Victoria's Mansion Guest House

Victoria's Mansion Guest House

Kitchen area
Traveller (98)
Room & Suite (65)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#2 of 9 inns in Toronto
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Victoria’s Mansion Guest House is a charming alternative to conventional hotels, centrally located in the heart of Toronto. We offer affordable, comfortable suites--every room has private bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless internet, TV, AC, and kitchen amenities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

68 Gloucester St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1L5 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Toronto Island Airport
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
19.8 km
See all flights
Wellesley
4 minToronto Rapid Transit
182Reviews5Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 62
  • 42
  • 21
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CydnHank wrote a review Oct 2023
Chicago, Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My rating is based on what I was expecting after reading other reviews. If you go in thinking it is a manicured boutique hotel you will be disappointed, because it is an old home and each room will have it's own issues. However, Toronto hotel rates are crazy expensive, even if you go a bit away from the busy center/harbor area. The rates at this guest house are reasonable, and we loved the location near transit and a wonderful collection of restaurants. While close to busy Yonge St., it was quiet. As for our room... it needed a little TLC, but there was enough space and was comfortable enough for sleeping (we spent little time there during the day). The bathroom was tiny, so if that is something that concerns you, ask about the specifics of the room before booking. They are wonderful at answering questions.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Oct 25, 2023
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for the good rating! We are glad you're stay was acceptable and hope you will consider us again in the future, should you need a reasonably priced room in the heart of Toronto.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stewarts Vacation wrote a review Oct 2023
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The quiet location was good and accessible to public transport. The room was spacious and decorated in character with being an historic building. Everything was clean and very basic. The late check in system was efficient and easy to follow. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The electricity power plugs and cords need to be upgraded - a cord going across the floor at the bathroom door did not seem safe. The tea, coffee, creamer were in a haphazard pile in a bowl which was off putting. We had to request washing up and drying cloths for the kitchen sink.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GLargeman wrote a review Oct 2022
Flin Flon, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Basic but clean and efficient accommodation in an excellent location. We would stay here again. It’s a small budget room but with a little character thrown in. We were comfortable and loved that the subway was a block away which enabled an easy trip to theatres, Union Station and the ball game. We were only there one night but the neighbourhood, especially along Church St., looked worthy of some exploration. Bloor and Yonge was close too but we didn’t have the time to wander. We’ll be back so maybe next time. So long as you’re not expecting the Ritz for these prices, I would highly recommend Victoria’s.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Nov 7, 2022
Thanks very much for your positive comments. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to Toronto!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valérie wrote a review Jul 2023
Pincourt, Canada
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located at a 6min walk from Wellesley station, this cozy mansion was great. Compared to other hotels, it was very budget friendly. It was clean, check-in was smooth (our room was even ready before check in time, so that was great), staff is very nice. The location is amazing, we went to see the CN Tower, Ripley’s Aquarium and Casa Loma and everything is accessible from the subway station. I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Contact staff ahead of time for parking arrangements.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Thanks so much for providing such positive feedback! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Toronto!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isherpreet wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came here with an initial booking for 5 days, while looking for a place near the University to stay, ended up staying 16 months at this place. Victoria's Mansion has everything, all amenities and exceptional cleaning services provided regularly, and it is located close to all the good restaurants in Downtown. They are quick to respond in case any service is disrupted and Kathy can get it fixed with just a call. Thank you for a cozy stay to the entire Victoria's Mansion Management and staff.

-Isherpreet
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Feb 24, 2021
Thanks so much for your kind words!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ginshep wrote a review Jul 2023
Texas
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Garden is very small. One bench one fountain out front and one small stone bench on side. Steps to get up to door. Have to call to be let in. Once checked in get code for first door and keys for next two doors. 17 steps to second floor. I paid for deluxe queen. Balcony shared. Cigarette butts and smell there. Bed not queen but a double. Small shower very little water pressure. View of alley. I had walker but they wouldn't switch us to first floor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not ♿
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 14, 2023
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. While being small has it's charm, it also does come with challenges....such as simply not having enough rooms that meet everyone's expectations if requiring last minute changes. We can assure you, if you booked a deluxe queen room, you absolutely had a standard queen size mattress.....we only have one deluxe queen room. In all of our property descriptions the room description does say it is a shared balcony, and our confirmation emails also state that it is on the second floor and we have no elevator. Regarding your concerns about the difficulty getting into the building...while it can seem onerous, it is entirely for the safety and security of our guests....the front door cannot be accessed unless the code is entered, and the code is not provided until after guests have checked in...necessitating that first arrival to require a phone call! Thank you for your feedback about the smell of cigarettes outside and the water pressure....we will definitely look into these concerns! Should you want to give us an opportunity to better meet your needs the next time, we would be happy to try and find an available room on the first floor for you. Thanks again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
minimize940314 wrote a review Aug 2023
Los Angeles, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My overall experience was beyond my expectation. I was supposed to stay at the cheapest room, but since my bus was scheduled to arrive at night, the owner sent me a message that I could pick up the keys from the lockbox. However, there were some confusions, and someone ended up taking my room. To solve this situation, the owner offered me an upgrade. Although something unexpected happen, I was very pleased with the prompt customer services. Additionally, the room was clean and well maintained, and I did not have any issues with utilities, although the building itself has some history behind it. The location is convenient, you can access to good restaurants on food and subway station as well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Aug 23, 2023
Thanks so much for the great rating and positive comments! We are so happy to exceed your expectations and hope to see you again on your next trip to Toronto!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikedelaney111 wrote a review Jun 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's an old mansion described perfectly on their website. For what it is, it's pretty great. If your accommodation dreams include a large screened TV or yoga studio, this isn't the place for you. If you are however after a safe, affordable, well-located room, in a unique building, run by some great staff then you'll dig It.

Will definitely stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Jun 14, 2024
Thanks so much for the lovely comments--we hope to see you again the next time you travel to Toronto!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoal9 wrote a review Jul 2022
Athens, Greece
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a bad experience in this hotel. The room was small in the basement . Two lamps were out of work the second day of my staying . So I had electricity from the toilet and nobody was in reception to complaint about ( they are in reception only some hours). Even though the room was offered to me for free I could not stay again. The price is very high for the room and the service poor
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kathy Gross, Owner at Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Responded Jul 18, 2022
I am sorry that you had a negative experience during your stay with us! It sounds like a few things coincided at the same time to give you such a poor experience. While staff are there every day from 10-6 it is true they are not always at the front desk, but there is a sign posted that does say we are in fact reachable 24/7 by calling the hotel number -after hours this number is forwarded to me so there will always be an answer. Replacing light bulbs could have been such an easy solution to one of your disappointments had we only known! Regarding your feeling that our rates of $99 (before taxes) was too high a price for a room in downtown Toronto with private bathroom, free wifi, kitchen amenities, etc. I’m afraid I would have to disagree. I am sorry once again that you did not enjoy your stay with us and thank you for your feedback from which we always try to improve our service.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cliff C wrote a review May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is a little gem. Unbelievable value considering you're within walking distance of downtown and all the attractions. Although if you're not much of a walker the subway is right round the corner. Rooms are basic, but have everything you need. The check in was smooth and easy even though I was panicking about arriving after 7pm when the reception is not staffed. The only minor quibble I had was that the WiFi was very unreliable. But if that's you're only complaint when staying at a property you're doing pretty well!! Would definitely stay again on my next visit to Toronto.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from BennyOntario
Mississauga4 contributions1 helpful vote
HI there. We do have an iron and ironing board guests can use. If the need arises when the staff are not there, the iron is inside a cabinet on our lower level and the ironing board is next to it! Thanks for your interest!
Mariposa P asked a question Aug 2017
New Jersey91 contributions12 helpful votes
Hello. I am eagerly anticipating my four-night stay at Victoria's Mansion Guest House this coming November. I first found your lovely in on a third-party website other than TripAdvisor, but after speaking with a kind person at your front desk -- by phone -- I was encouraged to book directly with your inn. I am so happy that I followed that advice as the aforementioned OTA (it was not TripAdvisor) has made a few too many mistakes with my reservations in the recent past. Anyhow, the questions that I have involve the hotel room where I will be staying as well as the surrounding area. I am quite excited, so reading all of your replies only will make me more so! These questions are mainly for hotel staff, but, of course, if past guests (who have stayed at your inn since the autumn of 2016) can provide helpful info, I would appreciate their input as well. OK, here goes: 1) In my single-bed room, I believe there to be a microwave oven (please confirm this--thanks), but are there also a small fridge and sink (for cleaning utensils)? If there is no fridge, that will mean that I would not be able to bring back goodies from St. Lawrence Market: desserts to keep cool/cold over a few days and savory dishes to microwave later in the day or the next day. 2) Would I be permitted to clean utensils in the bathroom sink *if* there is no other sink? 3) Do only the larger rooms (double bed, queen bed) have a washing machine? 4) Is there at least one dry-cleaning establishment nearby? If so, is it located on Church Street, Yonge Street or elsewhere? 5) While using Google Maps (gotta love it!), I believe I saw a pizzeria on Gloucester, close to Yonge Street? Were my eyes deceiving me, or is it really there? What is the name of the pizzeria? (I love pizza, and it would be great to try out the pizza there.) 6) I am a walker (not in a Walking Dead kinda way ... lol). Is it a nice, leisurely walk from 68 Gloucester to Yonge & Dundas square? This would be without luggage, just my day pack (knapsack). On my first full day -- whether snow or none -- I really will need to walk to the Front Street West area because I'll need to go to a bank to break down/break up my large Canadian bills (my bank gives only a few small bills). After I handle the bank business, I'll want to go to Union Station (thus, why I plan to go to a bank downtown) to obtain all kinds of brochures for touring Ontario province and specifically Toronto. After that, I expect to explore St. Lawrence Market and purchase brekkie or lunch there before heading to the (or a) boarding location for the Hop On/Hop Off tour bus. Speaking of which ... 7) Does anyone know if there is a boarding location for the Hop On/Hop Off tour bus near or at Union Station? In advance, I thank you all!
Answer from BennyOntario
Mississauga4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there. Thanks for your interest and I will do my best to answer your questions! I know you sent this yesterday so I hope it's not too late-for the fastest answers to these and any other questions you could call us directly at 416 921-4625 between 10:00 am - 6:00 pm. Here goes: 1) yes all of our rooms have microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, and utensils 2) yes certainly you could clean up any dishes in the bathroom sink; cleaning soaps, etc. are supplied 3) none of our rooms have laundry facilities en suite; we have coin operated laundry machines in the basement which you are welcome to use after hours or when we are not using them; we do not supply laundry detergent though--you would need to get that yourself 4) yes there are several dry-cleaners in the area--I think the closest one is just down the street from us on Church 5) I think the pizza place you are referring to is Olympic 76 and it is just steps down the street from us! It's been there a very long time and has an excellent reputation! 6) yes it is a nice leisurely walk to Yonge/Dundas Square; walking to Front Street however might be a challenge unless you were really into walking! You are right on the subway line though which takes you Union Station, which is on Front Street; there are plenty of banks on Yonge on your way to Dundas though--unless it's a specific branch you need on Front 7) there are several tour bus options in the city--and as we are very close to Yonge, a lot of them stop there; in the lobby we also have various "tour" information available; I don't know specifically what is at Union but I am sure there must be some sort of tour bus--and definitely there will be information, Hope that helps--and as I said--for more timely answers just give us a call 10-6! Best, Kathy
Answer from AznWrldTrvlr
Houston, Texas886 contributions79 helpful votes
You would need to email the hotel and they will tell you the necessary codes and ways to get in prior to your arrival to Toronto.
Kathy N asked a question Dec 2016
Marine City, Michigan101 contributions70 helpful votes
Is parking available on site? What is the cost?
Answer from Renee K
29 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes. You need to let them know ahead of time. I think it was $10/day. it is directLynn behind the building.
Duccy wrote a tip Jun 2024
Ypsilanti, Michigan133 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Steer clear of room #7"
Read full review
Ginshep wrote a tip Jul 2023
Texas2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not ♿"
Read full review
Valérie wrote a tip Jul 2023
Pincourt, Canada19 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Contact staff ahead of time for parking arrangements."
Read full review
Martin D wrote a tip Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom902 contributions198 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book well in advance for the best rates"
Read full review
Jeff wrote a tip Nov 2018
Columbus, Ohio2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look at pics, choose your room. Mined smelled a little, but it was inexpensive. trade-off"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Toronto area.
PRICE RANGE
C$179 - C$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
victoria`s mansion guest house hotel toronto
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioTorontoDowntown / Church and Wellesley (The Village) / Church-Yonge Corridor / Old Toronto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Victoria's Mansion Guest House - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Levelup Virtual Reality (0.3 km), CAA Theatre (0.3 km), and Signs Restaurant & Bar (0.4 km).
Which room amenities are available at Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Mansion, Sambucas On Church, and Storm Crow Manor.
Are there any historical sites close to Victoria's Mansion Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre (1.6 km), Spadina Museum (2.4 km), and Casa Loma (2.5 km).
All Toronto HotelsToronto Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorontoHotels near Victoria's Mansion Guest House
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars