We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
15 Avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A8 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$160
View deal
Hotels.comUS$160
TripadvisorUS$160
Orbitz.com
TravelocityUS$160
StayForLong
ZenHotels.comUS$160
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (541)
Room & Suite (226)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 104 hotels in Quebec City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Hotel Nomad, formerly Château Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL. Why change our name? We simply thought for a long time that the name Château Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL no longer corresponded to the spirit of our project. For years now, we have been creating a different hotel, one in which the traveler is invited, like a nomad, to wander through different eras, styles and, references; in short, to let his or her spirit of curiosity run freely, and to discover universes that are opposed to those evoked by the classicism of the word "chateau" or "manor. Nomad evokes for us people with legendary hospitality, a slow journey synonymous with discoveries and exchanges, comforting stops, curiosity about other cultures and stories, but also the warmth of conversations between friends. Hotel Nomad is the spirit of curiosity and sharing that has always animated us and in which we intend to continue to welcome you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Skiing
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Walking tours
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
878Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 701
  • 151
  • 16
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
anon37 wrote a review Jan. 2023
Baltimore, Maryland29 contributions50 helpful votes
We stayed in a mini-suite on the upper level of this small hotel in an historic mansion. The room was clean and comfortable, with a king-sized bed, a small sofa, two chairs, and a coffee table. We really liked the heated floors in the bathroom. The shower was very small but had good water pressure and both a rain shower head and a handheld. The room had a mini-fridge, but did not have a microwave. Great views of the Frontenac and the river, and the hotel was walking distance to everywhere in the old city. The continental breakfast (yogurt, croissants, pastries, coffee/tea, and juice) was very good - the smell of baking croissants woke us up every morning. We chose to eat in our room but you can also eat in the hotel's front room. Everyone who worked at the hotel was friendly and helpful. It was also a benefit to have parking available - many of the small hotels in the area do not have their own parking areas and finding street parking looked to almost impossible. The only thing we thought we could have used in the room was a dresser or more drawer space. There were only three drawers in the desk area and since we were staying for more than a few days, there wasn't enough drawer space to unpack. This would not be a problem for a shorter trip with fewer clothes but was only an issue for us because we were there for longer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your stay in one of our Junior-Suite and your comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you have appreciated staying with us, our staff, and breakfast. We need to receive such feedback, especially when the guests stay for a long time with us (2 weeks in your case). For your next stay, we recommend trying our Grand Suite Florence Adelaide White. Located just below the room you had this time, with an even better view, more storage space, and a larger bathroom 120 sq feet with a bathtub and large walking shower. Looking forward to welcoming you soon, Warmest regards, Olivier & Romuald Ps: Just for our readers, I would like to precise some sizes; I would not want that people think they are arriving in a tiny house ;-): Room size 40 sq feet, shower size 3 ftx3ft, sofa length 6 feet.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Graham wrote a review Jul. 2022
London, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Nomad is a deeply lovely and beautiful hotel right in the historic centre of Quebec City. The room, welcome, people and breakfast were all fantastic and I genuinely don't think I've stayed in a nicer boutique hotel. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Direction - Hôtel Nomad Québec, Propriétaire at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Aug. 1, 2022
Dear Guest, Wowww thank you very much for your stay and warm comment on TripAdvisor. We hope you will return to visit us soon. warmest regards. Olivier & Romuald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia wrote a review Jan. 2023
13 contributions12 helpful votes
I had a very nice stay at Hotel Nomad. It is perfectly located within short walking distance of anything you would want to see in Vieux Quebec. My room was small as expected (the photos and description on the hotel's website are very accurate), but not uncomfortably so. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is light (croissants, pastries, yogurt, coffee or tea, and juice) and delicious. The staff is also very friendly, and fluent in English if your French is not good. I recommend this hotel for your next stay in Quebec City.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Hyacynthia, First, let us wish you a fantastic, healthy, and wealthy new year. We are delighted to read that you have appreciated staying with us and that our staff and services met your expectations. Thank you also for your compliment on the photo and room description; we have spent a lot of time on that point, and it is nice to know that people appreciate them. We hope you will return to visit us soon, All the best, Warm regards, Olivier & Romuald - The Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles c wrote a review Dec. 2022
