We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (704)
Room & Suite (641)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Hilton Honors Discount Offer
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#57 of 125 hotels in Toronto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A landmark hotel in the heart of downtown Toronto located at 108 Chestnut St., Toronto in the city's business hub. Conveniently located close to major Government Offices, Nathan Phillips Square, City Hall, World Class Hospitals, Universities, US Consulate & Diplomatic Missions, Toronto's Eaton Centre, Yonge/Dundas Square, TTC subway, underground PATH, major attractions and points of interest. The hotel features 490 modern non-smoking guest rooms including 34 suites. The standard guestrooms consist of the choice of standard king, queen, or two double beds. The 26 two-room suites boast kitchenettes and separate living area, are ideal for extended stays or guests looking for additional space. The hotel also has 4 Junior Suites which have an open-concept layout with kitchenettes as well as 4 Executive Suites, all of which are located on the 25th and 26th floors. The suites are large enough to accommodate intimate corporate meetings or receptions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 8 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Hilton Honors Discount Offer

Location

108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3 Canada
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,952 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown receives mixed feedback from guests. While its central location and cleanliness are often highlighted as positives, with the rooms being described as quiet and tidy, some guests have raised concerns about the value, feeling it doesn't quite match the price point. The hotel's service garners both praise and criticism, with reports of friendly staff alongside disappointments in efficiency. Additionally, while the amenities provide general satisfaction, guests have noted that the atmosphere and decor appear dated, and some have expressed desires for updates.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2,952Reviews67Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,162
  • 1,112
  • 367
  • 147
  • 164
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rudd wrote a review Apr 5
New York City, New York1 contribution
Miss Aayushi at the front desk is very nice, great personality and awesome customer service oriented. She always welcomes you with an infectious big smile which brightens the whole lobby and makes you feel at home. Will definitely come back
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely let Aayushi know that her efforts and hard work were noticed and appreciated. Thank you for choosing The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jamesville_Dad wrote a review Jul 2022
Orlando, Florida71 contributions148 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I spent two nights here in July. The hotel was very nice. I've stayed in all of the other Hilton brands in Toronto over the past four years, and the staff at this hotel was the best. Everyone I encountered was very friendly and helpful. Unlike the Hilton in Toronto, the DoubleTree still offers a wonderful breakfast for their Hilton Diamond members. The buffet was really good, and the staff was very friendly. I had dinner at their hotel restaurant on my first night, and it was very good as well. I liked the ability to self-park in their garage underneath the hotel as compared to the valet service at other Toronto hotels. It was nice being able to retrieve my vehicle as needed and not have to wait for the valet. Last but not least - their chocolate cookies are incredible!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded Jul 27, 2022
Dear James, Thank you so much for providing us with such a great review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your time at our hotel. It was truly a pleasure to have you with us. We hope that we will see you once again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Garret S wrote a review Apr 2
1 contribution
DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Why? BED BUGS! came back from a concert late at night to return to find blood stains in one bed and a bed bug in the other. Immediately reported this to the front desk and they made out fill out an investigation form and switched our room at 230am. We carried all our bags from the 7th floor to the 3rd floor at this late hour to find out that they gave us a room with one small queen sized bed when I had paid for two double beds for a total of three nights. Was only given the room I HAD PAID FOR just for one night then proceeded to get a tiny room and a tiny bed for the last two nights even though I had paid for three totals nights with two beds. When addressing this issue with the onsite manager the day we checked out we were solely offered a free breakfast.... no money back for the room change or even THE BED BUG situation. I repeat DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL. by far the worst hotel I have ever been too in the city of Toronto. Not only do they have bed bugs, but their staff did not seem to care about anything we had to stay and we were shut up with just a free breakfast. Guess that makes up for a bed bug infested room! Very terrible stay and again avoid this place at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Garret, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We take reports of pest activity in the hotel very seriously. At the time you reported the issue, we had a professional third-party pest control company promptly inspect the room in accordance with our hotel policies. The results of the investigation revealed no insect activity in the room. Immediately after you brought your concerns to our team, we offered you another room which you accepted. We understand from your recent review that you did not find this alternative room to your liking. However, as you had not brought this to our attention at the time, we were not aware of this at the time, and we regret that we were not able to help you with this. I respectfully request you to contact me directly if you wish to discuss further and I can provide additional support to your concerns.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle O wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions
We chose this hotel after our flight was canceled out of Toronto. It was a quick shuttle ride (provided by the hotel) to the Doubletree. The front desk ladies were beyond helpful and kind. We did laundry at the hotel which was very needed. Dinner was at the connected Turtlejacks restraunt. The food was very tasty and our serve Giselle was personable and great at her job. The beds were very comfortable and we slept like the dead. It was everything you look for in a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Iphie O wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Our stay was so amazing!!! Helpful and super friendly staff. The concierge walked us to the car park to ensure our SUV could fit. A staff came up to inform us our door was open, he had guided us out of the service elevator on our first day. The lady at reception who checked us in and out was fabulous! My only regret is not having enough time to spend at this awesome hotel. Definitely 10 out of 5 stars!!! Keep up the good service. Cheerful staff, they looked genuinely happy to be at work. The cookies at reception? Delicious!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, Owner at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for this glowing review. Your feedback is very important to us, and we really appreciate the time that you have spent on completing your review here. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team would be really pleased to know that you gave us such a terrific review. It sure means a lot to our team who put in a great effort to make sure you our valued guest receive nothing but the best here at the Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. I will definitely let the staff know that their efforts and their hard work were noticed and appreciated. We appreciate, very much, you making the Doubletree your choice of hotel and the team looks forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kunalskapadia wrote a review Mar 2024
Mumbai, India71 contributions80 helpful votes
This is a preliminary review while we are still staying here. But it’s important to pass on this message to prospective clients of this hotel. Our 2 days here have been fantastic. Rooms are great, service is top notch and their restaurant serves super food. A more detailed review will follow. The problem is when you book through a travel partner. We booked through agoda which specifically mentioned a complementary airport transfer and a kitchenette in the room that we booked. But none of this was a part of the deal once we connected with the hotel. Requesting for a room with a kitchenette at the hotel apparently will cost us as much as the room that we paid for :). So guys, by all means a great hotel but please beware of who you book through. Else you will probably realise too late of what you deserved but did not get and leave you exasperated.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be careful of the fine print, coz no one really cares.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. Thank you for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mario L wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
I was there for few days and I forgot my headphones( AirPods Pro ) … i call them and told them the number of my room. They refused to help and collaborate, well… I’m still able to track them and they was moving around the city. I was so surprised to see the location of the headphones today, was at the hotel… Extremely UNSAFE place!!! AVOID
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I was there for few days and I forgot my headphones( AirPods Pro ) … i call them and told them...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded Feb 29, 2024
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. If you could please reach out to the hotel directly and speak to our Security Manager so we can further assist you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JVDS wrote a review Feb 2024
Toronto, Canada7 contributions
Located in the heart of Toronto, DT boasts a prime location that offers easy access to all the attractions and amenities the city has to offer. However, while the location impresses, the same cannot be said for the service provided, not to mention being a Hilton Gold Member. During my stay, I encountered several issues that left much to be desired. From slow response times to requests to staff members who seemed indifferent and not even willing to help, the service experience fell short of expectations. There is significant room for improvement in the quality of service provided. With a more attentive approach to guest satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded Feb 29, 2024
Jordan, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are very sorry we fell short in meeting and exceeding your expectations of an exceptional stay. We are reviewing your comments with our team as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jomama_Fosho wrote a review Jan 2024
Camarillo, California916 contributions148 helpful votes
+1
arrived past 9 pm, there's no one at the front desk but there are 2 receptionists talking at the corner. then they said "we'll be right with you in a minute". Well the minute became 15 minutes. one started talking to someone over the phone and then the other one started looking at paperworks. For heaven's sake, don't you want to check in your customers first and then do the other stuff? No one else was in line and you would think they would check us in right away since it's already past 9 pm? anyway, the room was ok. the chair needs to be replaced and major cleaning needs to be done because the drawers have stains. the good thing about this room is the shampoo/conditioner and body wash and that's about it. I will not suggest to stay here if you are thinking of using the train. It's a bit of a walk and i didn't feel safe walking at night. we ended up using uber daily.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded Jan 30, 2024
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are very sorry we fell short in meeting and exceeding your expectations of an exceptional stay. We are reviewing your comments with our team as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tooraktoff wrote a review Jan 2024
Toronto55 contributions6 helpful votes
My family stayed at DoubleTree Toronto Downtown in two separate weekends and very much enjoyed our experience. Excellent location, what you see is what you get, and mostly important of all, the staff really know how to deal with the clients. Kudos to the management of setting the very good model here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Umesh Srivastava, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Responded Jan 30, 2024
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for this glowing review. Your feedback is very important to us and we really appreciate the time that you have spent on completing your review here. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team would be really pleased to know that you gave us such a terrific review. It sure means a lot to our team who put in a great effort to make sure you our valued guest receive nothing but the best here at the Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. I will definitely let the staff know that their efforts and their hard work were noticed and appreciated. We appreciate, very much, you making the Doubletree your choice of hotel and the team looks forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Toronto area.
PRICE RANGE
C$286 - C$541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
metropolitan hotel toronto
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Metropolitan Hotel
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Bay Street Corridor / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
490
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Nathan Phillips Square (0.3 km), Old City Hall (0.5 km), and Toronto City Hall (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adega, Donatello Restaurant, and JOEY Eaton Centre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Hindi, and Thai.