Hotel Universel Montreal

5000, Rue Sherbrooke Est, Montreal, Quebec H1V 1A1 Canada
Traveller (214)
Prestige King, luxurious modern decor in total comfort with 1 King size pillow top beds, FREE WI
Room & Suite (122)
Le Toit Rouge, restaurant de l'hôtel
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
No prepayment needed
C$191
Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
C$197
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#84 of 160 hotels in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Universel Montreal located on Sherbrooke Street by the Olympic Stadium, Biodome, Botanical Garden, Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium and Viau Metro station. Offering 230 clean, smoke-free, spacious rooms in various categories equipped with all amenities of a 4 star including FREE wireless high-speed internet. International cuisine restaurant. Unwind at our Bar Lounge or enjoy our 2 HEATED SWIMMING POOLS (indoor and outdoor (seasonal). 13 Conference/ Reception halls for up to 550 people. FREE PARKING.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
740Reviews10Q+A98Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 271
  • 197
  • 88
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Motor M wrote a review Jun 2022
Horsham, United Kingdom47 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was in the hotel for 6 days the first 5 very wet in June. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed. Bring your own shower toiletries, what is supplied is minimal and awful.

What thei s hotel lacks, especiay a a very wet morning, is somewhere to have a decent breakfast.

The onsite eaterie is called Le Toit Rouge . Be prepared when you present yourself at the door for a considerable wait to be seated> On the 2 occasions I went there the very large cafe had very many vacanyt tables but with staff indifferent to waiting patrons.

Had you made the right decision, you would have lost patience, walked off and sought food elsewhere. At 09.15 I was presented with an omlette of such leathery texture I would guess it had been sitting in the kitchen since 09.15 the previous day! The omlette allegedly the top dog on the omlette menu contained raw onion, raw red pepper a rubbey tastelee cheese.

Ok next day give them a chance with eggs benedict. If your hollaindaise sauce comes out of a bottle at least bring it above fridge temperature. The staff indifferent and slow in a restaurant with less than 10% occupied.

On that day I had the temerity to give up wiating at the door and walk into the cafe towards a table. This was the only occassion when a waiter moved with any speed he whizzed over and told me to wait at the door until a table was allocated . After 5 minutes of waiting anotehr wter came to me and guided me to the table I had been heading for originally.

have I a good word to say about the place, food or service? No

If it is not raining walk out of the hotel and turn right. walk about 5 minutes down the road ther is a parade of shops with a cafe called CORA. Welcoming staff, good breakfast open kitchen where your breakfast is freshly prepared.

It is a measure of Le Toit rouge that the Hotel directory does not mention it's existence.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dinalouis wrote a review Jul 2020
Canada12 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for three nights. Very convenient location, a lot of restaurants around.
We upgraded to a junior suite. It was very spacious and the kids had a blast. It came with a Jacuzzi in the middle of the two rooms. At first we had to switch rooms due to the smell of the first one (either smoke or due to the lockdown during covid!). The room was changed right away, the smell was better but we think the fact of the long closure had a huge effect on the smell. The room was very clean and well maintained. The indoor pool was amazing and the water was heated to the right temperature. The sitting on the outdoor pool is great for a sunbath between noon and 4 pm but the water was relatively cold.

I find that they took all extra measures to make sure everyone is safe during these hard times. Won’t be our last visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aurélien Noyelle, Services aux clients/réception at Hotel Universel Montreal
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you apprciated our services and your stay. Offer a peaceful stay with all maximum safety measures is our priority.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mc l wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Minus:

First, the key didn't work.
Once we got a working key, we actually entered a room that was already occupied! Lights on, luggage everywhere - thankfully we didn't see anyone!
When we finally got into our room, the TV didn't work and the crib we had requested was broken and unsafe for a baby to sleep in. It took three tries to get a safe crib (many thanks to the patient and kind staff member who helped us!).

Beware the menu that says "Room Service". There isn't actually room service. Thankfully there is a restaurant right on the main floor. But to us, that was strike 5 in under one hour.

After that everything was fine and standard hotel. The beds were comfortable, the towels were soft, the room was a great size for a family of four. The room could have been a bit cleaner (wads of gum found on the floor, dried up crusty food on the desk chair, long hair on the pillow even though all of us have short hair).

What annoyed me is when I checked out and was asked if I had a good stay and explained why it was just ok, the front desk staff replied "yeah, yesterday was hard for everyone". Not sorry, not an expression of apology, nothing.

Plus:
Location is great for visiting Jardin botanique, Biodome, Stade Olympique, etc.
Free on-site parking is a major plus in Downtown Mtl.

Maybe we were there on an off day, but things started off really rocky which left a bad taste in our mouth and made us doubt this was a four-star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoniShen wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The service was really poor. We booked two rooms, both with a king size bed. The first night we checked in, one room has a non-functional key. The hotel assigned us a different room, which had a two double beds. Terrible thing was, around 1 am, a stranger opened the room with the key. Luckily, we used the safety lock. The hotel assigned the same room to another group of guests!! After we told the situation, the front desk even called our room again... 1:00am....

The staff were not helpful at all, and the attitude, don't know what we can say. The cleanliness is also a concern. Since the pandemic, I bring the disinfecting cleaning wipe to every hotel, and wipe all surfaces when check in. I noticed there were stained marks on our night stands, definitely no cleaning after previous guests check out....

On the fifth floor, the water pressure was so light, shower was not a good experience.

Avoid this hotel, if possible
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dereksdontrun wrote a review Aug 2022
London, Ontario6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a great time at Hotel Universel Montreal! Our room was wonderful (one of the suites, with a separate living room and large bathroom with jacuzzi tub). The room was very quiet too. Parking was easy & free (though we did notice fans attending a soccer match at the nearby Saputo Stadium park here too, so the lot can get full if there is a game going on). There's a metro station closeby, and the amazing looking Olympic village, now converted to apartments, is right across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Knights, Services aux clients/réception at Hotel Universel Montreal
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Hello dereksdontrun, We would like to thank you for giving us a perfect score for your recent stay here at Hotel Universel Montreal. We are delighted that your stay went well and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as our guests in the near future. The Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie K wrote a review Nov 2023
Edmonton, Canada17 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was very nice but there must be a lack of communication between front desk and housekeeping. Also, when paying $200 per night for an old hotel, I would expect my room to be cleaned daily. The passed two days my room has been missed when I have requested the day before to have service. I’ve been here 6 days and my carpet has not been vacuumed once and my bedding had not been changed. My garbage cans are dirty and overflowing. I’m quite disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Request housekeeping 24 hours in advance in person not by phone.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zahura Reza, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Universel Montreal
Responded Nov 19, 2023
Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the lapse in service you experienced during your stay. Your comments about the lack of communication between the front desk and housekeeping are concerning, and we are addressing this issue to ensure a more seamless experience for our guests. We understand the importance of a clean and comfortable environment, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations in this regard. Please be assured that we are reviewing our housekeeping procedures to prevent such oversights in the future. Your feedback is invaluable, and we appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope for an opportunity to make amends and provide you with a more positive experience in the future. Kind regards, The Team at Hotel Universel Montreal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leighstlouis wrote a review Aug 2022
Windsor49 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Universel for our weekend getaway to Montreal. We were visiting for attending the Rammstein concert at Parc Jean Drapeau. As everyone can see there are plenty of hotel selections in Montreal but we are absolutely grateful that we chose Hotel Universel.

Firstly, finding somewhere with free on-site parking was a must, especially being from out of province I had to make sure my car was with us. For one night of our stay, we had to park on the lower level due to overflow parking from the Saputo Stadium event but that wasn’t an issue.

The hotel is centrally located to lots of great locations. Every morning I went for a walk around the Olympic Stadium and visited the botanical gardens across the street. Lots of biking and walking opportunites and great sights to take advantage of.

SAQ (alcohol) stores, parks and restaurants are nearby via a short car ride. We didn’t use the hotel shuttle but it is definitely available.

Grocery store (IGA) is less than a 5 minute walk away if you need to pick up any groceries.

The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Payment options are whatever you need, credit, debit or even cash. Hotel Universel is very clean.

We found the indoor pool just a little too small for us while other guests were in it, so we used the outdoor pool. Really nice and private seating area.

The rooms are very large and clean. We had a King size deluxe room. The bathroom (shower!) was especially nice. Definitely seems like a luxury hotel, you won’t be disappointed. Beds are really comfortable with extra pillows and blankets stored in the bureau. Lots of living space, doesn’t seem cramped. Great view of the outdoor pool and park beyond from our sixth floor room.

Another note on location…the Rammstein concert was at Parc Jean Drapeau…we were leaving our car at the hotel and taking the metro (subway). Google Maps stated a fifteen minute walk to the nearest metro station and then a 30 minute subway ride to the venue. Honestly, the walk to the metro was more like ten minutes (across the street at the large Olympic Stadium complex) and the Montreal metro was very quick. We were probably at the venue in about 25 minutes overall, so this hotel’s location can’t be beat.

Lots of families were staying here and it has a great atmosphere.

Definitely felt safe and loved staying here. We’ll be back! Thank you for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightsee15664921832 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a good experience. Good location for it is near Biodome and Olympic Stadium where we just walk to the venue for Metallica M72 World Tour Concert. It is also near the Montreal Botanical Garden and the metro where it was easier for us to get a ride to/from downtown Montreal. The hotel has clean room and staff was nice to us especially Ms. Bénédicte, the lady in the reception was so approachable and helpful. Kudos to her! We had some changes in our booking and the reservation was so helpful and promptly sent us the revised booking confirmation. Keep it up!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zahura Reza, Services aux clients/réception at Hotel Universel Montreal
Responded Aug 17, 2023
Dear Sightsee15664921832, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed our convenient location near attractions like the Biodome, Olympic Stadium, and Montreal Botanical Garden. It's great to know that our clean rooms and helpful staff, especially Ms. Bénédicte at the reception, made a positive impression on you. We're glad that our team was able to assist you with the changes in your booking and provide you with a prompt and revised booking confirmation. Your feedback is truly appreciated as it motivates us to continue providing excellent service to all our guests. We hope you had a fantastic time at the Metallica M72 World Tour Concert and exploring Montreal. If your travels bring you back to the area, we would be delighted to welcome you again and provide you with another wonderful stay. Best regards, The Hotel Universel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalia K wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one night at this hotel from the 30-31st of August 2021. Customer service was bad. We almost missed our plane flight because on the 30th we were told call on the 31st in the morning to book a taxi in advance for 15 min. So we called the receptionist at 6:30 am from our hotel room to book a taxi for 7 am. We were told to come down and book downstairs in the lobby. So we came to the lobby at 6:45 am and the receptionist claimed that he had called the taxi for us at 6:55 am. We waited in the lobby for the taxi to arrive. At around 7:05 the receptionist left because his shift ended. And it was already 7:20 and the taxi still hasn't arrived. After that we had asked the new receptionist to call the taxi, and there were no cars available. A taxi finally ended up arriving at about 7:40 am. We drove for a really long time because of morning traffic.
Also the room was smelly and the sink was clogged and the indoor pool had turbid water.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcos wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My experience at the Hotel Montreal was absolutely awful. From the useless staff that could careless that you have small children and the keycards NEVER work I had to have my keycard replaced 2x a day while there. The response from hotel staff is what would you like me to do the cards are sensitive? Checking in I was given the wrong room number because it was written down incorrectly, then got to the room to find the beds don’t come with fitted sheets so your essentially sleeping in a sheet and then the mattress which I thought was unhygienic so I asked for more sheets. The house keeper came and had his hands all over my sheets that I’m suppose to sleep on? The worst experience and the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at ever!
I have pictures that most of the bed sheets and pillow sheets have some sort of stain on them. The automatic entrance doors don’t always work so you have to pry them open not to mention when the hotel has parties you basically don’t sleep because you can hear all the commotion. The walls are paper thin you can hear the plumbing from other rooms. Our first night there was an alarm that was never reset and my entire family woke up at 12:00am. This was the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed at and will never stay again and don’t recommend staying here if you care about quality and cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Zahura Reza
Montreal, Canada
Hello, unfortunately we are victims of scammers in other countries who are using our identity. We have no association with these individuals. We are sorry for the problems caused to you. The Management
Answer from Zahura Reza
Montreal, Canada
Hello, unfortunately we are victims of scammers in other countries who are using our identity. We have no association with these individuals. We are sorry for the problems caused to you. The Management
Jaman Ahmed asked a question Feb 2021
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Hotel universal job offers is right or real?
Answer from Zahura Reza
Montreal, Canada
Dear Jaman A. This is a fraud. We don't offer jobs. Sincerely
Answer from Theflightfoodie
38 contributions6 helpful votes
You have to ask for a microwave in the room - not all have them. Some do. All have fridges and coffee makers.
amandamlj84 asked a question Jul 2016
Adamstown, Pennsylvania21 contributions25 helpful votes
Where does the shuttle service take you and how much is it?
Answer from
Montreal7 contributions4 helpful votes
I know it's late, but for people reading now. There is a shuffle between 3:30pm and 10:45pm No reservation. First arrived, first served. Can take you to a maximum of 3km from the hotel. It's free.
laura wrote a tip Apr 10
Dodge City, Kansas3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is tough in the city! Plan ahead"
Read full review
Katie K wrote a tip Nov 2023
Edmonton, Canada17 contributions19 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request housekeeping 24 hours in advance in person not by phone."
Read full review
angela k wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Thetr is a restaurant on site hut not open everyday for breakfast and dinner, select days. "
Read full review
Chris D wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay at this hotel."
Read full review
Lina M wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is small not as the pictures. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montreal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$168 - C$307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge universel hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Auberge Universel
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealOlympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa) / Mercier-Hochelaga-Maisonneuve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
230
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Universel Montreal - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Universel Montreal
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Universel Montreal?
Nearby attractions include Japanese Garden (1.0 km), Montreal Botanical Garden (1.0 km), and Insectarium de Montréal (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Universel Montreal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Universel Montreal?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Universel Montreal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Universel Montreal?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Universel Montreal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beni Hana Cuisine Japonaise, Botanical Garden Restaurant, and Enoteca Monza Pizzeria Moderna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Universel Montreal?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Universel Montreal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Universel Montreal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Universel Montreal?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours Chapel (6.2 km), Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine (7.3 km), and Chateau Ramezay Historic Site and Museum of Montreal (6.3 km).
Is Hotel Universel Montreal accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Montreal HotelsMontreal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MontrealHotels near Hotel Universel Montreal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars