We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strathcona Hotel

Expedia.comUS$180*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
Panoramas (61)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,362: English reviews
Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Very disappointed in the room and bed. I'm 5'11" tall and my son is 6'1". The beds were so short neither of us could sleep in the bed without having our feet hang over the end. My son's feet were hanging over to his calves (bed was short because the room was so small ) I asked at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian H
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brian I am extremely disappointed to hear your feedback and assure you that this is a one off situation and this is not how guests have come to know of us. Having said that, it is not acceptable act and I take full responsibility. We do have a wide variety of rooms to cater to every traveler and personally...

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2015

The wife and I took a trip to Toronto to take in some sightseeing and celebrate an Anniversary. We were booked in at the Strathcona as it was close to a lot of things we wanted to see and do. We were able to check in early which was nice, and the desk staff were very pleasant. The lobby and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave Thank you for taking the time off to write your feedback, we appreciate it. We are disappointed that we were not able to make your special day a moment to remember to cherish. Your feedback is extremely positive and we will surely work on everything that you have noted. We pride ourselves on being a green hotel and...

Montreal
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Located 2 minutes from the Billy Bishop Shuttle drop off, close to many restaurants and within walking distance to the CN Tower, Rogers Stadium, Air Canada Center and a stone throw away for Union Station the Strathcona location is ideal. Only this missing from my room was a desk, only available in Executive floor rooms and suites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vbrie
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi vbrie Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We take great pride in our location and are glad you feel the same way too. We hope we will continue seeing you and do recommend asking for an upgrade at a very nominal price the next time you are at the hotel. We do wish our guests experience the executive rooms...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2015

I stayed in this hotel for one week and paid my bill on leaving. I have now discovered the hotel have taken a further £616 security deposit from my account! They seem to think that it is acceptable to take this amount and have told me it will be returned to my account between 5 and 10 days! Meanwhile I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Audrey C
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Audrey Thank you very much for your feedback. As you may recall we had a conversation over the phone and I assure you once again after detailed follow up that the hotel is not currently holding any money. I am extremely sorry for your frustration and would like to work with you until you are satisfied that your money...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Stayed overnight on business recently. Hotel is very well located and a short walk from Union Station and other transportation venues. As others have noted, rooms are quite small but clean and functional. Staff friendly and professional. As a place to stay for a night or two, I have no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ottawagal62
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ottawagal62 We appreciate you taking the time off to write your feedback and are glad you felt the location was perfect for your reason of stay. I will definitely share your experience about our staff as we feel that they are the main reason that our guests choose to return among various other. Once again thank you and we...

Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed 15 April 2015

This hotel was clean and featured a buffet breakfast for $14.95 The rooms were small and we had twin beds There was a fantastic shower in the room Not too expensive a good place to sleep but very small rooms

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julietelfordfarm
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julietelfordfarm Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate it. I have seen and heard a lot of feedback but the shower was a first for me and thank you for that. We look forward to your stay once again.

Hamilton
Reviewed 10 April 2015

This hotel was good enough for downtown Toronto on a busy night. It's been updated with new decor but the room was fairly small. The only complaint I had was the noise. There is no sound proofing whatsoever. Outside street noises sounded like they were right inside the room and inside hotel noises meant very little sleep. This was even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DebbyP24
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DebbyP24 Thank you choosing to stay with us when you were in town. We appreciate you taking the time to communicate with us. We will definitely use your feedback to understand and strengthen the practices that we already have in place to reach out to our guests during their stay which will then allow us to improve guest experience....

Somewhere
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Expedia must not like my reviews because they didn't bombard me with emails to rate this place. I stayed for $70 US w/o taxes ($20). It was in a good location (steps from the Fairmont - $160). Most problems were the fault of management. Hairs on bed (balding maid or failure to change sheets?). Heater kept tripping the breaker when...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Istleblower
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Istleblower Thank you so much for your feedback and we appreciate it. We are extremely disappointed that your stay was not to your satisfaction and we assure you we put a lot of focus and effort on ensuring guest satisfaction. We are aware that during the time of your stay, the city of Toronto had scheduled work around he...

Webbwood, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2015

I paid close to $200.00 for an executive suite. The room was very small with a double bed. The wiifi was extra and I could not pay with my debit card because the machine was down all weekend. I would not recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wanda P
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Wanda I am extremely sorry to hear of your stay. I wish to look into you stay details specially for your room type. We did experience a glitch with our debit machine and that has been fixed since. I would hope you email me at fom@thestrathconahotel.com and we could discuss your stay and how we can get you back...

Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Everything is cheaply put together, floor was uneven, hot and cold were reversed in the shower. Beds were the worse, had a sore back all weekend. I'd rather pay $50 more a night to actually sleep well in somewhere not the size of a broom closet

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mike P
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your satisfaction. I am positive that your feedback was a one off occurrence and has been shared with all departments concerned. I have been able to identify your stay information and have initiated corrective action already. Please do reach...

810 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (266)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (516)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Room (Two Queen Beds) (34)
Viewed
Executive Double Twin Room (Two Beds) (30)
Viewed
Executive King Room (One King Bed) (45)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (38)
Viewed
Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (31)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Single Room (One Double Bed) (34)
Viewed
Smart Double Room (Two Double Beds) (29)
Viewed
Smart Double Twin Room (Two Twin Beds) (26)
Viewed
Smart King Room (One King Bed) (29)
Viewed
Smart Twin Room (One Twin Bed) (23)
Viewed
Suite (98)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 134 in Toronto
1,013 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#44 of 134 in Toronto
2,061 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 134 in Toronto
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
2,897 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $174 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto
The Strathcona Hotel Toronto, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Haslett, Michigan
Newfoundland, Canada
over a year ago
Brights Grove, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book the "Smart" rooms if you want some space or are staying for more than a night or two. Found them way too small.”
CindyLW, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Great customer service and very friendly and helpful staff”
harjinder70, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Floor wasn't cleaned whole time there same clutter was there whole time”
, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a double bed”
284mahaliac, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Free wi-fi”
melissagreen48, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$180* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$249
HotelsForEveryoneUS$180
TravelocityUS$180
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates