Hotel Universel Quebec

2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5 Canada
Cold plunge tub
Traveller (278)
Room & Suite (106)
Piscine de l'atrium - Pool in the atrium
Pool & Beach (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
C$139
Fully refundable before Sat, May 4
Get rewarded with One Key
C$139
Multiple ways to pay
C$111
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#99 of 103 hotels in Quebec City
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
711Reviews9Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 160
  • 187
  • 147
  • 145
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
A.Lee.0488 wrote a review Feb 2020
Saint John, Canada25 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights here. We booked a standard room with a king bed. Upon arrival we were assigned two double beds in a basement room. We asked about the king bed and they informed us we were assigned this room because the king room only has a window which is adjacent to a dark hallway, therefore no sunlight. We returned to our basement room and realized the fridge did not work. We went back upstairs and told them, they wrote it on a page with other problems from other rooms. We asked about getting a room upstairs, apparently these rooms are the prestige rooms and suites. So be aware, if you're booking a "Standard room" you will most likely be in a basement or a room with no window to the outside. We said we would pay extra for a different room if we needed to. Luckily, the lady at the desk was able to switch our room for 2/3 nights. This room was much better. On our second night, we seen available rooms online so we called and were able to get our third night reserved in our same room. Saturday (check out sunday), we went to the pool in the morning and when we returned, our keys didnt work. We went back to the desk to have them fixed, returned to our room and we had no hot water. We called the front desk and she said the plumber was there and it wouldnt be long... An hour and a half goes by, still no hot water. We called again and the lady was very rude about it (I'm sure people have been calling quite a bit so it could be frustrating). A little over two hours later, the water was slightly warm. We had to suck it up because we had already wasted a lot of our day. I would stay here again knowing what I have learned about the rooms. Also the staff was very accommodating (as much as they could be with what they have to work with), the pool area is beautiful and having Boston pizza attached to the hotel is very convenient. Staff at boston pizza were all excellent as well. I think the hotel management needs to make some updates and start putting money into fixing things. That fridge had a bad odor so it must have been broken for some time. Also, maybe change the listing of a "standard room" to a "value room" so people arent expecting more and getting less because we had actually cancelled another reservation to stay here because of the pool area. The pictures online are deceiving.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Hello Amanda, First of all, we would like to point out that we have no rooms in the basement and that the rooms on level 1 are at the parking level and not in the basement. It is true that we had a hot water problem on the 4th floor. A plumber came but the time he arrived and that he made the repair took a little time. As we care about customer's satisfaction, we assure you that all the people who made me part of this inconvenience were compensated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lb3003 wrote a review Mar 2020
Canada50 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Earlier this week, I stayed at Hotel Universel with my family. I was very disappointing...

Location: Even though I’m scoring this hotel average I would stay that it’s location is mostly what is best about it. It is located near the major highways with easy access to downtown. That being said the hotel parking lot is incredibly inconvenient. It’s very tight and is in a slope.

General atmosphere: To begin with the back entrance to access the rooms on the first floor is very dated and needs a bit of TLC. It probably hasn’t changed since the mid 70’s or 80’s. Also the seating areas and hallways would need to be noise insulated. On top of this, the receptionists were not very welcoming and helpful.

Rooms: The rooms have been quote on quote “renovated”, but extremely poorly. I would say that a lot has to be done. Doors close very poorly. The AC/heating system would need to be changed and is very noisy. Rooms do not have carpet which is good. Therefore the TV remote works very poorly in fact I had to change the channels using the side of the TV. The bathroom is convenient and is about the size of what you would get in a similar hotel. The cleanliness is okay.

To conclude, I would like to say that the reason why I scored my stay average is because I don’t really get that with all the competition in the hotel industry in the Quebec City area that the hotel isn’t being renovated and improved in order to keep up with its competitors. Sorry, but will probably not go back to this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Geneviève M, Responsable des relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec
Responded Mar 5, 2020
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your feedback. We are disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. We encourage you to mention aspects that you do not like when you are there so that we can correct the situation quickly. We apologize for the inconvenience and be assured that a follow-up of your comments will be ensured with the concerned teams.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jee C wrote a review Mar 2023
Gatineau, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel in november 2022 without checking reviews because i chose it for the location. The day we were leaving, i looked at the reviews and became anxious. That said, nothing to worry about, our stay was great and nothing remotely close to the reviews here. We had the deluxe room and out sheets were clean, bathtub was clean, fresh towels, comfy bed, blackout curtains no mould or broken furniture and the flooring seemed new. Staff were friendly as well.

