We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fairmont Royal York

Show Prices
#19 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairmont Royal York
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Royal York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,458: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

An outstanding hotel, beautifully restored rooms, the best place to stay in Toronto. Staff makes you feel very welcome, in a genuine way. It was great to be back. Easy access to the UP train at the Union station is a big plus.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dirk K
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear Dirk K, Thank you for your review. Our team will be thrilled to know that they made you feel genuinely welcome and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Toronto. Best regards, Edwin

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

I stayed for a week at this lovely hotel. The facilities and staff were exceptional. Though more expensive it is a worthwhile treat.. The shuttle service to the Royal Winter Fair is very helpful and easy to use.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank happyfarmerKingston
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear happyfarmerKingston, Thank you for choosing our hotel as your home away from home during the RAWF. We are thrilled that your experience was exceptional and look forward to hosting you again next year, if not sooner! Best regards, Edwin

Waterdown, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

The hotel was beautiful. Our room was recently renovated in a very nice way. The bathroom was very small but cute and clean. The only complaint we had was regarding the pillows; too flimsy. The pool area was also lovely and we enjoyed our dinner at Benihana's and our Sunday brunch at Epic.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tcgirl3
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear tcgirl3, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you loved your guestroom and had an opportunity to enjoy Benihana and Epic for dinner and brunch. We apologize that the pillows were not comfortable for you--please don't ever hesitate to contact our Royal Service team who are always happy to have different pillows delivered. Best regards, Edwin

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

This hotel, is nice but I would definitely recommend it for older couples, or business travellers that will wake up early, and go to bed early. I think because this is an older hotel you can pretty well hear every conversation in the hallway, and louder conversations in the rooms next to you. I love the location of this hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sonjdra
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear sonjdra, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the disturbance you encountered from neighbouring guests and for your feeling of disappointment with your guestroom. We are pleased to offer fully renovated Fairmont Luxury rooms and larger, renovated Fairmont Signature rooms that have enhanced sound proofing. We can also confirm that all of our guestrooms have full windows that...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Stayed at the Royal York for a quick trip through Toronto. From the moment we walked through the door, the staff was amazing, and our room was beautiful. The room was well-appointed, and very comfortable. We ate breakfast at Epic, and the food and service were wonderful as well. I highly suggest staying at the Fairmont Royal York on your...

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank halichk
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear halichk, Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to know that our colleagues wowed you from the moment you walked in the door and you enjoyed your beautiful, well appointed guestroom. Our culinary team will also be happy to hear that you received equally outstanding service at Epic and we hope you can return for another memorable visit...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Great hotel in the style of grand hotels in Europe. Beautiful marble floors, comfortable room and breathtaking common areas. Room had all the modern touches with a traditional feel. Staff outstanding Highly recommend

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne L, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our history and traditional décor coupled with the modern amenities in your guestroom. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Toronto. Best regards, Edwin

Little Britain
Reviewed 18 November 2015

I felt like this was a scene out of Pretty Women on Rodeo drive.. The presidents club staff in particular was not welcoming, robotic and degrading. Shame for such a beautiful hotel. The food and room were lovely.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L2203YQkatieb
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear L2203YQkatieb, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that your room was lovely and you enjoyed our hotel restaurants. Your experience with our Fairmont President's Club colleagues is truly not reflective of the warm, welcoming service we are accustomed to providing and we will be discussing your comments in detail with our team. We apologize and...

Franklin, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Room was very clean, comfortable & very quiet. Bathroom a bit on small side, but no problem & absolutely loved the shower cubicle. Best blackout curtains I've seen yet -- never knew when it was morning. We were on 4th floor which looked out over a flat roof - not the best view but we weren't there for the view....

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CatsandFlowers2013
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear CatsandFlowers2013, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that your visit was seamless overall and you found your guestroom comfortable and quiet. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Toronto and our team looks forward to providing the same excellent service! Best regards, Edwin

Gossau, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Upon Arrival I was greeted by a friendly assistant. Being a former Torontonian, I asked for a room with a view of the CN Tower, which she managed to find for me. The room had enough space for two. The beds were very comfortable. You can adjust the heating in the room to suit your Needs. Unfortunately, W-Lan is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoyceMS
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear JoyceMS, Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to learn of your family's connection to the hotel and we are thrilled to have welcomed you back for another memorable stay. We appreciate your advice to fellow travellers and the helpful information you have provided. We certainly hope that you can return in the not too distant future! Best...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We always love our stay on the Gold level. Nice rooms, great food and wonderful staff. The staff are anxious to help in any way are always welcoming. This goes to housekeeping staff as well. Be sure to have a meal in EPIC. The food is consistently wonderful. The hotel is a short walking distance to most things or just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
RoyalYorkHotel, Edwin Frizzell, Regional Vice President & General Manager at Fairmont Royal York, responded to this review

Dear FuzzyBeaver, Thank you for your loyalty to our Fairmont Gold floor. Our colleagues will appreciate your recognition and it is wonderful to know that they contribute to a memorable experience. We are also thrilled that you enjoy Epic restaurant and hope to welcome you back for another great stay soon! Best regards, Edwin

1,151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (813)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (147)
Viewed
Room/Suite (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (407)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (333)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Fairmont Gold Room (41)
Viewed
Fairmont Room (38)
Viewed
Medium Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 132 in Toronto
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Piper's Pub
Piper's Pub
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal York

Address: 100 Front Street W, Toronto, Ontario M5JIE3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $223 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Royal York 4*
Number of rooms: 1365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Royal York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Royal York Hotel Toronto
Fairmont Toronto
Royal York Hotel Toronto
Toronto Fairmont
Fairmont Royal York Toronto, Ontario
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Toronto
#10 Family Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#28 Business Hotel in Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Royal York staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question
Leek, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Leek, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Whitehaven, United Kingdom

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Royal York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like to be on a higher floor looking west on Front Street, with a view of the CN Tower.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieBruce, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Use the concierge to help you with dinner reservations or any other ideas.”
 of 5 bubbles heatherbR4678FO, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Accessible to all downtown Toronto”
 of 5 bubbles 401janiced, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a renovated quiet room higher up”
 of 5 bubbles Caroline1345, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the higher the better to get a great view”
 of 5 bubbles evajuk, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay