We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
460 Rue Racine East, Chicoutimi, Saguenay, Quebec G7H 1T7 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
US$105
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-28
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$105
FindHotelUS$105
eDreamsUS$105
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (17)

About

#7 of 10 hotels in Chicoutimi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Chicoutimi offers more than a comfortable room; it's a place to discover. With more than 109 years of history, the hotel is recognized for its ideal downtown location overlooking the Saguenay River and its exceptional cuisine. Completely renovated over the last year, the Hotel Chicoutimi has adopted a new policy of promoting environmental and regional artistic values. Each room features unique works of art by regional artists. Using environmentally friendly products and practices is also the hotel's number one priority.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Skiing
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French
206Reviews3Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 75
  • 52
  • 23
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Leila L wrote a review Jul. 2021
Montreal, Canada27 contributions1 helpful vote
I had booked a room with two beds initially, and due to lack of availability, the hotel put us in two adjoining rooms. I understand that this happens, and they offered us breakfast to apologize for that which is perfectly acceptable in this type of situation. What was not acceptable, is that they also tried to make it seem like they were doing us a favor by giving us two rooms. I pointed out that the only reason we had two rooms was due to hotel error, so they should not position it as doing us a favor. That said the worst of it was the quality of the rooms that we were given. There is no other word to describe this as click-bait. I have posted photos of what the website photos looked like versus the room I was given. In addition to the dingy rooms we received versus the light airy rooms shown on their website, the hallways had unfinished paint jobs, the elevator was not working, and everything about the quality of our stay was terrible. I tried to reach the supervisor to complain and try to find a solution, but the manager was not available over the weekend, which in the service industry is not acceptable. They then offered us 20$ for dinner when I complained again. That is 20$ for 3 people for dinner. That is not a sum that would cover dinner for 1 person let alone 3 people. That was their offer for my complaint. The breakfast had initially been offered due to hotel error in having to put us in two rooms versus 1 room. I left a voicemail to the director of sales on Monday, and I still haven't heard back. That speaks volumes as to the level of customer service. Booking said that the hotel said that they would not offer anything else. Our entire experience was completely negative and has ruined our vacation which especially after the long period of Covid we just went through makes it worse. I will not be returning, and neither will my friends from the US consulate who were so looking forward to what should have been an amazing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It seems that booking a room via a third party means that they will give you the worst rooms at...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Giselly Andrade wrote a review Aug. 2020
Montreal, Canada4 contributions
Very well located with many options of restaurants around the hotel. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. It could have a mini fridge and some coffee like all the other places I've been. But besides that, it was pretty good :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
SpectralMornings wrote a review Aug. 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a typical hotel of its kind and has all facilities you would expect. Rooms are well appointed and they have everything you need for an overnight stay. What earns this hotel its excellent rating is the service from the hotel staff. We informed the front desk that the remote device to control the air conditioning wasn’t working and after initially trying to talk us through how to unlock the device, we convinced them that they needed to see for themselves. They sent a colleague up to our room and within minutes he realised the unit was broken. However, he had anticipated this, had brought the keys for an adjacent room, and swiftly moved us into another room. In life, things occasionally go wrong, but it’s how they are dealt with that counts and the staff at Hotel Chicoutimi dealt excellently with our issue. Absolutely faultless customer service, thank-you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from HC-AU, Manager at Hotel Chicoutimi
Responded Sep. 4, 2019
Thank you for these kind words! All the team, who really works hard, appreciate it. Hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon!
Read more
dukehuh wrote a review Aug. 2019
Boulder, Colorado164 contributions44 helpful votes
This hotel had a nice boutique feel. The room was nicely appointed, and our particular view was really cool with the Presbytère de la Cathédrale next door. The location was excellent for walking in the city. We had a pretty good breakfast (included with our rate) at the hotel with good service as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Views with Presbytère de la Cathédrale were very cool
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
emtaik wrote a review May 2019
Ottawa, Canada27 contributions62 helpful votes
Hotel is ok, we took the renovated room but it is just a new tv, new bed sheets and table. The floor were old, same as bathroom. No plugs near beds for computer or cell phone. Heating was an issue (too hot or too cold) very old system. The best part was the location. The staff is very nice and friendly. The worst part was the noise. You can hear everything, even the conversation from next room. We had a screaming kid next door so not fun but at least the first night nobody beside our room so it was the best night out of 3.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HC-AU, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Chicoutimi
Responded Jun. 13, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. We always want some feedback to improve the experience of our guests. You had a contempory room in the old part of our centenary hotel. It’s our economy room. Our others categories, like Sensoria, have plugs in the headboard. We hope for a second chance to welcome you back and provide the best experience in the downtown area of Chicoutimi 😊
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecSaguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean RegionSaguenayChicoutimi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Chicoutimi
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Chicoutimi?
Nearby attractions include Zone portuaire Saguenay (0.5 km), Cathedrale Saint-Francois-Xavier (0.08 km), and La petite Grenouille (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Chicoutimi?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Chicoutimi?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Chicoutimi?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Chicoutimi?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Chicoutimi?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Parizza, Restaurant La Cuisine, and Temaki Sushi Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Chicoutimi?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Is Hotel Chicoutimi located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Chicoutimi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Chicoutimi?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Chicoutimi offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Chicoutimi?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.