We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6 Canada
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (4)

About

#8 of 27 in Charlottetown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The newly renovated Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
462Reviews0Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 237
  • 158
  • 56
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
OntarioTravel_mommie wrote a review May 10
Ottawa, Canada63 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed in the King room just inside the side door. The bed was so comfy and the room was clean. The only thing about staying near the outside door is that is noisy. When other folks come and go at night you can hear them and the door. We stayed during here when there was a large hockey tournament (that we were not participating in) and some of the folks had a late night and made a bit of a ruckus when they came in. I'm sure any other room would have been quieter. The bathroom is on the small side but clean and had lots of towels. Good water pressure. Breakfast has a good amount of options. There is no elevator in this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The King suite by the outside door tends to be a noisy option.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
TrooperMax wrote a review Dec. 2021
Ottawa, Canada329 contributions123 helpful votes
I know there aren't a lot of choices for hotels in PEI but this hotel was rather expensive for the price. The rooms were mediocre at best, certainly "good enough" for us but not for the price. We had a 5 month old with us and the room was so small we could barely get everything in there. Never thought id complain about floor space but honestly it was tiny. The staff were nice, location is decent of course not far from everything. The one thing that really bothered me though was they advertised breakfast and we got the hotel for that reason and it wasnt true. On the site they showed an elaborate meal with waffle makers and many choices. When We got there it was some dry muffins in plastic, bagels and some toast. That's it. When we asked about the meal they said its because of Covid, which is a poor excuse to advertise something they dont provide. So after the first day we started going other places for breakfast which sucked because we paid extra for this. Wouldnt stay here agian, sorry.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Dec. 7, 2021
Good Afternoon TrooperMax, Thank you so much for your review and for providing us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the room was small for your liking. We do have larger rooms (suite's) which if they were available, we would have been happy to try upgrading you if available for your comfort. I've also been researching our pictures and I do not see any that show waffle maker's as we have never owned them. I would appreciate if you were able to connect with me further on this as I would want to make sure we don't have picture's promoting this when we don't own any to offer in our Deluxe Continental Breakfast. For our breakfast, we do offer hard boiled eggs and one (1) other other hot item on a daily basis along with muffins, bagels/breads, cereals, etc. If you wish to speak with me further, I would be happy to do so. My email is gm@thehotelonpownal.com and phone number as 902 - 892 - 1217. Thank you and hope to speak soon. Megan H.
Read more
Gisèle B wrote a review Nov. 2021
Moncton, Canada4 contributions
this hotel has the best staff......so very pleasant and accommodating....the rooms were very clean and the beds super comfy....and location was great.....walking distance to many venues....and restaurants......will go back for sure.......highly recommend....
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Dec. 7, 2021
Good Afternoon Gisèle B, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review and for providing us with a 5 stars! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback and so happy to hear you had a great experience. We hope to see you again soon! Megan H. Hotel General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Lee P wrote a review Sep. 2021
Burlington, Canada153 contributions75 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights at the beginning of September. The little touches here were what really impressed us. The complimentary bikes, the conversation areas outside with propane fire pits, the attentiveness of the staff to name but a few things. The rooms are modern and spotlessly clean. Unfortunately I misplaced my wallet before we checked out and the staff helped out by trying to contact the restaurant I ate at the night before and even attempted to call the restaurant manager at home. Way above and beyond. Turns out I left it in the bed somehow. They then were kind enough to courier it back to me. I cannot say enough about how great the experience at this location was. I will definitely recommend this to all my friends when they want to visit Charlottetown.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Oct. 8, 2021
Hello Lee P, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We understand you have many options to choose in Charlottetown we appreciate you chose us! I am also so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with a happy ending that you and your wallet were reunited. We look forward welcoming you back again with us soon. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Dr. Procter wrote a review Sep. 2021
Brantford, Canada64 contributions35 helpful votes
The location of this place - in the heart of Charlottetown - is fantastic. The staff are wonderful - so friendly and helpful. The noise from the room above is unbearable. If you stay here, be sure to request a room on the top floor - unless of course you enjoy hearing a cacophony of noise above you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Insist on a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Oct. 11, 2021
Hi DoctorProcter, Thank you so much for choosing The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a review. We are sorry to hear you experienced noise in your room which we hope to rectify this for you in the future. We take pride in recognizing and acknowledging individual's experiences which we hope to have you back with us in the future. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Laura wrote a review Aug. 2021
1 contribution
Incredible experience, front desk was very lovely., the room tv was turned on and set to a music channel for when we walked in, so welcoming! Wonderfully clean and air conditioned room. My partner and I are for sure going to stay here again when we come back to PEI!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Oct. 11, 2021
HI K5461NZlauraf, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We are so happy to read you had a wonderful experience which we hope to have you back with us again in the future. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
nameleftblank wrote a review Aug. 2021
Montreal, Canada38 contributions18 helpful votes
Two nights with small family in double room. Nicely renovated and equipped. Location in downtown Charlottetown is great. Breakfast is complementary but hobbled by COVID measures. Welcome cookies and happy hour are a very nice touch. Plenty of parking. Five stars for the service, but 1 star for the beds.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Oct. 11, 2021
HI nameleftblank, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your bed. We take pride in purchasing the highest quality beds we can receive which we hope to have you back with us to try them again. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
James M wrote a review Jul. 2021
26 contributions10 helpful votes
I stayed at this beautiful hotel this week and, wow, what a gem. Great location, beautiful rooms, magnificent beer and wine selection and incredible service. Joee and Anastasia were truly delightful and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure our stay and trip was a successful one. Will definitely be back and thank you Joee and Anastasia. You are awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Megan Henwood, Owner at The Hotel on Pownal
Responded Oct. 11, 2021
HI jamesmH7543LG, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Hotel on Pownal and for providing us with a 5 star review. We appreciate you stay with us out of all the selections in Charlottetown as well as recognizing our Front Desk staff. We look forward welcoming you back again soon. Megan H. General Manager gm@thehotelonpownal.com
Read more
Lynn C wrote a review Aug. 2020
East Petpeswick, Canada43 contributions12 helpful votes
We spent a night in Charlottetown at the start of our tour of PEI. Check in at The Pownal was efficient and friendly, our room was clean and comfortable with complementary fresh baked cookies left out for us. The hotel is quite central, just a short walk to local pubs, restaurants and sights. The breakfast was a brown bag meal as the dining room wasn’t open due to COVID, but the contents were nice including fresh baked muffins, granola bar, juice and fresh fruit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Fiftyone5162 wrote a review Jul. 2020
Bangor, Maine14 contributions2 helpful votes
The rooms were very clean and in great condition. Well stock and the suite is the way to go. Full fridge and all the amenities The getaway package included 4 Gahan beer and a $50 gift certificate you can use at numerous restaurants. The staff are so friendly and helpful. They took care of our every need. Even gave us nice bagged breakfasts because the covid protocols keeps the continental closed. The hotel is right in the center of things and a 5 minute walk to almost anything you would want to do. Quiet at night with off street parking. If you go to Charlottetown stay here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Suites are wonderful. First floor
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the islander guestrooms hotel
LOCATION
CanadaPrince Edward IslandCharlottetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel on Pownal
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel on Pownal?
Nearby attractions include Confederation Centre of the Arts (0.2 km), St. Dunstan's Basilica (0.3 km), and Anne and Gilbert (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel on Pownal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel on Pownal?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel on Pownal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel on Pownal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel on Pownal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Truckin' Roll Ice Cream, Claddagh Oyster House, and Hopyard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hotel on Pownal?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Hotel on Pownal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Charlottetown.
Does The Hotel on Pownal offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hotel on Pownal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel on Pownal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dunstan's Basilica (0.3 km), Beaconsfield Historic House (0.4 km), and Port-la-Joye - Fort Amherst (4.4 km).