Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North

Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North

1390 Barrydowne Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 6B9 Canada

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#27 of 35 hotels in Sudbury
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
RCC - Sudbury North is situated in the heart of New Sudbury and is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shopping, including the new Sudbury Shopping Centre. It is also only a 15 minute drive to scenic Lake Ramsey, Science North, and the Big Nickel/Dynamic Earth. Sudbury is known for its vast hiking trails and great beaches. Golfers can play at one of the many nearby golf courses including Timberwolf located within 5 minutes of RCC - Sudbury North. Along with the standard two-bedroom suites found at other RCC locations, RCC - Sudbury North also offers townhouse style units for guests. Each townhouse includes six private bedrooms with a single bed, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen, and a spacious living and dining area. Townhouses are great for groups with multiple guests and they can be the perfect solution for extended stay travelers, families or groups. A variety of classrooms and lecture halls are available to accommodate groups of 10 to 250 guests. Rental rates include the use of basic audio-visual equipment with on-site food service options available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business

Location

1390 Barrydowne Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3A 6B9 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 45 out of 100
45
Sudbury Airport
16.1 km
See all flights
20Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 7
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kellisaway wrote a review Aug 2016
North Bay, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I didn't know what to expect when I booked a room here, but I was pleasantly surprised! It's not fancy, it's basic but it's clean, comfortable and spacious and includes a continental breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again if I needed to stay in Sudbury during the summer months. The price certainly was right! I've paid more for less in a hotel room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Director of Sales at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded Aug 30, 2016
Good day Kellisaway, Thank you so much for your positive review, you pretty much nailed it, we are not the fanciest accommodations but it is comfortable, clean with excellent service at an affordable rate. Positive reviews are greatly appreciated. Thank you, Darryl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edward W wrote a review Jul 2018
Ottawa, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A decent option for visiting the city. It is in a college dormitory, so it is not luxurious, but it is a good value. We ended up in room 327, which was at the end of a hallway, but was probably one of the better options in terms of rooms as it only had neighbours on one side (and even then the building is pretty sound proof.) There were some issues with the cooling system which we never did figure out, but the rooms were neither too hot or too cold anyway, and even with windows open at night there was next to no noise outside. As is mentioned elsewhere there is no tv in the rooms, though I don't see it as being a huge issue, as I never saw anyone in the common room and there is a tv there. It is a bit of an odd area of town to stay in, as there is not a whole lot in the immediate area, though it is not too far from LaSalle Boulevard, so getting across the city either way is pretty easy. Overall, we liked our experience there and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Betty M wrote a review Jul 2018
Edmonton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were attending my daughters wedding in Hanmer and needed something that was affordable and close to Hanmer. The rooms were clean, service was great. If we needed towels etc. we got them right away.
There was coffee and tea in the mornings, no continental breakfast.

The sitting area could have been described better as it is only a table and 2 chairs.

Overall, a great economical choice for accommodation.

Thank you! if I am out that way again for an extended stay, I would book at the college again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kieran M wrote a review Jul 3
Orillia, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful, place. They try to treat it like a hotel , however security is walking around”no smoking, no cans” what the heck. We understand it’s a campus, but when the students r gone and they choose to rent it out as a hotel. There are still campus security telling people the rule. Worst place to stay, thought I was in a prison
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ZaphodBx42 wrote a review Jul 2013
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, and clean, and its great if you're traveling with kids, the bathroom was the cleanest bathroom among all the hotels I hade stayed in. The breakfast was yummy and nutritious. Although there was no TV in the room and no hair dryer, I would suggest to bring your own, and there is free wifi. I would come here again if I even come back to sudbury.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded May 11, 2015
Dear Sparkly3spirits, I would like to start by thanking you for the wonderful review you had posted regarding our residence, we do pride ourselves on offering the cleanest rooms and to provide excellent customer service. we appreciate the fact that you received both and reviewed our Facility. Thank you again, Sincerely, Darryl Deschenes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MapleLeaf1867 wrote a review Aug 2015
Georgetown, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights while in Sudbury. Hotels were overpriced at around $150 so $76.49 per night here seemed like a great deal, except what you get is very, very basic. It is a dorm style room on a college campus, which is what we expected. Although a great price compared to local hotels, it should be priced at around $50 per night. Here is a list fo the good and bad:

Good
--Much better price than the overpriced hotels.
--Good location in the north end of Sudbury.
--It had a full sized fridge with freezer which was great.
--Free parking (they gave a parking pass)
--Friendly and helpful staff at reception desk.
--Shower/water pressure/water temperature were great.
--Despite the poor quality of the beds, I slept very well, but that could be because we were very tired from all the stuff we did each day.

Bad
--As soon as we entered the room, we could smell urine from the bathroom. They need to do a better job cleaning...do the cleaning staff not sense that smell???
--Breakfast is included, however they said that the Monday, the last day of our stay and assume the last day they rent rooms they did not offer breakfast, even though when we booked it said breakfast included. Why could they not offer it on Monday since we paid for it as part of the room rate.
--Breakest is described as "deluxe continental breakfast". Bagels (not plain) and cereal...that's all they had...a far cry from deluxe. Wound up eating Rice Crispy cereal all 4 days...not my idea of a good start.
--You are sitting on couches while eating breakfast...no tables/chairs to sit at unless you take it to your room.
--Bed matresses are plastic and sheets are thin.
--Very poor lighing in the parking lot at night.
--Rooms were noisy...ie one night there was a 40th anniversary alumni celebration taking place just across from out room in the laundry/common(?) room?
--Internet was unusable in the room and we had to go to the lobby where it worked well. Last day we seemed to get better signal in the room.
--Had to ask for toilet paper an kleenexes as they were not restocked during our 4 night stay.
--It says to put used towels on the floor/bathtub and we would get fresh ones...we didn't get any.
--No TV, Hairdryer (would have been nice to know) or any other luxury in the room. The room walls are stone blocks, like a prison would have.

So we had the good along with the bad. Some things met our expectations and some things didn't (urine smell, plastic beds, poor breakfast). In the end we don't regret staying here, but looked forward to leave to our next destination in where we stayed in a real hotel.

Reading other reviews I see the manager comments on most of them, but I challenge them to make it right for us, offering us a partial refund even if it is just $20 for the lack of breakfast as advertised on the last day of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep, this is it. Anything more, pay double for a hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded Feb 29, 2016
Good day, First off thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate it. Yes we are a student residence offering affordable rates for the budget traveler and do have a basic offerings to our guests as like you mentioned we are more than have the price of any hotel in the surrounding. I personally apologize for the lack of amenities and breakfast items that we were offering on the last day of our available accommodations, there are no excuses for this. Your challenge is accepted and I would be more than happy to offer you a 50% discount (more than $20) upon your next stay with us at Sudbury North Residence & Conference Centre. Thank you, Darryl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth P wrote a review Aug 2015
Toronto, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow. I can't begin to explain the disappointment with this place. The original description we were sent of the facilities was: "100 Suites, A/C, Free Parking, Elevator, Public Transportation available. Kitchen, Living Room and 2 bedrooms with a double bed in each bedroom.The room is a suite style accommodation with two bedrooms (a double bed in each room, a kitchenette and a 3 piece washroom." Does everyone have a picture in their mind of what you would be expecting??? Now, take out the word "suites" and "living room". "Residence and Conference Centre" brings a whole different picture to my mind than the reality of this horrible place. I thought it was a good deal and a great price but it was a horrible experience. It was noisy, the carpet was dirty and I could not sleep, overall I end up in this dorm room with no television, phone, kitchen with utensils or plates, and uncomfortable beds. This is a place I will never go again or recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded Feb 29, 2016
Good morning Elizabeth, Thank you for your review as we like to hear from all our guests. My apologies if you were misleaded from any add you may have received. I assure you that we do not hide the fact that we are a Student Residence and we do offer our residence at affordable rates for the budget traveler. We are usually know and reviewed upon are extreme cleanliness of our suites and properties and I apologize for your disappointment. Thank you, Darryl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy C wrote a review Jul 2014
Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow. I can't begin to explain the disappointment with this place. The original description we were sent of the facilities was: "100 Suites, A/C, Free Parking, Elevator, Public Transportation available. Kitchen, Living Room and 2 bedrooms with a double bed in each bedroom." My reservation confirmation reads: "We are pleased to have you staying with us at Cambrian College Residence & Conference Centre. The room is a suite style accommodation with two bedrooms (a double bed in each room, a kitchenette and a 3 piece washroom." Does everyone have a picture in their mind of what you would be expecting??? Now, take out the word "suites" and "living room". "Residence and Conference Centre" brings a whole different picture to my mind than the reality of this horrible place. Yes, it's only $65 a night, but I didn't know what that gets you in Canada. Now I know. I believed what they advertised, plain and simple. I thought it was a good deal and a great price. The reality was that it was not a good deal. My husband and I flew to Toronto from Minnesota. We drove 4 1/2 hours to Sudbury to end up in this dorm room with no television, phone, kitchen with utensils or plates, and uncomfortable beds. I have never seen such a tiny bar of soap! Yes, even in Canada, you get what you pay for! Never mind what you were promised. On the positive side....it is relatively clean, the A/C works well and the parking and WiFi are free. But, had there been an accurate description of this place being a barren dorm room, I would have dropped the extra $35 a night to stay at a reputable hotel without the false advertising. The "living room" is a little kitchenette with a kitchen table seating 2.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just stay away!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded May 11, 2015
Hello Judy, First I would like to thank you for the review on our Facility, all guest feedback is definitely taken in consideration. As the sales manager of the Residence I do not feel that I have misadvertised the Residence, All pictures of our rooms are on the website and are definitelnot misleading. I will although apologise if it was misleading to you. Thank you again, Darryl Deschenes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric K wrote a review Jul 2014
Lindsay, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Cambrian Residence and Conference Center in Sudbury Ontario Canada, checking in on Friday June 27th and checking out on Monday June 30th, 2014. The room is actually two seperate bedrooms, a kitchen area (including full size fridge, microwave and sink) and a bath. Our rooms were extreamly clean. They are simple and basic but comfortable and spacious. You need to bring your own utensils and paper plates. Air conditioning was nice and cool even though it was so hot outside. There is not an ice machine in the residence but it's really not an issue as there are numerous plazas with every store you should need for supplies including ice. Also most of the rooms do not have TV's but they are equipped with cable to bring your own, but you will need to bring your own cable. They do have free Wifi and it worked very well.
We had read on some of the web sites that they charge for parking but upon check in they will give you a pass so you do not need to pay, just display the ticket.
Continental breakfast was included and it certainly had everything you needed. Bagels, english muffins, jams and jellies and cream cheese, ceral and juice. It is served for 3 hours in the morning so lots of time to grab a bite to eat.
The staff was very friendly and informative. Shane at check in was helpful and had all the information we needed.
Although it is not a luxury property it is a great value for your money. The company owns other residences throughout Canada, so once you have tried one I'm sure you will be looking to see if they have another one where you might be travelling. If I had any complaint is that the beds are not the most comfortable, but for the money you pay I can certainly live with that.
It's a great alternative to expensive hotels especially for families.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded May 11, 2015
Hello Erik, I would like to start by thanking you for the fantastic review you had written about our facility, we thrive on cleanliness and customer service and we like to heear that you received both. Hope we can accommodate you again soon, Sincerely, Darryl Deschenes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emlchm wrote a review Mar 2015
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a WONDERFUL place to stay if you are short on money!
Of course the bed's are not super comfy and the room is not full of luxurious things but it's a college dorm. It's normal! And for what we pay, it is super nice!

Staff is ALWAYS nice to us and accomodating. The breakfast is ok but we usually by ourselves a box of cereal and some fruits just for us in the room.

Some people were saying there were no utensiles...in the breakfast area there is some! All day long!

Anyway. I LOVE this place and will go back for sure!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for the main floor...it's easier than bringing all your stuff up the stairs when the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Darryl D, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Responded May 11, 2015
Hello Emilie, First I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our Facility. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and love to have you back. Again thank you and take care, Darryl Deschenes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
MapleLeaf1867 wrote a tip Aug 2015
Georgetown, Canada330 contributions131 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you just need a place to sleep, this is it. Anything more, pay double for a hotel."
Read full review
emlchm wrote a tip Mar 2015
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada12 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the main floor...it's easier than bringing all your stuff up the stairs when the elevator does not work!"
Read full review
Judy C wrote a tip Jul 2014
Hayward, Wisconsin, United States5 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just stay away!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sudbury area.
PRICE RANGE
C$95 - C$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cambrian Residence & Conference Center
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioNortheastern OntarioSudbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Which popular attractions are close to Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North?
Nearby attractions include Urban Air Trampoline and Adventure Park (0.9 km), New Sudbury Centre (0.8 km), and Plaza Bowl (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Is parking available at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Kouzzina, Fish Market Jessinik and Chipstand, and Red Lobster.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sudbury HotelsSudbury Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SudburyHotels near Residence & Conference Centre (RCC) - Sudbury North
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars