We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 58: English reviews
Enfield, Canada
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My friend and I cycled to Charlottetown from Wood Islands and expecting that we may not be at Trailside between the check-in times of 2-4 pm, I emailed Cindy beforehand. She was very accommodating and let us know what to do if we arrived late and they had stepped out. When we arrived, we found Cindy and Guy to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Beth for your kind words. While we have a fixed check-in time, we can easily accommodate guests who advise us ahead of time of their arrival plans. We enjoy being on the Confederation Trail and being able to provide services to cyclists. Guy

Takasaki, Japan
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Sadly, staying at this B&B was the worst experience during our 6 day trip in PEI. If we didn't stay there, our trip must have been perfect, because everyone I encountered in PEI was very nice and accommodating except Cindy and Guy. Unfortunately I made a reservation before reading reviews on tripadvisor. Since they charge at least $50 for cancellations,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank N1203BXTraveler
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Beth for your kind words. While we have a fixed check-in time, we can easily accommodate guests who advise us ahead of time of their arrival plans. We enjoy being on the Confederation Trail and being able to provide services to cyclists. Guy

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came in for tea today without a reservation. Upon looking back on the website I realize without a reservation you can only get scones or what's on the lunch menu for the day - not Anne's or Grandma's afternoon tea menus/packages. We were told they don't have the supplies for any walk-ins to order those items. It's fun to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank meghanleen1981
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to make your visit to the Island one to remember. It is so important to be clear these days and not to give out in correct information and we try. Perhaps when looking at our web page you looked at the menu items and missed the bold lettering at the top of the...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is the most charming Bed and Breakfast I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Located alongside the Confederation trail, this is the perfect spot for anybody looking to have a nice night away. The rooms were immpecably clean and the breakfast was delicious. Cindy and Guy also had a map of the Island and some information packs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kathryn L
Perth, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Where do I even begin? Guy and Cindy are two of the kindest, heart warming, lovely hosts I have met. They were very easy going and made us feel at home. They made us a filling breakfast in the morning and I wish I could have stayed longer, honestly! It's conveniently placed right beside the confederation trail which goes right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbyjgn
Millinocket, Maine
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I just returned from one of the most enjoyable vacations I have had in a long time. Part of the reason was the quaint, relaxing, pleasant stay at this Bed & Breakfast. Guy and Cindy are now considered among my dear friends. They made my traveling companion and I feel very welcome, They were kind, accommodating, and as friendly as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patsy H
Freeland, MI
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the worst review I've ever written, but it was a mistake to stay here. When we arrived, the owners weren't home, and we moved into our room cheerfully. Walking around, we found the place clean, attractive, with beautiful gardens, and clever decorating by the mistress. The trouble started when the owners got home. Without a greeting, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Janet S
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

You arrived past our normal check-in times. However, we had made arrangements for a selfe-serve entry. As we often have family obligations in the evening, this is a normal course of business for us and reflects the friendly, trusting nature of our operations. You say the trouble started when we got home. Perhaps it did. Put your self in our...

Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I was so excited for this B & B, having viewed photos and e-mailed with the owner. When we arrived, the place was so pretty and nicely done. Shortly thereafter, I got the distinct feeling that the woman who runs it was annoyed with us, she just seemed to dislike us and wish us gone. Had I done something to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank familytraveler068
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I find it difficult to respond to reviews from people who hide behind pseudonyms; you can attempt to destroy an establishment's reputation with anonymity. However, let me address some of the issues you raised. We operate a Bed and Breakfast because we like people. You feel we did something to make you feel unwelcome and wished us gone. Quite to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 12 August 2013

When we first arrived no one answered the door. We rang again and Guy reluctantly arrived and opened the door, didn't greet us just led us inside to checkin. When he asked us what time we wanted breakfast it seemed to be the biggest inconvenience to him to provide us breakfast at 7AM, we had a ferry out at 9AM...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hhruhling
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I regret hearing your stay was not to your satisfaction. It seems you got off to a bad start expecting a quick answer to the doorbell. As you probably noticed after entering, we have a bg house and it sometimes takes a while to make our way to the front door. As for the front door combination, many people make...

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

From the moment I get there I was impressed! The breakfast was wonderful!! The rooms were clean and Cindy and Guy are incredibly kind and caring people. Always go out of the way to make you feel welcome and make your P.E.I experience amazing!! Thank you for the wonderful stay! If I am ever back, this is where you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thuja_0
Cindy_Guy, Owner at Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We always enjoy hearing that our guests had a wonderful stay. We keep guest books in each room and occasionally review the comments. Your encouraging words energize us and help us continually strive for excellence.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottetown
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 23 in Charlottetown
196 reviews
14.6 km away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
95 reviews
12.5 km away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
7.7 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
687 reviews
2.3 km away
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
A Country Home Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 43 in Charlottetown
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recommended & conveniently located on the Trail, 4/10/20/30 minutes to the airport, downtown Charlottetown, PEI beaches & Cavendish. Comfortable describes our 2 rooms with 2 singles, a full bath/shower and sitting room. The B&B also has 2 rooms with doubles on the main floor, 2 baths and sitting room. This is a private bath for a family renting two rooms. Package PEI starts with a tea pot tour of our organic perennial gardens, following with the best tea, scones & cream at Grandma's Tea Room (on premises) ending with a make and take scrapbook event sure to please. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast

Address: 545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: $118 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beside The Trail Bed And Breakfast Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beside The Trail Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any one of them - they're all wonderful!! Be adventurous!!”
 of 5 bubbles debbiew834, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Shared bathroom with huge shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 794danar, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TerryrdBaker, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you get easily scared Guy will remove the spider from the wall. I've slept in a room with a shrunken head so it did not bother me.”
 of 5 bubbles 249marshallk, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were there in the middle of a heatwave. The room fan was a bit loud but the bed's were super comfortable (second floor - 2x single)”
 of 5 bubbles mchase68, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5