We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I didn't know what to expect when I booked a room here, but I was pleasantly surprised! It's not fancy, it's basic but it's clean, comfortable and spacious and includes a continental breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again if I needed to stay in Sudbury during the summer months. The price certainly was right! I've paid more for less in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellisaway
Darryl D, Director of Sales at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good day Kellisaway, Thank you so much for your positive review, you pretty much nailed it, we are not the fanciest accommodations but it is comfortable, clean with excellent service at an affordable rate. Positive reviews are greatly appreciated. Thank you, Darryl

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The price was very reasonable and included a basic continental breakfast. Everything is basic but okay. The units with two bedrooms also have a private bathroom and a room with a table, refridgerator, sink and a microwave oven. The double beds are quite comfortable, and the place is clean and it was quieter than most hotels. I would go here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leonardshore
Darryl D, Director of Sales at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good day Leonardshore, Thank you so much for your positive review, you pretty much nailed it, we are not the fanciest accommodations but it is comfortable, clean with excellent service at an affordable rate. Positive reviews are greatly appreciated. Thank you, Darryl

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The postal address of 1390 Barrydown Rd, is totally useless in finding this location in a car. Set your GPS to find 46 31.6015N and 80 56.4576W or find the intersection of Goverors Rd and Lamonthe St on a map. It is the first building entrance west of that intersection. Other directions that may help would be to take Lasalle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Telserv
Darryl D, Director of Sales at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for the review, we acknowledge that the Residence is not the easiest to find as we are not located off any highway. I do have the GPS coordinates posted on the website for directions. Thank you, Darryl

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2016

This is the Residence for Cambrian College. For $76 per night it is a GREAT deal. Breakfast was basic but for the price was good. The rooms were clean and spacious. Very close to the mall. We will stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 705Elliott
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good day Elliott, Thank you so much for this fantastic review, we definitely thrive on our quality of customer service and cleanliness of our facility. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Darryl

Georgetown, Canada
Reviewed 26 August 2015

What a waste of money and my worse hotel stay ever. First of all it was bad enough that would not offer a singles rate, so for FULL price I had FULL disappointment. I would have been better off sleeping on a ROCK than that bed, it was so hard, and the room was in no way made to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NokomisontheWater
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good day, First off thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. All apologies on our behalf if we did not obtain your level of expectations although we are advertised as a Student Residence and definite target the budget traveler. We are usually known as a very clean and quiet environment so again my apologies if you had not...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We stayed here for 4 nights while in Sudbury. Hotels were overpriced at around $150 so $76.49 per night here seemed like a great deal, except what you get is very, very basic. It is a dorm style room on a college campus, which is what we expected. Although a great price compared to local hotels, it should be priced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MapleLeaf1867
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good day, First off thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it. Yes we are a student residence offering affordable rates for the budget traveler and do have a basic offerings to our guests as like you mentioned we are more than have the price of any hotel in the surrounding. I personally apologize for the lack of amenities...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Wow. I can't begin to explain the disappointment with this place. The original description we were sent of the facilities was: "100 Suites, A/C, Free Parking, Elevator, Public Transportation available. Kitchen, Living Room and 2 bedrooms with a double bed in each bedroom.The room is a suite style accommodation with two bedrooms (a double bed in each room, a kitchenette...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth P
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Good morning Elizabeth, Thank you for your review as we like to hear from all our guests. My apologies if you were misleaded from any add you may have received. I assure you that we do not hide the fact that we are a Student Residence and we do offer our residence at affordable rates for the budget traveler. We...

Reviewed 16 March 2015

This is a WONDERFUL place to stay if you are short on money! Of course the bed's are not super comfy and the room is not full of luxurious things but it's a college dorm. It's normal! And for what we pay, it is super nice! Staff is ALWAYS nice to us and accomodating. The breakfast is ok but we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Émilie C
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Hello Emilie, First I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our Facility. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and love to have you back. Again thank you and take care, Darryl Deschenes

Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wow. I can't begin to explain the disappointment with this place. The original description we were sent of the facilities was: "100 Suites, A/C, Free Parking, Elevator, Public Transportation available. Kitchen, Living Room and 2 bedrooms with a double bed in each bedroom." My reservation confirmation reads: "We are pleased to have you staying with us at Cambrian College Residence...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Judy C
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Hello Judy, First I would like to thank you for the review on our Facility, all guest feedback is definitely taken in consideration. As the sales manager of the Residence I do not feel that I have misadvertised the Residence, All pictures of our rooms are on the website and are definitelnot misleading. I will although apologise if it was...

Lindsay, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Cambrian Residence and Conference Center in Sudbury Ontario Canada, checking in on Friday June 27th and checking out on Monday June 30th, 2014. The room is actually two seperate bedrooms, a kitchen area (including full size fridge, microwave and sink) and a bath. Our rooms were extreamly clean. They are simple and basic but comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eric K
Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North, responded to this review

Hello Erik, I would like to start by thanking you for the fantastic review you had written about our facility, we thrive on cleanliness and customer service and we like to heear that you received both. Hope we can accommodate you again soon, Sincerely, Darryl Deschenes

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
5.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Downtown Sudbury Centreville
2.3 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#23 of 32 in Sudbury
84 reviews
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn East
Comfort Inn East
#13 of 32 in Sudbury
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
2.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sudbury
2.5 km away
TownePlace Suites Sudbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
RCC - Sudbury North is situated in the heart of New Sudbury and is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shopping, including the new Sudbury Shopping Centre. It is also only a 15 minute drive to scenic Lake Ramsey, Science North, and the Big Nickel/Dynamic Earth. Sudbury is known for its vast hiking trails and great beaches. Golfers can play at one of the many nearby golf courses including Timberwolf located within 5 minutes of RCC - Sudbury North. Along with the standard two-bedroom suites found at other RCC locations, RCC - Sudbury North also offers townhouse style units for guests. Each townhouse includes six private bedrooms with a single bed, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, and a spacious living and dining area. Townhouses are great for groups with multiple guests and they can be the perfect solution for extended stay travelers, families or groups. A variety of classrooms and lecture halls are available to accommodate groups of 10 to 250 guests. Rental rates include the use of basic audio-visual equipment with on-site food service options available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North

Address: 1390 Barrydowne Road, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 6B9, Canada (Formerly Cambrian Residence & Conference Center)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Price Range: $85 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North 2*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence & Conference Center - Sudbury North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you just need a place to sleep, this is it. Anything more, pay double for a hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles MapleLeaf1867, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the main floor...it's easier than bringing all your stuff up the stairs when the elevator does not work!”
 of 5 bubbles 441_miliec, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Just stay away!!!”
 of 5 bubbles JudyC66, 24 Jul 2014 | Read review
3 of 3