1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia

1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia

1595 Dr Penfield Ave, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1C2 Canada
One of a number of semen stains on the bed frame. Also found on the walls beside and around the bed.
Traveller (40)
Méthode improvisée pour palier au manque d'intimité de la chambre
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.0
#149 of 159 hotels in Montreal
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
For an uncompromising urban life, a classy neighborhood, great terraces, steps away from chic boutiques, bistros, museums, and tasty restaurants this hotel is everything you crave. Just steps away from the hottest spots, the elegance of our spacious & cozy suites will conquer the most selective of you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic

Location

1595 Dr Penfield Ave, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1C2 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Montreal Airports
13.3 km
See all flights
Pierre Elliott Trudeau Intl Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
Atwater
11 minMontreal Metro
37Reviews3Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
korrey s wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible service, only 3 parking spaces on site leaving me and another customer without place to park. After contacting the manager about parking and my room not having a TV remote we were told to "just leave" and that they were "cutting the electricity and sending security" after an hour of us already being gone we were told to "leave we see you in the room" "we're blocking the door". Only Chinese tv channels available. No heat in the room. Nothing like the pictures. Terrible disgusting service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yannick G wrote a review Oct 2023
Montreal, Canada3 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm writing this review in English because it was impossible for us to speak to someone in French, which is unacceptable.

This "hotel" is NOT a hotel; it's a disguised Airbnb! There are no on-site services, and no staff. It feels like staying in a ghost building! The room is poorly maintained, and the power sockets hang from the wall!

The bed is incredibly hard, noisy, and uncomfortable - it's just pathetic. And serving Costco coffee (seriously, you can't offer decent coffee to your guests)?

Avoid this place; for the price, it's truly horrendous. One of the worst "hotels" I've ever visited! Oops, I mean Airbnb!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenni Leigh wrote a review Sep 2021
Kingston, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The. Worst. I'm not a fussy guest but this was beyond.

I came here on a work trip. The room I booked was not the room I was given. There were semen stains on my bed and on the walls surrounding. My bed sheets were stained with something brown. The shower was broken. The ceiling was busted. The floors were filthy. The place stank like cigarettes. I don't have an issue with smoking but doing it indoors in a hotel like place is pretty gross.

Also none of the other guests wore masks indoors.

The hosts didn't get back to me until 2 days later after I reached out to them about my concerns. I ended up leaving mid trip for a hotel after sleeping on a chair my first night. The hosts, nor air bnb offered a refund. I'm totally sad about this trip and I hope the hosts either fix their product or shut down.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lyne wrote a review May 18
Laval, Canada48 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great experience in Montreal for a romantic weekend getaway. We were really close to amenities like groceries and great restaurants. We were close enough to get to the old port of Montreal where we could enjoy the local cuisine & even a football game
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keir S wrote a review Aug 2019
6 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT BOOK TO STAY HERE! It's either a complete SCAM or a shameful display of utter incompetence an totally un- Canadian. There is absolutely no way that you can possibly contact this hotel by phone or by email because it is run by cowards. Enjoy booking your stay here only to discover when you arrive that the hotel is fully booked and there's no record of you booking and last minute you are finding another hotel at 5 times the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dip R wrote a review Sep 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited with my friends for vacation and where searching for the Affordable hotel with good ambience, service, interior and found in the name of Elegancia Docteur Penfield where we were well taken care off. The room was well furnished one with a beautiful surrounding.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Best Views, Well furnished rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eric Joseph A, Owner at 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia
Responded Sep 20, 2017
Hi Dip R, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and studio, and feel you were well taken care of. We put a great deal of effort into producing well-furnished and beautifully designed accommodations at prime locations. We are always looking to provide good service so we are delighted you noticed our effort in this sense. Next time you are in Montreal, we truly hope to greet you once more at this address or one of our other great locations. All the best, The Ellegancia Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly B wrote a review Aug 2017
Welland, Canada12 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a Deluxe Queen Studio on Jan 31/17 for the Osheaga Festival in August. The room was to have a kitchenette with all the amenities. But when we arrived, we were told that renovations didn't go as planned and there was not such suite. Instead we ended up in a small room with a double bed. No frig, no safe, no coffeemaker, no ice machines, no staff at least 50% of the time. There were no free bicycles. The breakfast was a joke. Only coffee machine didn't work. The water cooler was empty. No breakfast 2 of the 4 mornings. I spoke with staff about a partial refund as I didn't receive what I paid for. They always said they were waiting to hear back from management. I called hotel for 2 weeks after I returned home....only to get the run-around. The pictures on the internet site were deleted sometime between mid July to my arrival on Aug. 3. New pictures loaded on site. Quite a difference.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't book here....Go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Eric Joseph A, Propriétaire at 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia
Responded Sep 22, 2017
Dear Kelly B, We apologize for the inconveniences and are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our establishment. We would love to offer you better service next time you come in town, please contact Jessica at elleganciasignatures@gmail.com so we can take the right mesures to do so. Type in PRIMO1595 in the title box of your email. We hope to here from you soon. The Ellegancia Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cecilia O wrote a review Jul 2017
12 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove up to a corner building totally under construction! How disappointing! We did not recieve any communication from Travelocity about the problem At 11:30 pm the hotel manager called to tell us of a booking at a sister hotel, too late, we already checked in a hotel at twice the price. None of this was handled well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Please call ahead!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
444minervah wrote a review Aug 2019
Mexico City, Mexico1,202 contribution99 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Combination of hotel and apartment, these rooms are a good refuge for resting after sightseeing and shopping around Downtown Montreal. There is no Reception as such, website reservation may be a bit bumpy, but rooms are in excellent condition, bathrooms and A/C working wonderfully.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the back closer to private terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JennJam1418 wrote a review Jun 2019
New York City, New York10 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arrival we did end up getting to the hotel before the check- In time but luckily there were two young ladies waiting for us in the lobby and our rooms were ready for us! The hotel was absolutely beautiful, it was very trendy and perfect for my group of friends. We took full advantage of the beautiful decor and had a photo shoot. There was cool art work all over the hotel and in the rooms. The Interior design was gorgeous, I loved the bathroom tile design composition. The rooms had a mini kitchenette area with a microwave, a Keurig and mini fridge. In the lobby there was also a little stand with K-cups, sugar and a box of muffins. The bed was the most comfortable bed I had ever experienced in ANY hotel I had ever stayed, it was so comfortable I didn't even want to get up from the bed. The location of the hotel was perfect. Although it wasn't walking distance to the Downtown area it was a short car ride and there was a convenience store down the block. There wasn’t really any staff anywhere but that wasn’t really a problem for us. The only problem I had with the hotel were the stair going up to the entrance of the hotel, you need to watch your step closely or you might miss a step and hurt yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get a top floor room, I think those are the biggest.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PatB56 asked a question Mar 2017
Vannes, France123 contributions36 helpful votes
Bonjour, je ne vois aucun commentaire ou photo sur cet établissement et ça m'inquiète un peu... est-il récent ?...
Answer from Camille_z67
Lingolsheim, France11 contributions3 helpful votes
Bonjour, L'ayant réserver pour le mois de juillet, je me pose exactement la même question, cherchant désespérément des avis depuis plusieurs semaines... je viens de trouver la réponse sur leur site Facebook : en fait, l'hôtel n'ouvrira qu'en mai 2017, voilà pourquoi il n'y a encore aucun commentaire ! Si vous y allez avant moi, n'hésitez pas à me faire part de votre impression ! 😉
444minervah wrote a tip Aug 2019
Mexico City, Mexico1,202 contribution99 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back closer to private terrace"
Read full review
JennJam1418 wrote a tip Jun 2019
New York City, New York10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a top floor room, I think those are the biggest."
Read full review
christeena wrote a tip May 2019
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here. Had a better stay at a one star in motel at least the rooms were clean"
Read full review
blooozfan wrote a tip Sep 2017
Kuwait City, Kuwait8 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check in no later than 3 pn"
Read full review
Dip R wrote a tip Sep 2017
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best Views, Well furnished rooms"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montreal area.
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealGolden Square Mile / Parc du Mont-Royal / Ville-Marie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia
Which popular attractions are close to 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia?
Nearby attractions include Candylabs (0.4 km), Robertson Ares Gallery (0.5 km), and Galerie De Bellefeuille (0.5 km).
Which room amenities are available at 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Beatrice, Qing Hua Dumpling, and Maiolo Montreal.
Are there any historical sites close to 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel (3.1 km), Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine (2.5 km), and Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal (2.9 km).
All Montreal HotelsMontreal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontrealHotels near 1595 Dr Penfield by Ellegancia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars