We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

L'Hotel Port-Royal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 573: English reviews
Start your review of L'Hotel Port-Royal
 Click to rate
Burlington, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I were recently in Quebec for the winter carnival. To say we had a great time is an understatement! We loved the location of our hotel! Very close to old Quebec. Gorgeous buildings, restaurants, bars all within walking distance. Staff at hotel were always friendly. They answered all questions and arranged travel with a smile on their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kel2772017
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Kel2772017 Thank you for your great comments We are pleased that your stay in Quebec City has lived up to your expectations. However in order to improve your next experience with us, it is important for us to know your preferences so we can better meet your expectations. On your next stay do not hesitate to mention that a...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is right in the heart of Old Quebec City! Walking distance to Chateau Frontenac, waterfront and tons of cute shops!! Rooms were clean and smelled fresh. Updated bathrooms. Floors were old, but clean so we weren't bothered- it's a historic building! New comfy bed. Hotel breakfast was slow but nice! Get there early!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cruisegirl2000
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Cruisegirl2000 Thank you for your excellent comments which are a great reward for our efforts to always better welcome our guests We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again during your next stay in Quebec City Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Directrice

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a one-bedroom suite for a week while in Quebec City to enjoy the winter carnival. Accommodations, location and staff were all excellent. This hotel is located near the river, adjacent to the oldest section of Quebec City - Le Petit Quartier Champlain. This is an old building that has been completed renovated inside so you have the benefit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Janet S Thank you for your great comments, and we are very happy that you have a wonderful week in the beautiful city of Quebec. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next stay in the old capital Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was my first time at Hotel Port-Royal and I was charmed by the old thick stone walls. Valet Parking, great staff, and a very comfortable hotel residence are the 3 items you'll notice when you get there. Walking the narrow streets of the old city, you'll find a museum, boutiques, restaurants, pubs and most of all the friendliness of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Christian L Thank you for your excellent comment which is for us the most beautiful of the rewards. Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Quebec City Best regards Agnes Marsoin - Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for 2 nights my husband and I. Arrived at hotel reserved with Hotwire, they wanted to give us a room on 2nd floor on the gas station view side, from reading previous comments here i knew that was kinda the worst side. I asked them to switch us room and after fussing and giving us the usual excuse "oh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manon N
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Manon N I am sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations. Our four categories of rooms, varying in price according to the categories allow to meet the needs according to their requirements. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again. Do not hesitate to specify your expectations during the reservations so that we...

Quebec
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms in this hotel have great character. They have all been renovated while keeping the charm of the original building. I was greatly impressed. We had a beautiful suite facing the port. This must be a great view in the summer. The staff is very friendly. Do use the valet parking as there is not much parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B_from_Quebec
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear B_from_quebec Thank you for your excellent comment We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Port Royal Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Louisiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is one of my wife and I's very special hotels in one of our favorite cities. The hotel is not great to look at from the exterior but absolutely special to stay in. The rooms are awesome (the most "home" feeling rooms we have ever stayed in). Old, yet modern, yet feeling like a pair of your most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hclause
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear hclause Thanks you so much for your excellent review which is for our team the most beautiful gifts We will always be there to welcome you to the Hotel Port Royal los of your stays in Quebec City Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Mount Airy, MD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Classy unique boutique hotel in lower Old Quebec. I can't say enough about the staff. Genuine and friendly with every encounter. The rooms are unique and modern successfully blending the old with the new. The bathroom was luxurious. The bed was comfortable. My only concern is the sheets on the king bed. As with most hotels, the bottom sheet is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pintodoug
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Pintodoug We thank you for your excellent comments which are for us the most beautiful of the rewards. Rest assured that all your comments are taken into account by management We are delighted that your stay has lived up to your expectations and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Arnprior, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms all restored, spacious, full kitchenette, great location in Old City, If you have allergies, no carpet, heated bathroom floor, huge double shower Before booking double check that they have not used air freshner in the room, was our only complaint, scent was quite strong, we booked through travelzoo, so not sure what the room rates are if booking directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHarbert
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear MharbertThank you for your comments Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in Quebec City Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 18 January 2017

What a charming hotel. The rooms come with a kitchenette and are very clean and modern, but at the same time, somewhat rustic with part of the wall shared with brick. We didn't particularly like the pub and didn't partake at their restaurant. However, I loved everything else. The service was exceptional. Plus you are in walking distance to Old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJGoodell
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear JJGoodell, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your excellent feedback and for your appreciation We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again during your next stay in Quebec Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
1,191 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,004 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#34 of 101 in Quebec City
619 reviews
0.5 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $155 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Hotel Port-Royal staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
mathtchr2
NJ
Barrie, Canada
over a year ago
New York
2 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from L'Hotel Port-Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“every room is unique - we enjoyed the extra space of the living room/separate bedroom combination”
 of 5 bubbles B6535ECjanets, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the front parking are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles christianl478, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the front. The view is great.”
 of 5 bubbles hclause, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 218 if you are tall. I would ask about the others.”
 of 5 bubbles pintodoug, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms overlook a gas station. Ask for the other side.”
 of 5 bubbles N5449CUerinm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5