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
This hotel is so unique, comfortable, staff are super helpful, making you feel home. Each room has a different feel and theme, so unexpected for a hotel.. I cannot find anything bad in our experience, we had the Florence White suite, with incredible view of the castle. Could not ask for anything better, we will definitely come back and refer to our friends. Thanks for everything!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We came by train , this help avoid parking, the gare du palais is in walking distance of old Quebec.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Charles, First, let us wish you a healthy and wealthy year full of projects, travels, success, and smiles. Thank you for your stay and your warm and positive feedback about it. Everybody on the team has appreciated it, and we hope you will return to revisit us very shortly. Warmest regards, Olivier & Romuald - The owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate N wrote a review Dec. 2022
2 contributions
+1
We had a wonderful stay. The location is great and everyone was helpful. I recommend staying here. The unique guest rooms are clean and comfortable. You may opt to add breakfast each day, which is served with beautiful views in the front room ($12 per day/per person at the time - photo included).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Dec. 12, 2022
Thank you, Kate, for your recent stay and for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are glad that everything went well and that you enjoyed your Hôtel Nomad getaway. Thank you also for mentioning our breakfast; we always do our best to make people feel cozy in a warm atmosphere during this important moment of the day. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, Best regards Olivier & Romuald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CycleDude86 wrote a review Oct. 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina51 contributions22 helpful votes
We loved being at this small boutique hotel that was in a great location. We walked to everything. The place was comfortable, extremely clean and well maintained. We spent 4 nights. We had plenty of space as well besides the king bed. Each room was very unique as we peeked in some rooms as guests turned over. We enjoyed the very artsy decor vs the standard big chain furnishings. The staff was helpful when needed. We included breakfast which was just enough and can be enjoyed in the parlor or your room. The place certainly added to a wonderful visit to a gem of a town. Also quite glad we were there off season, mid October as imagine it can get quite crazy in summer when cruise ships are coming through.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is tight so suggest a small vehicle but not needed in the historic district. Hotel has...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Dec. 12, 2022
Dear Guests, First, please apologize for our late reply; we were closed in November. Thank you so much for your stay and all the details and kind words included in your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us, and we hope you will return to visit us shortly. Concerning your comment about the high season, you are right summer is quite busy, and we always recommend to people who can travel out of the summer break to visit our stunning town out of the peak season. Year after year, our destination makes great efforts to offer activities to our visitors all year round. Now, no matter the season, our guests always find something to do during their stay in Quebec City. Looking forward to welcoming you another time soon, Warm regards and best wishes Olivier & Romuald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grant C wrote a review Oct. 2022
Just about everything about the hotel was near perfect - can't really think of a negative actually. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was beautiful, location was great, bed was very comfortable. Très bon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Oct. 24, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for this fantastic post-stay review. We are delighted to read that everything went well, and we hope you will return to visit us soon. Kind regards Olivier & Romuald
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie b wrote a review Oct. 2022
7 contributions8 helpful votes
Let me start out by saying that the hotel's atmosphere is very quaint and elegant. But we now realize that a boutique hotel is not for us. This was our first stay in one, and after coming from the excellence of a Doubletree Hilton hotel in Montreal, this one was lacking, for us. When I booked Hotel Nomad's Standard Room, I had no idea that the sink would be in the room, and with not enough space to even turn around in. Luckily, the hotel had a bigger suite for extra cost, available, and though we had not planned on spending more, we did. This room was beautifully appointed, but still small in some ways. The space was not practical at all. There were 2 bathrooms, one with a sink and toilet and the other with a sink, toilet and shower. However, there was nowhere for me to put makeup items or toiletries, as one bathroom only had a very narrow ledge and the second had no space at all, to put anything. The room had a sofa, which, though nice, limited the floor space, for 2 suitcases and carry-on bags. The lighting in the room was extremely poor. The only way I could read in the morning was to open up the drapes and put all the lights on. Reading at night was very difficult. Be aware that there is no coffeemaker in the Standard Room. In our updated room there was a Nespresso one, with nice coffee, but there is no cream on request, only milk, which I do not take in my coffee. There is also no iron in the room. I want to end by saying that this review of course only reflects our personal opinion and know that everyone's needs are different, but we plan to stick to the bigger hotels in the future, rather than a boutique one. The staff and location was good!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Oct. 9, 2022
Dear Madam, Thank you for your stay and your comment. Your reservation was a mystery for us from the beginning. You booked a category of room, thematic room (1 queen bed - 200 sq. ft) but have asked in the reservation extra request field to get a room with two queen beds (our junior Suite suite, two queen beds 400 sq. ft). Why have you not booked directly the room you wanted ??? Now you tell us that you don't know and don't like small boutique hotels and prefer large hotels. No problem with that, but it is tough to understand why we have to pay (with a 3 out of 5) because you made the wrong choice. Our answer to your comment about the amenities and equipment of the room : Upgrade: Because we had a larger room available and saw that you were looking for a large room, we spontaneously offered you at your arrival upgrade for half of the regular upgrade rate. You have evaluated the two rooms and have freely chosen the one you prefer. Even if it is narrow (8 inches), the counter in the main bathroom measures more than 3 feet—usually enough space for regular toiletries set for 2. Poor Lighting? Seven lights, including two dimmable reading lamps (have you used the dimmer ?), a chandelier, two wall sconce lights, a desk lamp, and one table lamp. Cream vs. milk: You are right; there is no cream in the room but complimentary fresh milk upon request, which is, from our point of view, much better than the usual non-dairy dehydrated creamer that you find in most hotel rooms. Iron: Iron and iron board are available upon request within a minute. We wish you will do a better choice for you and hoteliers next time you will travel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
psychojock wrote a review Oct. 2022
Newburyport, Massachusetts24 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
We loved this charming boutique hotel in the old city so close to everything. Super clean, wonderful bilingual staff, perfect room with a very comfy bed & even a little outside seating area. We had the delicious continental breakfast two mornings of our stay. Very happy we were able to get parking also. We would live to return here on our next visit to Quebec City.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We asked for parking in the comment section when making reservations & received an email back...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Oct. 9, 2022
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for your stay and your kind review. We are very happy to read that everything went well during your stay and that you have appreciated our boutique hotel. Massachusetts is not very far from Quebec, so do not hesitate to return to visit us shortly; why not come to experiment with the magic of the Quebecer winter? Kind regards, Olivier & Romuald.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WCCindy wrote a review Sep. 2022
Mystic, Connecticut22 contributions27 helpful votes
We walked into the lobby of the Hotel Nomad and I knew that I had picked the right spot for our 3 night stay. The Nomad has the charm of yesteryear, but the rooms are updated and lovely. This is a very relaxing spot to stay, quiet, but near everything. We parked our car in its reserved spot and walked the rest of the time. The day started with an excellent croissant and coffee and then we went to explore the lovely City of Quebec. All of the staff at the Nomad were helpful and we received excellent meal recommendations. I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olivier D, Directeur général at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Responded Oct. 9, 2022
Thank you, Cindy, for your warm words about our Hotel. We are glad to read that you loved being there with us and that we met your expectations. We hope you will return to visit us soon, Warmest regards, Olivier & Romuald.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$162 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
au chateau fleur de lys hotel quebec city
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosite - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Quebec/Quebec City) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité
Which popular attractions are close to Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Nearby attractions include Old Quebec (0.3 km), Quartier Petit Champlain (0.2 km), and Upper Town (Haute-Ville) (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a concierge, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taniere, Mary's Popcorn, and Le Continental.
Is Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Quebec City.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Morrin Centre (0.4 km), Fortifications of Quebec National Historic Site (0.7 km), and Plains of Abraham (0.6 km).
Does Hôtel Nomad - l'esprit de curiosité have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.