We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auberge du Vieux-Port

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Vieux-Port
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,452: English reviews
Manchester
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I had a wonderful time at the Auberge du Vieux Port. Staff were extremely friendly, courteous and always “happy to help”! You cannot fault the location of the hotel, with so many great restaurants, the old port and historical buildings on your door step. I would highly recommend the Auberge for great service, cozy rooms, hotel location and un certain...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MumU40
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour MumU40, It truly makes us all very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. It was our pleasure to help with any requests you may have had and hope to welcome you back very soon. Michael C. Guest Service Manager

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Found via Trip Advisor, super courteous and friendly staff, great location, with an excellent Tavern on premises. On the Port side of Old Montreal, very nicely renovated commercial space, very interesting architecture. Lots of extra touches, super comfortable bedding, well appointed, great lobby. Concierge was super, front desk very nice too!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dadmanly
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Dadmanly, On behalf of the Concierge, the Front Desk Staff and everyone here, thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had. We do hope and look forward to welcome you back very soon. Michael C. Guest Service Manager

Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at your hotel this past weekend (we extended and were there for 4 nights). The room was beautiful and the location was fantastic for the activities we had planned. All of the staff were helpful and pleasant. The staff in the restaurant were particularly hospitable and welcoming each morning and the food was great. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KerryBarryM
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour KerryBarryM, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience you had with us and for recommending us to your friends and family. On behalf of the entire Staff, we thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome you back very soon. Michael C. Guest Service Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Stayed for one night while in Montreal for work and would return again and again. The room was beautiful but more the service was absolutely superb! I hope to return in the summer so I can enjoy their roof-top patio. Well done!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRadish
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour CRadish, We hope and look forward to welcome you back this summer. Thank you for sharing your experience, it makes us very happy to hear that you will come again and again to stay with us. Michael C. Guest Service Manager

Reviewed 8 March 2017

Had a wonderful weekend stay, all the reception staff in particular were extremely helpful, they facilitated a late checkout due to unexpected illness which was hugely appreciated. We stayed here following recommendations from family members and would stay again. The 1st floor room facing the river was beautiful and very clean, it had particularly high ceilings and some lovely furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wellylimerick
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Thank you wellylimerick for sharing your experience on here. For any requests, like having a higher floor, please never hesitate to let us know prior to your arrival and it would be our pleasure to make it happen, always based on the occupancy of the Auberge. The entire Staff and I thank you for staying with us and truly looks...

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We came for one night for the Sting concert! What a super time we had staying at this hotel! The staff were 5 star as they treated us with great kindness! So very friendly ! The hotel lobby, the room the restaurant were so romantic! Thank you to all, we really appreciated all your warmth!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Holidazzze
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Holidazzze, It was a pleasure to welcome you with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port. We’re glad to hear that you had a romantic stay with us and that everything was excellent. We do look forward to welcome you back, hopefully very soon. Michael C. Guest Service Manager

Reviewed 4 March 2017

We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. To be honest, we saw pictures on their website, but my girlfriend and I never had been to Montreal before; we knew we'd be in Old Montreal, but we didn't really know what to expect. The room couldn't have been better. We even joked about moving into the place! The receptionist upgraded...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anthony C
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Anthony C, It truly puts a smile on my face to hear that you had an excellent experience and that you will only stay with us when you come back. On behalf of the entire Staff, thank you for sharing your experience on here and we all do look forward to welcome you back very soon. Michael C. Guest...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We truly enjoyed our stay at "L'Auberge du Vieux-Port. The service was great as was the recommendations of the concierge. The bedroom and bathroom were of a very high standard. The breakfast at Taverne Gaspar was excellent (Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict). We appreciated that each room had an umbrella for our use - it was a wet weekend! It turns...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henry H
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Henry H, We appreciate you sharing your experience you had with us and so happy to hear that it was a great one. I will pass on your comment about the opening hours of Gaspar as we’re always working on perfection your experience and thank you sharing it with us. We truly look forward to welcome you back with...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We really loved tolocation of this hotel in Old Montreal. We took an Uber downtown a few times but for the most part found out most of e things we wanted to do were very close by. The hotel is very charming... my only complaint is the walls are thin and we could hear other people alarms going off and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JJHalter
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour jonhalter, We appreciate you sharing your experience you had with us and glad to hear that it was a great one. We’re a little limited on what can be done with soundproofing because we want to keep the stone and brick exposed yet it’s definitely something that we’re looking into. We truly look forward to welcome you back with...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 February 2017

After our delightful stay here in August, we came to stay again in February. While a very different experience - Montreal is much quieter in the dead of winter - the impeccable comfort and service were just the same. The staff was exceedingly attentive to us and we were charmed with a box of macaroons and a sweet personal note...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nana J
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Nana J, We have won your heart, I’m so glad to hear that. Thank you for returning and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on here. On behalf of the entire Staff, Lara, Andree and I, we do look forward to welcome you yet once again and hopefully very soon. Michael C. Guest Service Manager

900 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (615)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (177)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (241)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe King Riverfront Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen 1 (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen 2 (51)
Viewed
Premium King Riverfront Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Signature King Riverfront Room (23)
Viewed
Signature Queen Riverfront Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
1,007 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
1,879 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
1,287 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)

Neighbourhood Profile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The historic centre of Montreal, Vieux-Port is home to some of the city's most antiquated buildings and picturesque streets. Along the waters of the St. Lawrence River, the bank of Old Port features museums, festivals, food stalls, and outdoor athletics, a celebrated part of the city that explodes into fireworks displays on warm summer nights. At its centre, street performers and artists compete with sprawling restaurant terraces for space along Jacques-Cartier Square, while the cobbled streets of Rue St. Paul and Rue Notre-Dame offer a reprieve of quiet galleries and atmospheric wine bars. Horse-drawn carriages are not an uncommon part of traffic, and the narrows they traverse are lined with boutiques, crêperies, and poutine shops enshrined in buildings of stone and wooden lattices. Here you can evoke Montreal's past with a traditional cooking lesson or historical tour, then enjoy its artistic present with live music and theatre.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: $255 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auberge du Vieux-Port staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Auberge du Vieux-Port staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on the river side...perhaps it is quieter than the street side. I just like to look out at water!”
snardone66, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We love it quiet and were on the 4th floor”
powershopper, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We requested a higher floor with River view - would highly recommend.”
KerryBarryM, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“first floor rooms have very high ceilings”
wellylimerick, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a port view room.”
henryh652, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5