We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auberge du Vieux-Port

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Vieux-Port
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,475: English reviews
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We stayed at this hotel in September, and had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the river, which was lovely. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was very charming, the bathroom was very modern and clean. For breakfast you have a choice of a la carte items from the menu at the restaurant that is attached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re glad to hear that you had glad an excellent time with us and we’re looking forward for the next time you come and stay with us.

Reviewed 11 October 2015

My wife and I have stayed at a few hotels in Old Montreal over the past few years and we found this place to be the best. The property has a lot of charm being in an older building but is very nicely done inside with a lot of dark wood, exposed beams and exposed stone. Our room was beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DSD19
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we`re really happy to hear that you had a memorable time with us. On behalf of the entire team and Lara, we thank you for choosing the Auberge and look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

I hate reviews where one incident fills the review and colours the whole stay, so I am gong to get through all the other bits first. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was fine, though the restaurant was too noisy (loud music) for us to have dinner there as we intended. Luckily, the hotel is well situated by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank celticlegendltd
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Bonjour Dear Guest, We appreciate you sharing your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port. There are categories that have individual climate control and others are central. We are working to have individual temperature controls in the entire Auberge. As for the door left opened, we sincerely apologize about that and reassure you that it`s something that rarely...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This hotel was very comfortable with an outstanding, friendly and knowledgeable staff.. The atmosphere of the main building, where we stayed, was traditional and cozy. Coffee and tea were available 24/7. Recommendations for restaurants and sights were thoughtful and individualized. The included breakfast in the adjacent restaurant was tasty with lots of options. The restaurant also offered excellent lunch/dinner at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Napleslen
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 October 2015

This a residence type establishment in Old (Vieux) Montreal. The hotel is divided into 4 different sites a block or two from the main building on Rue de la Commune East, where check in and check out occurs. Rooms are clean with all the comfort features of a finer hotel. A but of update and refinement would be beneficial.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tibizzi
Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

The location, facilities, staff service and concept are excellent. The room had a full kitchen, living and dining room area and excellent washroom. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows, artistry in lighting at the cost of enough light makes the room and washroom a bit dark. All furnishings are well worn and need repair or updating, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelley647
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Good service, helpful concierge. Good location in old part of town. Room had a spacious feel. Includes a tasty breakfast a la carte. Floors are not level with the age and settling of the building so a little caution is recommended. Room too hot though and while we asked twice for it to be lowered from 24.5 C it didnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda D
Reviewed 6 October 2015 via mobile

We were so impressed not only with our loft which was clean and beautiful but the staff was incredible, friendly and super accomidating! Impeccable service. It was by far our favourite place we've ever stayed in the old city! The food was wonderful and the staff couldn't do enough to help us. So impressed we cant wait to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melanie H
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are more than happy to hear that you were impressed with the service. We also can’t wait to welcome you back with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Had a 4 night stay here and upgraded room to river view on recommendations of Tripadvisor travellers. Good sized room with everything you need, from a great sized shower to an iPod docking station. I have to say, the huge bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in! Situated right on the old port, it's a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TiptopJayBee
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is greatly appreciated that you took the time to share your experience you had with us. To hear you say that the service provided by the employees stood out, makes us proud that we made you feel like you were home and that you had an excellent time. We do hope that you come back soon and...

Ventnor City, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This hotel was really quite beautiful. Great location, very cool, professional friendly staff, and everything you could want from a boutique hotel. But, I have to complain a bit. I desperately wanted a high floor riverside room. I sent multiple emails requesting in the most unobtrusive and heartfelt way that my wife and I love to stay in expensive hotels,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita C
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to make sure that you know that we did do our best to assign you the highest floor possible, always based on the availability in the category reserved. That’s the reason why we never guarantee a specific unit. We’re grateful that you shared your experience and look forward to welcome you back.

901 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (616)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (105)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (177)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (241)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe King Riverfront Room (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen 1 (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen 2 (51)
Viewed
Premium King Riverfront Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Signature King Riverfront Room (23)
Viewed
Signature Queen Riverfront Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
1,029 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
1,906 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
1,301 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)

Neighbourhood Profile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The historic centre of Montreal, Vieux-Port is home to some of the city's most antiquated buildings and picturesque streets. Along the waters of the St. Lawrence River, the bank of Old Port features museums, festivals, food stalls, and outdoor athletics, a celebrated part of the city that explodes into fireworks displays on warm summer nights. At its centre, street performers and artists compete with sprawling restaurant terraces for space along Jacques-Cartier Square, while the cobbled streets of Rue St. Paul and Rue Notre-Dame offer a reprieve of quiet galleries and atmospheric wine bars. Horse-drawn carriages are not an uncommon part of traffic, and the narrows they traverse are lined with boutiques, crêperies, and poutine shops enshrined in buildings of stone and wooden lattices. Here you can evoke Montreal's past with a traditional cooking lesson or historical tour, then enjoy its artistic present with live music and theatre.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: $335 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auberge du Vieux-Port staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Auberge du Vieux-Port staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is parking near by but you will need directions.”
471camm, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Could not get two queen beds in room but the king size bed was fine.”
  • View from room 403
lynfields5, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Best views from top floor, Rooms 501 & 502. However 501 is right next to the elevator and staircase top to the roof top patio / bar.”
PeterB_and_J, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Fourth floor river facing room so picturesque”
ALICE08820, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the river side. It is quieter than the street side.”
davidkB910JI, 19 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$236* /night
View Deal
HotelsClickUS$254
TravelocityUS$236
Orbitz.comUS$236
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates