We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Paul Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (373)
Room & Suite (169)
Dining (23)

View prices for your travel dates

C$220
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#34 of 160 hotels in Montreal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in an original Beaux-Arts building in the historic quarter of Old Montreal, the St Paul opened in 2001 as Canada’s first ever boutique hotel. The 119-room property, designed by Montreal-based design firm Borrallo Interiors offers a timeless blend of past and present, and an innovative design that maintains the integrity of the building’s original architecture. Bold juxtapositions of colour and texture heighten the senses and transport guests on a visual journey throughout their stay. Masculine elements like straight cuts and strong lines collide with feminine expressions found in the fashion-inspired fabrics to create a soothing paradox. In addition to providing our guests with an outstanding location, service and amenities, we are committed to environmental sustainability and engaged in local sourcing. - Energy conservation program - Waste reduction - Sustainable sourcing - Water conservation. Numéro de licence de la Corporation de l'industrie Touristique du Québec (CITQ) 160311
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Snack bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese
4.0
2,044 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The St. Paul Hotel is celebrated by guests for its stylish atmosphere and prime location in Old Montreal, making dining and sightseeing easily accessible. While the rooms earn praise for their spaciousness and comfort, some guests have experienced maintenance and temperature inconsistencies. Despite the hotel's high marks for cleanliness and service, with staff lauded for their friendliness and professionalism, concerns have been raised about the value, particularly regarding the cost of parking and perceived lack of amenities. The hotel's amenities, however, are generally well-regarded, although some guests find the high tubs to be a challenge.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2044Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,075
  • 565
  • 237
  • 103
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Paul R wrote a review Jan 2024
Seattle, Washington20 contributions8 helpful votes
This was my second stay at this hotel in a year. I hope I never have to stay here again. I arrived late at night on a Saturday to find out that the restaurant inside the hotel is closed for renovations and, because of this, there is no food served in the hotel - no room service. It's too late at night in the neighborhood for any restaurants to be open and the hotel staff have not made any arrangements for food delivery partners. Instead, I get a "good luck" from the front desk. Then I ask about my room and am told it is still occupied. I was supposed to get a king bed but now, with no explanation, I'm downgraded to a queen bed. Turns out the bed is so broken down it is like a 500 pound weight has been put in the middle of the bed for a year - if you poured water on the bed it would form a deep pool before running over the sides. The thermostat doesn't seem to do anything ; over the course of my stay I tried raising and lowering the temperature of the room, with no success. The furniture is totally business-unfriendly: the desk height is too high and has sharp edges, while the chair provided is too low, can't be raised or lowered, and is as comfortable as sitting on a park bench all day. There is no art or decoration on the walls of any kind - just bland, bare white. The first bath towel I used after showering was like sandpaper, and there is no place to hang any towels of any kind. One positive is the robes provided, which are excellent, though full of static electricity in January (very dry atmosphere). The view from my room was of a parking lot and into living spaces at the same height, so lacked privacy. Though the curtains were acceptable for blackout lighting conditions, the street noise was terrible at times - I was awakened at 4am on a weekday morning to the sound of glass bottles clattering by the hundreds. The water in the shower runs very hot for several minutes and cannot be lowered to a temperature that does not scald, so you have to remember to begin running a shower or bath several minutes before you actually want to get in. The bath water won't drain fast enough to keep the tub from filling up if you run the bath spigot, so you have to remember to run only the shower or you risk scalding your feet when stepping into the shower. The elevators work well and provide security with a card reader required to go to your floor, but they are poorly lit and rather shabby looking. The lobby has a very nice gas fire running at all hours and the staff at the front desk are nice. The Nespresso in my room worked well and I was very pleased that the front desk would provide more pods. The negatives of this hotel far outweigh the positives, so even though it is closer to my work location I will try never to come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brahim Bennani, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Paul R, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel St Paul Montreal. Your feedback is essential in helping us improve our services. Regarding the closure of our restaurant for renovation, I understand your disappointment. We are in the process of implementing alternatives to offer our guests a satisfying culinary experience during this period. We regret that this information was not communicated to you upon your arrival. As for the room, I assure you that the comfort of our beds is normally one of our strong points, and what you describe is far from our usual standards. Your comments about the bed and room amenities have been passed on to our maintenance team for immediate action. We take careful note of your remarks on noise disturbance and water temperature. While some elements are beyond our control, we are always looking for ways to enhance our guests' experience. We are glad that you appreciated the bathrobes, the Nespresso in your room. Your satisfaction in these aspects is very important to us. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to offer an experience that truly reflects the quality and comfort that Hotel St Paul Montreal strives to provide. Please feel free to contact me directly for your next booking, so that I can personally ensure your comfort and satisfaction. Sincerely, Brahim Bennani Front Desk Manager, Hotel St Paul Montreal
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephanie Dao wrote a review Jan 2024
San Diego, California2 contributions
St. Paul Hotel was the perfect place to call home while exploring Montreal last October 2023. The property is modern, well-appointed, clean, and comfortable, offering a beautiful view of the city from the rooms as well as thoughtful in-room amenities. The front counter staff was upbeat, kind, knowledgeable and attentive throughout the duration of my stay, providing several fabulous recommendations for dining and entertainment which was so appreciated! With a location set in the heart of Old Montreal, there are countless shops, galleries, and restaurants within walking distance - it was a superb opportunity to get familiarized with the area by foot. All in all, I would highly recommend a stay to anyone visiting the area and look forward to returning on my next trip to Montreal. Thank you for a memorable and lovely experience, Mariana and St. Paul Hotel Team!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Jan 19, 2024
Dear Wanderer33476721590, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Boutique hotel last October. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the view of the room to the location and that our staff were able to recommend fabulous dinning and entertainment for your stay. On behalf of the St. Paul Hotel Team, we hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Montreal. Best Regards, Jennifer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Irene S wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Thank you for the most amazing service. I needed a ride at a reasonable price as the distance was long and Morgan arranged an appropriate ride. I then forgot things at the hotel, I called right away and they imensured that the room was secured until I returned to get my things. Thank you once again for the extraordinary service!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Dear TravellerPl, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at out Boutique Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back on your next visit to Montreal. Kind Regards, Jennifer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Companion25337248504 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The best part was the staff. Especially helpful was Morgan at the front desk who provided us with recommendations of everything from coffee shops to fancy dinners. Because of his recommendations, we had a wonderful experience in Montreal!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Dear Companion25337248504, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at out Boutique Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that our staff were able to assist you with our recommendations. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Montreal. Kind Regards, Jennifer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lovtravels wrote a review Dec 2023
Montreal, Canada2 contributions
My time at the St. Paul Hotel in Montreal was really pleasant. The staff was friendly and helpful, making me feel welcome from the start. Benjamin was a very professional and knew all the perfect places to visit & eat. The room had a nice view of Montreal, and the decor added a cozy touch. The hotel’s location was convenient, allowing us to explore the city on foot easily. What I appreciated most was the daily housekeeping without having to ask for it – a simple but thoughtful detail that made a difference. ( Theresa was so sweet; thank you!) Overall, the St. Paul Hotel provided a comfortable and hassle-free stay. I’d recommend it to others looking for a straightforward and enjoyable experience in Montreal. It definitely added to the positive vibe of my trip, and I’d consider staying there again on my next visit to Montreal.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Dec 29, 2023
Dear lovtavels, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Boutique hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from our helpful staff to the cozy touch of our decor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montreal. Kind Regards, Jennifer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
S. H. H wrote a review Dec 2023
Toronto, Canada55 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
Great location 5 minutes from Old Montreal. The room was beautiful and spacious enough, it felt like a boutique hotel. The breakfast options at the hotel restaurant could use a bit more variety. Hotel staff were courteous and friendly. The bar at the hotel lobby was pretty cool. Loved the Nespresso machine and the filled up mini-fridge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2023
Dear CyrusIV, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Boutique Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay from the location and the bar to the Nespresso machine. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the future, Kind Regards, Jennifer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ptravler wrote a review Dec 2023
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania2 contributions6 helpful votes
I don't often post any sort of review but I feel that I must warn travelers about this hotel. My husband is a top tier Marriott person and this is in the top tier of Marriott rewards family so we stayed there. That meant nothing at all for this stay. I do not recommend this hotel unless location is the most important thing to you. That and the outside of the hotel are fantastic. The interior is in a sad state. The carpet in the hallways is purple and wrinkled. The rooms themselves were dirty, not well cleaned, and always too warm or too cold. My husband went to the front desk for a lesson on how to use the temperature control to no avail. My children's room was stifling hot. My daughter called five times down to the front desk for some help and no one came. The next day we asked for the rooms to be reset. Ours worked theirs never did. It was a sauna for both nights of our stay. The hotel restaurant was nice, the waitresses there lovely and attentive. The front desk staff always kind. The rooms were horribly dirty. I won't describe what was on the walls of the bathroom that wasn't cleaned off. The tub stopper was broken so you couldn't take a bath, and our floor had visible dirt on it both days. Clearly the floors were not washed or swept. The room had both carpet and wood. Again, I'm not fussy but this was so gross I had to write a review. Positives: the hotel restaurant, the beds were nice and sheets got changed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Dec 19, 2023
Dear Ptravler, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Boutique Hotel. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations we take all of your comments very seriously and they will be shared with each department and the administration. We take pride in our establishment and are always working to keep things above standards and in excellent condition. The thermostats are controllable from the rooms, however at this time of year the air conditioner is not on. We understand that you do not want to come stay with us again, however we do hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back and change your opinion. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Arianne G wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Terrible experience at this hotel having clothes stolen from my room. The hotel was very negligent ignoring all of my emails to request help, and not doing a due diligence search. I've also had a friend share a similar experience of her things being stolen from this hotel so stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Dear Arianneg168, Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I would like to firstly assure you that your emails and phone calls were not ignored. Our supervisors and the Director of the front desk have been in contact with you by email and by phone since your first call on friday. As our staff has mentioned we have been in contact with the housekeeper and our drycleaning service and unfortunatly your item was not found. This situtation is not a regualr occurance, we retain lost items in the lost and found for 3 months, if they are found in the room and we take this very seriously. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen J wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The service from both Patricia and Clemence was top notch. They ensure all the details of our meeting and stay were look after and were responsive on site when we had an issue with the projector. All in all a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CristinaOlivotto wrote a review Oct 2023
Geneva, Switzerland322 contributions99 helpful votes
The building of the hotel is beautiful and very well located, the hall perfectly refurbished. Unfortunately the rooms are definetely not up to the standard: bathrooms, lift, furniture look old and are not maintained. But what bothered me the most are the tiny beds, the keys not working, the bad services, the old shower.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jennifer Simard, Guest Services / Front Office at St Paul Hotel
Responded Oct 23, 2023
Dear Cristina O, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our Boutique Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location. Our rooms, hallways and lift are refurbished every year to better our services. We also offer a variety of different bed types from double beds to Kings, depending on the reservation made. We hope we can welcome you back in the future and change your mind about our hotel. Regards, Jennifer
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montreal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$248 - C$386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel st paul, st paul hotel
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecMontrealVieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) / Ville-Marie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

St Paul Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Montreal, Quebec) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St Paul Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to St Paul Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Old Montreal (0.4 km), Dubarry Furs (0.3 km), and Pointe-a-Calliere, Montreal Archaeology and History Complex (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St Paul Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at St Paul Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at St Paul Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at St Paul Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St Paul Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stash Cafe, Restaurant Bonaparte, and Le Serpent.
Are there opportunities to exercise at St Paul Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is St Paul Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Montreal.
Are any cleaning services offered at St Paul Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at St Paul Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does St Paul Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.