We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,164: English reviews
Ottawa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is beautiful, but on the weekends, because of the bars it houses (three on the main floor plus a rooftop bar, I think?) it gets very loud. I stayed on a Saturday night and between the bars and hotel parties my neighbours were having, it didn't quiet down until almost 4am. Maybe on weekdays it is better, but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank callisto72
St. John's
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Thompson Toronto this past weekend and loved it! It is located in a residential area and about a 40 minute walk from the Eaton Center, and a 20 minute walk from the Air Canada Center. Neither my husband nor I minded the walk however as the weather was beautiful and we loved the area, so it was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G4795NMamyf
Toronto
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We won a two night stay at The Thompson and it was a wonderful time. Great location, great staff and great atmosphere. The only issue that arose was an overloaded elevator, which was not the hotel's fault, but rather foolish rooftop guests. They handled it well by prioritizing hotel guests and ensuring we made it up and down the hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelbrennaf
Rochester, New York
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel itself is beautiful and clean, location is great, but the noise levels are obscene. Diner is open 24 hours so we heard people talking and yelling outside all night, as well as hallway noise. Worst nights sleep in a long time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurakS5863FI
Ottawa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fantastic location and a quick walk to Billy Bishop airport makes it ultra-convenient. Enjoyed the hotel immensely. Only qualm at all would be the keycards in elevators but that was very minor. Great spot & nice people working there!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheManzere
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic service and luxurious accommodations. A bit pricey, but the value was in line with the ammenities and service level. The location is great for accessing west end night life, restaurants, or just checking out the city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steverK1832DT
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Three of my clients and myself stayed overnight and I was more than impressed with this Hotel. The hotel itself and the rooms are posh, modern and very accommodating. The staff were amazing and I even got a personalized hand written message delivered to the room. We reserved bottle service at the Wildflower - which is the bar/club within the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jose H
Melida H, Front Office Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jose H, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are so proud to become your choice hotel and will ensure to work hard to keep such an amazing title. We can't wait to welcome you back soon! Warmest Regards, Melida mhimbaxter@thompsonhotels.com

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Comfortable, Contemporary, Stylish, Friendly, Luxurious! .... Tip: ask for a room on the opposite side of the Wildflower (if you're are on a lower level room). You may hear the music. Otherwise, I'm sure anyone would love their stay in Toronto.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandaa162017
Melida H, Front Office Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear amandaa162017, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your time with us! Great room tip for our future guests as we are always trying to ensure our guests have the perfect room. Warmest Regards, Melida mhimbaxter@thompsonhotels.com

Toronto
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The suite I booked looked nothing like the room I was given. It was very dark and the layout was nothing like it was in the picture. I had no time to complain or change my room as we had to get ready for an event but addressed it the next morning upon leaving. The picture on the website and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iamthecherrybomb
Melida H, Front Office Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Iamthecherrybomb, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay! We offer our sincerest apologies as your guestroom did not match what you were expecting. We would have loved to show you our different room categories but I understand you did not have the time to do so. Thank you for letting us know so we may be...

Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay at the Thompson; great meal options - wonderful diner for breakfast - excellent coffee - and spotless room. The staff was very accommodating - we'd had a snowstorm - and we rigged up a plastic garbage bag to protect my briefcase in the snow - nothing fell short of my expectations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank holly_hudson_hatt
Melida H, Front Office Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holly_hudson_hatt, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We are so glad you were able to enjoy our famously reviewed breakfast and even more thrilled our team members were able to provide the service we pride ourselves upon. The good news is our winter season is almost over so hopefully we may be able to welcome you back...

639 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (372)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Executive Suite (71)
Viewed
King Suite (60)
Viewed
King Superior (64)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Thompson Suite (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 132 in Toronto
1,034 reviews
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 132 in Toronto
2,651 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 132 in Toronto
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $287 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel Ontario
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#22 Business Hotel in Toronto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure what this means ”
 of 5 bubbles J3956OIcatherinep, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The room was great, clean and fresh. Maybe a lounger of some sort to hang out on vs. the bed? Otherwise, great.”
 of 5 bubbles JenniferV248, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The downstairs diner is fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles angoodhue, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some views of T.O. are nicer with certain rooms; ask for this at time of booking, if important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles ryanmW1070VN, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in yorkville”
 of 5 bubbles JamesS865, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay