We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Show Prices
#54 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,737: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
 Click to rate
Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is serviceable, but dated. However, the service is mediocre - the valet was unfriendly and the concierge lacked basic Montreal knowledge. I will say the bar/restaurant staff were comparatively much better. Was here a part of a conference and it is a constant frustration to me when food is not labelled. I couldn't imagine attending a conference here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelFunKes
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team. We took good note of your comments regarding the accessibility to the guestroom corridors. Should you be planning a future trip to Montreal, do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can attend to your requirements...

Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went to valet to park my car. No one was there waiting. Waited 15 minutes until the valet attendant showed. He completely ignored us. We waited another 10 minutes. I had to call him over to get my car parked. I told him that I was waiting for a bit. I complained that he did not even acknowledge me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougkwon26
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you had some difficulty with the parking during your visit and that one of our doormen was not giving you the level of service you deserve. Please accept my sincerest apologies and be assured that this will be looked into. We hope to see you again soon!

Caledonia, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second visit to Hotel Bonaventure and we were not disappointed with our stay. We were visiting family in the Montreal for the Easter holiday and we find the location to be convenient to dining venues and travel to visit family. The renovations that were done last year make the lobby/reception area very warm and welcoming. Sorry, no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redlady62
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your top score review and especially for your loyalty. We truly appreciate having great guests like you! See you soon!

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Hotel Bonaventure Monteal for our anniversary. It was recommended to us by a family member. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Our room was very clean, bed comfy & free wi-fi worked like a charm. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but love the concept that it is heated year round. Would love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank handlebar7
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your description of our hotel was excellent and we are glad you were able to get a taste of all we have to offer. We hope to see you soon!

Swansea, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really really wanted to give a 4.5 rating, but there's no option for that here. So I'll explain why this wasn't a 5 (to me). You'll read this and think it's nitpicking, and I agree, but that's why I'd like a half rating. The room was certainly big enough - being that this is an older property, I expected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USCanadianAtHeart
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive review, we value your opinion and we are grateful that you choose us for your stay in Montreal. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a quick trip up to Montreal this past weekend and stayed at the Hotel Bonaventure. It was just okay. Pros: it was in a decent enough location, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go without getting lost Cons: the walls were incredibly thin so we could hear every single thing going on in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arielle K
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you found our location good and convenient. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great hotel and convenient location. This hotel is right across the street from the train station which made it very convenient for us to walk to with our luggage. It is also a mere 15 minute walk away from the heart of old Montreal...a trek we made several times in the 2 days we stayed here! The hotel room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M F
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Very happy to read you enjoyed our great city and the services our hotel has to offer, as well as the service our staff extended to you. We hope you come back soon.

Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago

This has always been a wonderful hotel, located perfectly in downtown Montreal. Situated across from the train station, it is any easy walk. The hotel is lovely in many ways, as the room was comfortable with all of the amenities. The beds are soft and extremely cozy. The view was great and really, I had nothing to complain about during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidVmax
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

It's so nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate your review! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here because of the year-round heated outdoor rooftop pool & hot tub. These are neat, although the pool is honestly still a bit chilly in cold weather. We tried to stay in the pool, as there were people already in the hot tub when we got out there, but only lasted about five minutes before running and crowding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie Y
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and full service amenities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Ottawa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The architecture and layout of this hotel is very distinctive. It is 1960 brutalism (similar to the NAC in Ottawa). I've never seen a hotel with that style. The layout is...different. The lobby is not at street level but at a higher level. The hotel is very well situated. We came by train from Ottawa and it was only a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simjenk
MaudeVien, Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our unique landscapes and floor plans are what makes it such a great place to stay. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you soon.

971 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (617)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (305)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Executive Room with King Bed (38)
Viewed
Executive Room with Two Double Beds (36)
Viewed
Outdoor Heated Pool (8)
Viewed
Regular King Bedroom (41)
Viewed
Regular Two Double Bedroom (42)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
1,407 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: $205 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Bonaventure Montreal staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Toronto, Canada
9 months ago
Miami, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Bonaventure Montreal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The garden rooms are best.”
winst0n4, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the housekeeping storage room”
VJH95, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Looking into the Quad was good in winter”
barryw338, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i think they are mostly all great rooms ,”
62daniellek, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Might have some accessibility problems for less mobile travelers.”
hclause, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5