We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Chez Swann

Show Prices
#62 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Chez Swann
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chez Swann
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I wanted to like Hotel Chez Swan. It is kind of quirky and has its own charm. Great location too. But overall the experience was lacking. But when I got there I waited 10 minutes for someone to come to the front desk to help me (this was only after another guest arrived and asked a staff member of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhatEatsNow
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear PhatEatsNow, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our location and the hotel in general. We have addressed your issue with our front desk staff and have resolved the problem. We strive to provide the best service possible, and have spoken to the housekeeping department about...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

It was a pleasure to come back Chez Swann for another business trip. The rooms are spacious and the decor is tasteful and artistic. The bed is very comfortable The location is excellent. The staff is doing everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, but you have to keep in mind that this is a 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonthethird2015
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear jonthethird2015, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We are so happy to hear you find our location and rooms to your liking. Our staff strive to make the best of all our guests stays. We are sorry to hear you experienced problems with the fridge, but glad that our staff were able to make other arrangements....

Litchfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Service was great and the location was perfect, but Chez Swan was a little too trendy for my taste. Lots of black decor with funky lighting that just felt cold not cozy. The hardwood floors in the room were already showing wear and the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The heat also took ages to warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie731
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear Julie731, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. This is a boutique hotel, which prides itself in being artfully different from other hotels. You will be happy to hear that we have recently undergone some renovations at the hotel, including replacing the floors in every room. We hope to see you again! Yours...

Boston
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Visited Dec 2. - 4. 2016 Most horrible stay at my life! I booked this Hotel after reading about how wonderful it is supposed to be! What a big mistake! I had 2 Rooms booked one one the 3. Floor and one on the Second. Room 201 is Located next to the Elevator. With out being notified prior to arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tobias M
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear Tobias M, We are so sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. Unfortunately, for your first night we had no other rooms available due to us being fully booked. After looking into this issue with our staff, we are happy to hear that we were able to provide a free upgrade on your second night! This noise...

Ottawa, ON
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

It was an expensive $300 evening. Convenient and close to shopping and bars. Parking in the garage down the street is $30/day. We ended up paying $18. The hotel was very nice. It had a funky artist look to it. There were tree stumps in the hallway and also they were used as night stands. The decor was interesting to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gareauk
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear gareauk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the look of the hotel and its amenities. The pee-a-boo showers in our rooms are just one of the many things in our hotel that makes it unique. However, not every room has one and we...

Utila, Honduras
Reviewed 13 November 2016

i spent a couple of nights at chez swan on a recent business trip. i was a bit dubious when i saw the exterior, the check in process was incredibly slow and outdated, however my room was wonderful. lots of space, lovely furnishings and bedding, a beautiful bathroom and despite being on the second floor, nice and quiet. the continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank divenuts
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear divenuts, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Chez Swann. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and your overall stay with us. The adjacent restaurant, Le Pois Penche serves the complementary classic Parisian breakfast to our Hotel guests. I apologize if it was not to your liking. We hope to serve you once...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

It was my first time visiting Montreal and my experience at this hotel was simply amazing. Very well kept, very clean and very posh with their designing. The colors, look and feel of the rooms was simply amazing! i would highly recommend anyone visiting montreal to stay here. Everything is walking distance, staff is great, rooms are clean and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amna S
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear Amna S, Thank you for your perfect rating of Hotel Chez Swann! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything – from the staff to the design of the rooms – and have exceeded your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you back at a future time. Best Wishes

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We loved this artsy place! The front desk staff was delightful!! The room was fun and interesting. Hard wood floors reminded me of times past but could be creeky- beware of this if total silence is necessary for your comfort. I would recommend this boutique hotel to my friends!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank norrisjss
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear norrisjss, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly the artsy style of the Hotel. We hope that the style of the Hotel, matched with the front desk staff, made your visit to Montreal truly memorable. Thank you for such a perfect rating! Yours in Hospitality

Reviewed 23 October 2016

The location of the hotel is great if you want to be downtown. The decor is funky and that s all the positive I have. The floors are hardwood if the next room or above are walking you think they are in your room. We had room 205 and from 7:15 am to 11:30 you think you are in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzie B
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Service at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear Suzie B Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Chez Swann. We appreciate all feedback we receive. I apologize that your stay was not up to expectations. We have spoken to the restaurant about their music volume, and have resolved the issue. We hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to make your stay memorable....

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

It was my second time there and my experience wasn't exactly the same. The woman at the reception was very nice and welcoming, although she seemed to have more than this only task to take care of, since she was up on the third floor for a client when we got there and the reception desk was empty for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maude B
Chez-Swann-Hotel, Guest Services at Hotel Chez Swann, responded to this review

Dear Maude B Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate the feedback. We thank you for your patience with check in and apologize for not exceeding your expectations with your last stay. We are currently undergoing some renovations and improvements that address some of the above mentioned. As for parking, you’ve mentioned the two...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Junior Suite One Bed (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite Two Beds (35)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Room (39)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
2,403 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
1,301 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 163 in Montreal
649 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#46 of 163 in Montreal
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ROOM TYPES:La Mondaine, La Demi-Mondaine, Le Boudoir, 23 Rooms feature, 6 suites, 10 jr suites, 8 rooms]La Mondaine KG, 4 rooms, La Mondaine QN, 2 roomsLa Demi-Mondaine KG, 8 rooms, La Demi-Mondaine QN, 2 rooms, Le Boudoir KG, 4 rooms, Le Boudoir QN, 3 rooms, ROOM AMENITIES: King or Queen beds. Bay windows in suites. City view. Pillow-top mattress. Premium bedding. Triple sheeting. Douvet and custom-designed textiles. Desk. In-room safe (accommodates laptop). 40 inch HD LCD television with USB plug in. Cable television. Premium channel(s). Free movie channels. Wireless high-speed internet and dial-up access (complimentary). iPod/iHome docking station. Direct-dial, multi-line, speaker phone. Free local calls. Free long distance calls within Canada and USA. Voicemail. Complimentary bottled water. Rainfall shower heads with massage jets. Air conditioning. Non-smoking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Swann

Address: 1444 rue Drummond, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1V9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Price Range: $191 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Swann 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chez Swann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#40 Business Hotel in Montreal
#41 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Chez Swann staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York
Port Perry, Canada
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
9 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Chez Swann staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our stay on 2nd floor was quite pleasant.”
465margaretf, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are no good views. This is a 3 storey building.”
stev01978, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“inform well before booking!”
l-advice, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great!”
BeatriceNY7, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“the "suite mondaine" is well worth the price”
jonthethird2015, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5