We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
68 Gloucester St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1L5 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (59)

About

#16 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Victoria’s Mansion Guest House is a charming alternative to conventional hotels, centrally located in the heart of Toronto. We offer affordable, comfortable suites--every room has private bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless internet, TV, AC, and kitchen amenities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located

Location

95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
198Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
30Attractionswithin 0.5 km
174Reviews5Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 58
  • 41
  • 21
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
travellingmomde wrote a review Aug 2023
Germany160 contributions111 helpful votes
We checked in late with a key code with no problems. Our rooms on the first floor are a little dated but functional. Bathrooms and rooms were clean. Parking was tight but manageable and so convenient in the city. We walked to dinner and the neighborhood felt safe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much for the positive feedback! We hope to see you again the next time you travel to Toronto!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valérie wrote a review Jul 2023
Pincourt, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
Property's Favourite Review
Located at a 6min walk from Wellesley station, this cozy mansion was great. Compared to other hotels, it was very budget friendly. It was clean, check-in was smooth (our room was even ready before check in time, so that was great), staff is very nice. The location is amazing, we went to see the CN Tower, Ripley’s Aquarium and Casa Loma and everything is accessible from the subway station. I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Contact staff ahead of time for parking arrangements.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Thanks so much for providing such positive feedback! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Toronto!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
minimize940314 wrote a review Aug 2023
Los Angeles, California3527 contributions498 helpful votes
My overall experience was beyond my expectation. I was supposed to stay at the cheapest room, but since my bus was scheduled to arrive at night, the owner sent me a message that I could pick up the keys from the lockbox. However, there were some confusions, and someone ended up taking my room. To solve this situation, the owner offered me an upgrade. Although something unexpected happen, I was very pleased with the prompt customer services. Additionally, the room was clean and well maintained, and I did not have any issues with utilities, although the building itself has some history behind it. The location is convenient, you can access to good restaurants on food and subway station as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 23, 2023
Thanks so much for the great rating and positive comments! We are so happy to exceed your expectations and hope to see you again on your next trip to Toronto!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eatboy wrote a review Aug 2023
Oslo136 contributions55 helpful votes
Location and pricing (around 700 cad for 5 nights) was pretty good! They read and fulfilled my special request and communicated well. Charming building from the outside, but feels worn on the inside. I had pretty bad sleep every might at this hotel. However, the city was very warm and humid during my stay. The bed was not to my liking, but potato tomato.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Hello and thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback! I am so sorry you did not get a good night's sleep! if there is any way you could let us know which room you were in we would love to look into it for you. as we totally rely on our guest's feedback re the comfort of our beds. And of course you are also right....individual mattress preferences can make it difficult to please everyone. Thanks again for taking the time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ginshep wrote a review Jul 2023
Texas2 contributions
+1
Garden is very small. One bench one fountain out front and one small stone bench on side. Steps to get up to door. Have to call to be let in. Once checked in get code for first door and keys for next two doors. 17 steps to second floor. I paid for deluxe queen. Balcony shared. Cigarette butts and smell there. Bed not queen but a double. Small shower very little water pressure. View of alley. I had walker but they wouldn't switch us to first floor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not ♿
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. While being small has it's charm, it also does come with challenges....such as simply not having enough rooms that meet everyone's expectations if requiring last minute changes. We can assure you, if you booked a deluxe queen room, you absolutely had a standard queen size mattress.....we only have one deluxe queen room. In all of our property descriptions the room description does say it is a shared balcony, and our confirmation emails also state that it is on the second floor and we have no elevator. Regarding your concerns about the difficulty getting into the building...while it can seem onerous, it is entirely for the safety and security of our guests....the front door cannot be accessed unless the code is entered, and the code is not provided until after guests have checked in...necessitating that first arrival to require a phone call! Thank you for your feedback about the smell of cigarettes outside and the water pressure....we will definitely look into these concerns! Should you want to give us an opportunity to better meet your needs the next time, we would be happy to try and find an available room on the first floor for you. Thanks again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kendra D wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was travelling solo and this was the perfect place to stay. The location is ideal, the room and bathroom were basic but immaculately clean. The parking lot in the back is extremely well lit at night. The security in the building is impressive and I felt very safe. I will definitely stay here again next time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Mar 20, 2023
Thanks so much for your positive comments and excellent rating! We hope to se you again the next time you travel to Toronto!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TammyF55 wrote a review Mar 2023
Stoney Creek, Canada14 contributions
Lovely quiet clean reasonably priced room conveniently located to everything in TO. Great amenities - micro, coffee maker, fridge - to help with costs. Appreciate having parking. Will definitely stay again the next time I am working in Toronto!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Mar 20, 2023
Thanks so much for your positive comments and great rating! We hope to se you again the next time you travel to Toronto!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GLargeman wrote a review Oct 2022
Flin Flon, Canada133 contributions15 helpful votes
Basic but clean and efficient accommodation in an excellent location. We would stay here again. It’s a small budget room but with a little character thrown in. We were comfortable and loved that the subway was a block away which enabled an easy trip to theatres, Union Station and the ball game. We were only there one night but the neighbourhood, especially along Church St., looked worthy of some exploration. Bloor and Yonge was close too but we didn’t have the time to wander. We’ll be back so maybe next time. So long as you’re not expecting the Ritz for these prices, I would highly recommend Victoria’s.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Nov 7, 2022
Thanks very much for your positive comments. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to Toronto!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa F wrote a review Sep 2022
Rochester, New York11 contributions2 helpful votes
Will not stay here again. We booked the biggest king size room. it was two very lumpy poor mattress bed pushed together and the sheet on bottom was not fitted and did not stay on. I could not sleep in this bed. reminded me of a pull out bed. The room was tiny. The TV DOES NOT WORK. There is a small book of info that says the "tv is sensitive", but the owner knows it does not work. I did not appreciate this untruth. You have to call to get the front desk person since nobody there typically. the one staff knew nothing about the area, had never heard of the Eaton Center or where the subway/train was. There is a simple sink and zero counter space in the tiny bathroom. you have to squeeze by the sink to get into the tiny shower. The thing I did like was the location. Not a safe area, lots of drunk and homeless but I Liked the lock system, first have to use a key code for first door, then a key they give you for second door, then a third key for room. I felt safe.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Nov 7, 2022
I am so sorry I missed publishing my reply to your review...we do appreciate the feedback and so regret it was not an enjoyable to stay for you. I will try to address some of your specific concerns: - those are actually brand new mattresses - purchased literally one month ago; no other guests have complained about an uncomfortable sleep so I am sorry it did not meet your needs; as an fyi....I am not aware of any hotels that use fitted sheets these days...it is just not practical for us -the TV by your own admission when we spoke on the phone, was working when you entered the room; I did acknowledge that in this day an age, with so many viewing alternatives, that if the wrong button is pushed or the input inadvertently changed, it was difficult for me to instruct you on how to correct this problem; my first response was to offer to move you immediately to another room.....you were horrified at this suggestion and became quite upset when I offered it again; I then reached out to the staff, who called you and tried to help you but with whom you were not cooperative; I also had the actual rep from Bell call you, who also stated that you were not only not cooperative, but that you verbalized no interest in trying to fix this problem. I will also note, that the TV was able to be back in working order in a matter of seconds the next day...something that you could have attained had you been the slightest bit cooperative -regarding your comments about our manager...she states you did not request info about common attractions such as Eaton Centre, the subway, etc. as she frequents both routinely. She stated that you asked her about an obscure event in an area with which she was not familiar, and politely told you so; she also offered to do a google search for you, which you also apparently rudely declined. -regarding your critique of our area.....I would also disagree that it is not safe....at least not any less safe than any downtown area in any large city.....people must always be careful but we are in a vibrant and diverse area of Toronto, on a residential street yet close to all large city amenities Not all guests are happy with all their hotel stays, and this site is a valuable tool for people to share there experiences and suggestions; in your case, I felt it was also important that readers hear the other side of the coin regarding the events you mentioned as it is our feeling you have a very inaccurate account of events
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoal9 wrote a review Jul 2022
Athens, Greece5 contributions11 helpful votes
I had a bad experience in this hotel. The room was small in the basement . Two lamps were out of work the second day of my staying . So I had electricity from the toilet and nobody was in reception to complaint about ( they are in reception only some hours). Even though the room was offered to me for free I could not stay again. The price is very high for the room and the service poor
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Jul 18, 2022
I am sorry that you had a negative experience during your stay with us! It sounds like a few things coincided at the same time to give you such a poor experience. While staff are there every day from 10-6 it is true they are not always at the front desk, but there is a sign posted that does say we are in fact reachable 24/7 by calling the hotel number -after hours this number is forwarded to me so there will always be an answer. Replacing light bulbs could have been such an easy solution to one of your disappointments had we only known! Regarding your feeling that our rates of $99 (before taxes) was too high a price for a room in downtown Toronto with private bathroom, free wifi, kitchen amenities, etc. I’m afraid I would have to disagree. I am sorry once again that you did not enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your feedback from which we always try to improve our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
victoria`s mansion guest house hotel toronto
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Church and Wellesley (The Village) / Church-Yonge Corridor / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Victoria's Mansion Guest House - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Toronto, Ontario) - Inn - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Nearby attractions include CAA Theatre (0.3 km), Riddle Room (0.3 km), and Church Street (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and parking.
Which room amenities are available at Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Mansion, Sambucas On Church, and O.Noir.
Are there any historical sites close to Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre (1.6 km), Spadina Museum (2.4 km), and Casa Loma (2.5 km).