We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel l\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
See the most recent reviews
Showing 400: English reviews
Conyngham, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June with our 16 year old daughter, yes I know there is a sex toy shop next door, this was discussed with our daughter before we made our reservation. The hotel was wonderful, the staff was pleasant and friendly. If we had a question about an attraction or where something was they always helped...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Scott S
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our prime location, cleanliness of our facility and helpfulness of staff! Café Dépot is very accommodating to our clients and we receive many compliments regarding the continental breakfast. We are pleased that you plan to...

Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I was worried about my stay with my boyfriend for 4nights here as the reviews seemed to be a real mish-mash. We were both particularly concerned about the rundown and dodgy nature that had been portrayed. However, we really didn't need to worry at all. We visited Montreal during the Francofolies festival which is located directly next to the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tarch333
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review of our budget rooms with shared washrooms. The hotel also has superior rooms in the new section of our establishment and studio apartments with kitchen facilities for clients looking for more comfort and amenities. Every year, for the past three years, we have received an excellence award from our Tripadvisor clients and for the past two...

St. John's, Canada
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here in a studio room, it was a great size and comfortable while the hotel was incredibly located. The staff seemed pleased to help and give advice at pretty much any hour of the night. They all were amazing at their jobs and gave us great restaurant advice and directions. The hotel is located right in the heart...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank verity f
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our location and your studio accommodations. I hope to welcome you again soon and to have the opportunity to show you once again the trademark service that we are so proud of.

Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Wow, CAROL, the front desk receptionist, was amazing. What a wonderful lady. She went beyond her standard role - ultimately, she planned our entire trip and made sure we were as comfortable as could be. She will never be forgotten and we will be sure to return to this hotel because of her. In terms of the hotel, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DF_087
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Abri du Voyageur. I will certainly share your kind words with Carole. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that our team was able to help you in making your trip a memorable one. We are indeed privileged to have...

Cape Breton Island, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2013

At the crossing of St Catherine and St Laurent, L'Abri allows you to strike out in all directions and a Metro stop is right there too. We stayed in the Studio section and were surprised that these rooms come with kitchenettes (we can't read) which are fabulous but bring your own teabags etc. Varnished wood floors, rooms at back with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vicki J
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hôtel Abri du Voyageur. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will proudly share your comments with our entire team. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Hello I've been to this hotel 2 times and loved it , the service is great , the price and location is amazing !! You can't get any better place if you want to be central montreal !! Will be back for sure ;) Lyne

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Poledancer28
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your support and loyalty and for sharing this beautiful comment. We look forward to welcoming you for the third time !

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 June 2013

First of all, the location of this hotel is pretty good, though perhaps 2 blocks in the "wrong" direction. It was a bit offsetting having a gigantic sex shop just outside, and I had been told a bit about the general area, but overall it wasn't really a big deal. I had a private bathroom and it was fine, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GrahamToronto
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. Being a centennial building, our hotel does not have an elevator. The hotel is divided in three sections: one section has the budget rooms with shared washrooms (ideal for the budget conscious traveller), the renovated section with our standard and superior rooms with private washrooms and a third section with our studio apartments. Though there are...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently because of a last-minute decision to visit Montreal. I usually stay at the Hotel Y but it was unfortunately fully-booked. After much research of cheap places to stay, I settled on this hotel based on the reasonable reviews it had. I'm glad I did because it was a decent place to stay for the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Catpea
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and an honest evaluation of our.budget rooms with shared washrooms. The new and refurbished sections of our hotel have the standard, superior and studio apartments for clients looking for additional comfort. Our hotel prides itself in our customer service, the cleanliness of our rooms, as well as our low rates and thus am pleased of...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 9 May 2013

If you are coming with your spouse or family, put a few extra dollars and choose a better hotel. But if you are on a budget or traveling alone, this hotel is hard to beat for the value it provides. Don't expect super clean rooms, bed sheets with your own bathrooms, high-speed internet, etc. because you are not gonna get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Venkata B
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I noticed that you chose one of our rooms with shared washrooms and as you mentioned in your review, they are indeed suited for the budget conscious traveler. This room type does not have all of the amenities of our standard, superior or studio apartments but we usually receive positive comments about their cleanliness and...

Toronto
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I love visiting Montreal and I've stayed at this hotel about 4 or 5 times now. The location can't be beat if you like being in the centre of things. Right in the shopping centre of town at St Catherines and St. Laurant, Old Montreal is a 15 minute walk downhill, the Latin Quarter is a 15 minute stroll to...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Simone01
Larry56Montreal, General Manager at Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur, responded to this review

We are pleased that we are your hotel of choice when in Montreal and we look forward to your next visit in June. The staff think that I should consider hiring you in charge of public relations; they are kidding but needless to say that they truly appreciated your perspective and comments. Our studios have recently been renovated and I...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Budget One Bedroom (20)
Viewed
Budget Two Bedroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 163 in Montreal
639 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 163 in Montreal
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#54 of 163 in Montreal
757 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#80 of 163 in Montreal
789 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#39 of 163 in Montreal
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier des Spectacles

Neighbourhood Profile
Quartier des Spectacles
The bar-none entertainment district for music and arts, Quartier des Spectacles is an interactive playground that delights the senses. It totals over 30 performance halls, with the vibrant Place des Festivals at its heart. The outdoor event space features glowing towers, glass edifices, and granite-lined bike paths, and hosts annual festivals, concerts, and comedy nights. The cinema, theatres, and exhibition centres are entwined with external art projects, exemplified at Montreal's Contemporary Art Museum and appearing along every walkway of the Promenade des Artistes in the form of sculpture and public works, from digitally-enhanced swingsets to glowing fountains. Design, performance, and alternative music come together here, a stone's throw from the lively Latin Quarter along Rue Saint-Denis, the quintessential after-party spot for dinner and a drink following a day of jazz, poetry and play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dating back to 1876, Abri du Voyageur Hotel has been renovated in keeping with its historical character. High ceilings, bare brick walls, maple-wood floors, continental doors are reminiscent of the past and give our hotel a unique personality. Abri du Voyageur Hotel is not an impersonal, run-of-the-mill cookie factory type hotel but is part and parcel of the history and evolution of the Faubourg St.Laurent and of Montreal.Abri du Voyageur Hotel is adjacent to the Quartier des Spectacles Hotel. Each hotel is in a separate building linked by a common lobby and reception. A single entry serves both hotels in a 4 storey centennial building.All our rooms and studios are equipped with an air-conditioner and cable television. We also offer free wireless internet for all our guests.A friendly professional staff and a warm ambiance offers you a welcomed refuge in the midst of the hustle and bustle of downtown Montreal. Relax in our ‘hotel de charme’ and visit by foot Montreals’ boutiques, cinemas, restaurants, museums, art galleries, sport events, shows, bars and discothèques. Metro St.Laurent ( subway station) is less than a block from the hotel and will bring you in 10 to 15 minutes to those few sites not in walking distance ( ex. Doré Beach on the St.Lawrence River, Mount Royal, the Botanical Gardens, the Biodôme, the Casino of Montreal). What a dream location! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur

Address: 9 rue Ste-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Price Range: $47 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Abri Du Voyageur
l Abri Du Voyageur Montreal
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#49 Business Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best going for a suite, they have their own bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles ebhowe, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family? Get a lower level room. Got poor knees? Get a lower level room. Young and fit? Any room will work.”
 of 5 bubbles Inspector2211, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lots of stairs to get to check in.”
 of 5 bubbles claudel513, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the second floor with shared bath”
 of 5 bubbles Sandalsand, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No need pay the rate with breakfast, Chinatown is around the corner with many options!”
 of 5 bubbles L89FHericj, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay