We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Global Village Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Global Village Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Global Village Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I have stayed at Global Village a couple of times and will definately come back again. Great staff, great location and great bar with outdoor patio area where you can meet lots of other travellers (especially good for when you're travelling on your own). The events are particularly fun! Location is excellent for sightseeing and for restaurants/bars/clubs and its in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monz1022
Vancouver
Reviewed 14 May 2010

If you have any other option for accommodation in Toronto take it!! The Global Village Backpackers is dirty and noisy, the only good thing about it is the friendly staff at reception. I stayed at Global Village as I was taking a Moose Tour which departs from there. After spending a night there before the tour I cancelled my night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brisvegas_Boarder
YouthHostel, Manager at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your response. I would like to tell you that we are undertaking a comprehensive renovation project which started earlier this month (May). We will be upgrading washrooms, sleeping areas, common areas and more. We have already completely re-painted the facility and more work is now underway. We expect to be finished this renovation by end...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Absolutely disgusting. Ive travelled around the world and stayed in hostels all over the world and nothing compares to this hostel, not even hostels in India, Asia and South America. The hostel dorms are dark, filthy with bedbugs and mice. The showers and toilets are really dirty and leaking water (what a waste of water) the kitchen is a disgrace,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andres G
YouthHostel, President at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your experience at the hostel, however I have to strongly disagree with your comments. We do not have bedbugs or rats in our facility. We have employed a company to inspect rooms (and the hostel) weekly for the past ten years and we take immediate steps if there are any issues. Second, our sleeping rooms...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I've just spent several nights at this hostel, and found it to be fairly dirty. There were big dark hairs on the sheets when I turned them down the first night; and if I hadn't brought shower shoes I'm pretty sure I would have had to find a different place to stay. I don't know when the floors were last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymouse22
eilat
Reviewed 20 March 2010

this hostel is the most digusting dirty unkept place i have ever stayed in,the list of failures is soo long i do not know where to begin,there are lockers about 30 of them ,at the most 5 are working,most of the time the keycard does not work,depending on your room it involves a 3,4 ,floor walk to the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EilatFelix
YouthHostel, President at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

In response to this review I would like to point out that this guest was asked to leave our hostel because of his aggressive behavior to other guests and staff. Unfortunately this happens from time to time, however the vast majority of guests at our facility leave satisfied and willing to recommend Global Village Backpackers to their friends. The Global...

Brisbane
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Although this hostel is in good location, the rooms and sleeping arrangements were very poor. The beds were terrible - we had a triple room with a double bed on the bottom and single on top. The beds were creaky, old, the mattresses were barely there (they were horrible mattresses which sunk to the middle and had no support), the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKE87
YouthHostel, Managing Director at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad stay in our facility. Our staff works very hard to try and make each and every guest experience a positive one. Just so you are aware, our policy for no food in the sleeping rooms is common for many youth hostels and it is in place for the benefit of all guests....

toronto
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This backpacker place is in the heart of Toronto. It is on King street which is the hot spot in Toronto. There are tons of restaurants, bars, clubs, stores, grocery stores, alcohol stores, shopping. It is very central. Great for its location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jumpingjustyna
manchester
Reviewed 5 December 2009

we arrived at the global backpackers hostel in june 06. had booke dit aftre searching around on the internet. was very impressed with the location of the hostel , the prices, the service on offer such as buses to different tours and discounted tickets for likes of CN tower & Niagra falls tours etc. Internet was priced normal aswell, little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pshiks09
Scarborough
Reviewed 28 November 2009

This place is beyond filthy. I had stayed there in 2007 and it was acceptible then....but it seems that it hasn't been cleaned ever since. I booked for an entire week but then imediately checked out when I saw the despicable conditions the rooms as well as well as the bathrooms were. Staying there is a serious health hazard with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gone_aforeign
YouthHostel, Owner at Global Village Backpackers, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the hostel. We have cleaning staff on duty every single day (as well as evening shifts) and we always follow up on their work. I wish that you had come to us with your complaints so we could have dealt with any issue immediately. Best of...

Bad Heilbrunn, Germany
Reviewed 22 November 2009

to stay. good facilities, bathroom a little bit dirty. free wifi, free towels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaffyMcDuck

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Templar Hotel
Templar Hotel
#78 of 131 in Toronto
149 reviews
Chinatown
College Backpackers
College Backpackers
#44 of 88 in Toronto
47 reviews
East York
The Only Backpackers Inn
The Only Backpackers Inn
#12 of 88 in Toronto
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Downtown
All Days Hostel
All Days Hostel
#24 of 88 in Toronto
70 reviews
Downtown West
Toronto Luxury Accommodations - 263 Wellington Street West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Global Village Backpackers is Toronto's original backpackers hostel. Since 1997 the "Village" has hosted thousands of travellers from around the world. Our facility offers 24 hour operations, large common area, backpackers pub and restaurant, kitchen, laundry and clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Address: 460 King St W | (near Bay Street), Toronto, Ontario M5V 1L7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Global Village Backpackers Hotel Toronto
Global Village Backpackers Toronto, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Global Village Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on both the second floor which was spacious, comfortable and enjoyable and the first floor which was unfortunately very cool, also so close to the bar that I could feel my bed vibrating from the band playing downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Mike1592, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles gillash, 29 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Don't always just look for the cheapest - sometimes it can be worth it to pay just a little more for a bed to sleep in.”
 of 5 bubbles Morten3001, 15 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Choose another hostel”
 of 5 bubbles larifcardoso, 7 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Ask for shared rooms with no other travelers in it and you basically get a private room for less!”
 of 5 bubbles jennyy04, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5