Gite du Survenant Montreal

Gite du Survenant Montreal

2645 Avenue Desjardins, Montreal, Quebec H1V 2H8 Canada
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 42 apartments in Montreal
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Enjoy a Hotel Grade Airbnb-home like experience while on your dream vacation. We offer comfort, thoughtful decor and attention to details at an affordable price. Your stay comes with access to a fully furnished kitchen to help you make home cook meals and save on restaurants and free access to high end washer and dryer with detergent so you can do laundry on site and travel with a smaller suitcases. We also offer free unlimited download high speed wifi internet everywhere, air conditioning, cooking basics, coffee/tea and laundry detergent. And with express check-in and check-outs, there is never any need to wait in line at a front desk or run around for keys. Located on a quiet tree lined street, we are steps away from many popular attractions such as the Biodome, Olympic Stadium and Botanical Gardens. For transportation, we are also steps away from a metro station on the green line, giving you quick access to the old port, downtown and the plateau, without the hassle of parking or the high cost of accommodation in those areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

2645 Avenue Desjardins, Montreal, Quebec H1V 2H8 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Montreal Airports
18.6 km
See all flights
St. Hubert Airport
11.3 km
See all flights
Pie-IX
2 minMontreal Metro
174Reviews3Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 144
  • 19
  • 8
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
565Liva wrote a review Sep 2020
San Ramon, Costa Rica
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay very much--the apartment was spotless and very comfortable; the modern kitchen made it easy to prepare meals to enjoy on one of the balconies.
The area was quiet and the street lovely with shady trees. A gem all around!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Foucher, Owner at Gite du Survenant Montreal
Responded Nov 23, 2020
Thank you for your feedback 565Liva, We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of the place, and the ease of preparing meals in the kitchen. See you soon :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret G wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved this place! It was convenient to every place we planned to visit. We walked to the Botanical Gardens, the Metro station was 1 block away and the metro was inexpensive and very easy to use. We were able to get places quickly without dealing with traffic or trying to find a parking spot. The home was clean with use of a large kitchen with everything needed to fix a meal. Our room was clean with a lovely updated private bathroom. One of the owners neighbors was willing to rent a spot in his driveway for $10.00/night. He lived around the corner making it easy to check on/get items from our car. We could have easily used our car any time during our 2 day stay if we needed w/o additional cost and it was more convenient than public parking spaces. Information for this was in a manual left by the owner along with detailed info about the rental, nearby restaurants and Metro routes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Foucher, Owner at Gite du Survenant Montreal
Responded Oct 11, 2022
We are glat that you enjoyed your stay! Have a safe trip back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon wrote a review Aug 2022
Ottawa, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved this unique property for our recent visit to Montreal that was centered around Olympic Park. Very close to the metro Pie IX station for access to other parts of Montreal. The space was clean and comfortable, while sufficiently roomy for a toddler's pack-n-play (supplied by the owner). The shared kitchen was fully stocked for cooking/meals and had generous and labeled fridge space for our food. Happy we chose this property and would return again if staying in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Each room is uniquely designed - message the owners if you're looking for a specific need or...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Foucher, Owner at Gite du Survenant Montreal
Responded Aug 25, 2022
WE are gald you enjoyed the proximity to the Olympic Park, and that you had access to all necessities for bringing your toddler along.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amber H wrote a review Mar 2024
Valley City, North Dakota
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The signature room was pretty with deep blue walls, dark wood floors, a white chandelier and a big window looking out to the tower of the Olympic stadium. It had a deep bathtub with shower and a room between the bathroom and bedroom with a sink and mirror. There was no TV, but WiFi is free and there are lots of outlets for charging devices. There is a backyard and elevated patio to hang out on. The bed was comfy and the heat/AC comes from a quiet in the wall unit. There was a fan in the room too for air circulation or white noise. The floor are wooden, so a little creaky. Therefore, I did hear my upstairs neighbors walk around. But this was covered up easily by having the fan running. There is a nearby cafe at the planetarium (15 minute walk) that is fantastic. Try their toasted breakfast burrito or carre de noix with a latte or flat white. And the cafe is a great place to try out your French, as they seem pleased when people make the effort to try.

The Pie IX metro is a 4 minute walk and has machines there to buy tickets. Press the button for English instructions if preferred. There is also a human there to purchase tickets from that likely also speaks English.

I stayed here for six nights and it was a great place to come home to after exploring Montreal.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nganming M wrote a review Jul 2022
Bridgewater, New Jersey
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Let's talk about the not so good things first. The hotel does not have central AC. There is a portable AC in the kitchen, with fans in the bedrooms. When the weather is hot, I can understand it will be very uncomfortable. I stayed there for 2 nights. It was about 60F in the night. With the windows and blinds open, it was very comfortable. The bad thing is the sun would definitely wake you up in the morning. It was a blackout for 2 hours in the first night during my stay. It was fine. It was just another experience. Finding street parking was very difficult. The neighbor rents out his spot for $10 a day. But we opted to park at the olympic stadium for $25 a day since we only stayed for 2 nights. The best thing about this hotel is location. You can walk to the botanical garden, insectarium, planetarium, biodome in under 15 minutes. Green line is only a few minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Foucher, Owner at Gite du Survenant Montreal
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Thank you kindly for the feedback. We do have new ACs in most of our units, unfortunately you rented one of the last apartment in which we have yet to install new AC, that is why in the meantime we provide the portable units. Let us now ahead of time next time and we will ensure that you have a room with new AC :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alina B wrote a review May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is nice, bathroom nice. Decor nice etc

Until the towels had hair all over, water pressure very low, soup not even refilled and then a huge spider.

I was willing to let all that go until we turned kn the AC and it was sooooo loud and even that I was willing to let go and just sleep. I realized the room was not getting cool so the fan in the room now made sense. I was shocked that for $150 a night and nobody on site I would need to turn fan on. Even this I was willing to let go. I went to bed and woke up 1 hr later turning and tossing to keep waking up in sweat and headache. Finally at 5 am I could not handle how uncomfortable the bed was and it was sinking. Along with the noisy AC, hot room and lack of sleep I decided to call the provider I purchased from to have them to book me elsewhere and thank god I left at 530am. Could not imagine 1 more night in that heat and uncomfortable awful sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Spend more and go elsewhere atleast somewhere with staff on site at all times
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Foucher, Owner at Gite du Survenant Montreal
Responded May 30, 2022
Hi Alina, Sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. We leave the fans in the room because some people prefer to sleep with the window oen and have a fan. As for the AC, we have upgraded the AC units in most of the room in recent years. Unfortunately the room you were in is the last room with the older AC; it does work when set properly at the coolest setting. We do have plans to upgrade it this year. As for contacting us, we are on site; it is unfortunate that you were not able to contact us; our cell numbers are sent out to guests once bookings are confirmed in case there is anything. We hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emily wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I had a lovely stay in the Mt Royal room at the Gite. Quite literally around the corner from the Pie IX metro station, the building was very straightforward to access with the detailed instructions sent beforehand. Our room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfy, and the AC was an added bonus during the hot summer weather. We absolutely fell in love with the space, and the access to a kitchen and fridge was extremely helpful when travelling on a budget. We were also able to leave our bags in the kitchen area on our final day so that we could get some last minute exploring in before leaving the city. There was lots of construction happening around the metro (improvements to infrastructure) but that didn't stop us from enjoying the Olympic stadium and surrounding park. By the second day, my partner and I had decided that we couldn't wait to return to the Gite on all our future trips to Montreal! Thank you/Merci to Maite & Simon for the wonderful experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily C wrote a review Jun 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Maité & Simon were perfect hosts! They were always available for any and all of my questions and took care of our little family so well. From everything to an early check-in/late check-out so our babies could nap, to providing us with a highchair and playpen, it was so perfect! We had come specifically to Montreal to take our daughter to the Biodome and this location was just minutes walk away. Once in the room, they had a binder full of helpful recommendations and tips (the Oeuferie for breakfast was fabulous). We were even able to secure free on street parking but do watch out as Montreal street signage is tricky!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Foucher, Owner at Gite du Survenant Montreal
Responded Dec 4, 2023
Dear Emilyhmacleod, Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay at Gite du Survenant. We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay for your family! It's heartening to know that you appreciated us hosting you; we also have a young family therefore understand the puzzles of naptime and impossible logistics of everything we need to plan for. We're pleased we could accommodate your needs, and that your baby was able to get some full naps. We're glad you found the recommendations and tips in the binder helpful, and we appreciate the shout-out to Oeuferier for breakfast - it is also one of our favorite. Thank you for mentionning Montreal street signage for other potential guests; it can indeed be tricky! We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future. If there's anything specific you enjoyed or if there's anything we can do to make your future stays even better, please let us know. Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nuria M wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spend three days there and It was a great surprised. The room was cozy, I loved the decoration, and clean. The common areas, such as the kitchen, were so clean and with all you might need. In addition, there is a laundry just in case you need to wash your clothes, which is very helpful to avoid a heavy luggage. t is very well connected via subway.
Mayte and Simon answer all the request really fast. We could enter before the booking time and they let us to leave our luggage before leaving Montreal, so we could move in our last hours freely.
If we happen to come back to Montreal, we won't hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tomislav S wrote a review Aug 2021
Thunder Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a very pleasant stay. It was clean, quiet and the room, Ville Marie, even had its own balcony. The location is also fantastic -- the subway is around a corner, and restaurants, cafes, the Botanical Garden and the Maisonneuve Market are within a short walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Simon and Maite
Montreal, Canada16 contributions
Hi Richard, We are glad to hear you like our place. St.-Vincent street is located in the old port of Montreal, which is about 20 minutes away either by public transit or driving (assuming there are no special events at the old post with street closure). In Subway, very easy to get around. You can find a map of the subway system by doing a google search for “Montreal STM Metro” (TripAdvisor does not let us paste links here…) We are located at the PieIX station in the east end of the green line, and old port is around Champ-de-Mars in the Orange line. In order to get to our place from the airport, our recommendation would be to Uber. It will cost around 45-60$. Alternatively, taxi will cost 60-70$. You could also consider public transit; but it is a little tedious since you would have to take a bus then transfer to a subway, and some of the transfers do not have elevators which makes it difficult to haul luggage. But if you want to save, this is by fat the cheapest way to get around; the fair is 10$ which also includes a 24h subway pass. In order to get more information, google “STM 747 YUL”, and top hit should get you to the STM page. Have a safe trip and see you soon!
Brodie P asked a question Jul 2019
Newcastle, Australia126 contributions61 helpful votes
Is there any easy parking near here as we are driving through?
Answer from Simon and Maite
Montreal, Canada16 contributions
Hi Brodie, Our neighbor offers his spot for rent; after confirmed reservation we will forward you his contact information in order to make arrangements. Also, we are a block away from the Olympic Stadium’s paid parking P1 or P2. These are indoor parking, available 24/7. Here is their website for more details by doing a google search for "Olympic Stadium Parking Montreal" (TripAdvisor does not let us post URLs) Alternatively, it is possible to find free street parking but we can't confirm availability for sure and are not really able to reserve you a spot. Typically though, many people leave the area between 4 and 6pm (many commuters park and take the metro, and people coming to the Olympic Stadium / Botanical Gardens/Biodome for the day) If you do decide on street parking, please please beware of restricted zones and times.  Cheers
sherrbear37 asked a question May 2018
Jersey City, New Jersey17 contributions7 helpful votes
Hello, does each room have a bathroom?
Answer from Simon and Maite
Montreal, Canada16 contributions
Hi SherrBear, We have two different types of rooms. Our signature suites have private quarters, whereas our rooms on the main floor have access to a shared bathroom. If you are looking at a listing and aren’t sure which category it is, please feel free to reach out to us by email, phone or what’s app message, will be our pleasure to help.
Diana V wrote a tip Jun 2024
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The building has no parking spaces assigned, being located in a residential neighborhood. They have an arrangement with a private homeowner."
Read full review
Om@r wrote a tip Jan 2024
Montreal, Canada2 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice place"
Read full review
Natalie O wrote a tip Oct 2023
14 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kitchen and hall are shared spaces. If you want your bathroom ensuite, make sure you ask for it otherwise you could be in the hall."
Read full review
Marek47 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Worth, Illinois3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want to feel like home this is the best of the best."
Read full review
Kelly K wrote a tip May 2023
9 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Traditional duplex flat for Montreal; nothing fancy but comfortable and the location is excellent; walking distance to everything."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montreal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$147 - C$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealMaisonneuve / Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) / Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Gite du Survenant Montreal - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Gite du Survenant Montreal
Which popular attractions are close to Gite du Survenant Montreal?
Nearby attractions include Japanese Garden (1.0 km), Montréal Insectarium (1.0 km), and Biodôme De Montreal (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gite du Survenant Montreal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Gite du Survenant Montreal?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What are some restaurants close to Gite du Survenant Montreal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bagatelle Bistro, Etat Major, and Hélicoptère.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gite du Survenant Montreal?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gite du Survenant Montreal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Gite du Survenant Montreal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel (4.9 km), Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine (6.0 km), and Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal (5.0 km).
All Montreal HotelsMontreal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontrealHotels near Gite du Survenant Montreal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars