Ben Schelhaas Manager
Read more
Paulisgirl24 wrote a review Oct. 2020
1 contribution
These rooms are really great don't get me wrong but 300$$ a night is a little too much granted we did have a hot tub with or room but 300 a night and I checked in just a little before midnight and the person who checked us in was really rude to us
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kim Schelhaas, Owner at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Responded Oct. 28, 2020
We apologize if we came off as rude when you arrived. With your particular situation, you arrived at midnight with no reservation so when you called you woke us up. These rooms are some of the only rooms in Ontario with completely private hot tubs, and the prices are reflective of that. Ben Schelhaas Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioStratford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Rheo Thompson Candies (4.0 km), Stratford Festival (3.2 km), and Avon Theater (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Braai House, Pizza Bistro, and The Alley (Formerly Keystone Alley).
Does Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Dutch.
Does Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.