Few things to keep in mind, its a hotel near the university and prime location for hockey teams, weekends may get busy and full of teens. The pool is a “spa themed pool” and not a spa. It should be treated as such. There will be kids running and yelling and birds chirping (yes they have bird cages) so if youre looking for a relaxing spa day, this isnt the place. The deluxe rooms balcony are direct on the pool area so expect to hear kids and birds chirping between 8am to 10pm when the pool is open. Bring earplugs if you are noise sensitive. Overall, noise was down between 10pm and 8am, hotel could benefit from more improvements and provide more towels and more room cleaning staff if you want your room freshened up daily however ive stayed at wayyyyy worse hotel. We had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The_Science_Teacher wrote a review Jul 2021
Montreal, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to this hotel Tuesday July 27-July 30th 2021.
Although it was clean, the standard room with 2 queen beds was extremely basic. The beds and pillows were not comfortable at all. The constant squeaking made it very difficult to sleep. Definitely need revamping.
Barely any storage to put clothes. We were 5 people and there was a dresser with 3 drawers only. No closet. Bathroom was very small. No counter space around the sink, not even a shelf under the sink like I have seen in other hotels.
Service was slow. We needed an extra foldable bed and the reception needed constant reminders to bring it.
Although well decorated, the pool looked big in the pictures, so did the jacuzzi. When we got there, we were surprised to see that the jacuzzi can fit barely 6 people. The pool was also very small. We had reservations but they were not well controlled. I suggest to close the fence or door entering the pool and allow entrance to the pool with a key card. In order to enter the pool, only people with this card can enter. The card can then be given back to reception when time is up.
The way to get into the restaurant, Boston Pizza, was through the pool area. So the pool was a high traffic area. I suggest to close that off to ensure less traffic in the pool and more control. If all that is not possible, then maybe have a staff member designated strictly for pool traffic.
In addition to that, the gym also needs maintenance.
On another note, there was a nice terrasse with a gas fireplace.
Overall, unfortunately i dont think we will go back. If you are looking for a cheap stay near the university and shops, and you don’t care much about the pool, then its a good hotel.
The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us despite all this.
Have fun in Qc city!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
stephen j wrote a review Sep 2020
Gatineau, Canada232 contributions64 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the front desk people accommodating, when we booked no one said that check in was at 4pm. We arrived at 1200 and we found out that we could not go to our room. This was not agreeable to us as we were tired after a 6 hr drive , the lady searched and found us another room . The rooms are basic, tv is small for todays standards. Shower head needs updating. the parking at the rear is tight, and coming thru the rear door with the cart brings you thru an area that really needs updating , the doors to the power rooms etc were left open so it looked like you were going thru a basement . The hotel has a Boston Pizza within the site, but we were told they do not serve breakfast, so if you want breakfast or not a fan of BP then you need to leave the hotel to eat. We did not use the pool, one its very small and very over crowded. Like I said this place is good for a short stay, ours was 2 days .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yasmine J wrote a review Jan 2023
49 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a disaster with accidents in the making.
I was there with family at my the beginning of the year.
They advertise a pool, a spa and a dry sauna, well forget about using any of these facilities as they are filthy and always full. People walk around barefoot and dressed inappropriately. Floors are always wet. Children running in and out of the sauna unattended. The carpets in the hallways are smelly People smoking in the hallways and in their rooms. Management rude and not knowledgeable.
They have an exercise room without any camera (unsafe) and children as young as six in there using the equipment.
Dirty towels on the floor etc. Needless to say that I do not recommend this overpriced hotel at all. Big disappointment! STAY AWAY!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
karley b wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very welcoming and clean, staff were patient and helpful. The poor experience started a couple days into vacation when we realized towels were not replaced, bed was not made and garbage was not being taken out. We were staying here for a 5 nights and not to have any check ins on a room was not acceptable. Everyday we were leaving our room for 12+ hours a day with the door sign requesting to have our room seen by housekeeping which was completely ignored. Housekeeping was seen multiple times around the hotel and in our hallway but or room was never touched. On our final night we were out of towels and we conceded to grabbing a couple towels from an open storage closet to be able to take a shower as you are not allowed to remove pool towels from the pool area.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrea M wrote a review Aug 2021
Ottawa, Canada12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teens) while visiting with family close by. We were in a room with a kitchenette which was great as we had breakfast with groceries we had brought. The room and hotel were very clean, and I was quite impressed with the sound insulation. Great location if you are dropping off a student at Laval. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I am bilingual so I spoke French, but I did hear them speaking English with clients. Two things that I would comment on are: (1) the parking. Their lot seems to be used by many others besides the hotel guests. Both evenings(2) when we returned around 9pm, we were very limited in our choice of spots (got the last one on the first night). (2) the wifi - strong enough for checking emails etc. but not strong enough for a Zoom call which we needed to do.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
19nosliw62 wrote a review Jul 2022
Montreal, Canada123 contributions54 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
NTired Hotel that I can only assume is trying to upgrade thier rooms
Our room had a small a/c that was unable to cool the area adequately. The first night the temp in the room started out at 27°c (80°f) and never made it below 23° (73°F)
Towels supplied were used and ripped
Bed was not confortable enough to sleep with the room temperature.
No decoration at all..no full sized mirror and the room was not well cleaned..there were spider webs between the wall and the sofa.
Most of the television sations had static (hard to believe with cable tv)
The shower had no hand set, first time I have seen this in years..makes it hard to shower without wetting your hair. The tub was slippry and dangerous.no textured surface or grabs..another thing I have not seen in awhile
The elevator worked well enough but it was so hot..too hot..27°+ humidity from the pool area
On the plus side, guests appeared to be enjoying the pool and facilities..the staff were doing thier best.
This is not a place I would recommend for an older couple (us) because the pool causes the floors to be wet in the lobby making things hazardous, and the poor accommodations but maybe good for families.
We booked for 2 nights prepaid but left after one night because of the bad a/c and the uncomfortable bed.
We cannot recommend this hotel for all the shortcomings indicated above and will not return
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Simonyeh wrote a review Jul 2022
Markham, Canada7 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
1. No house keeping unless you request. 1st day we were surprised there was no housekeeping. 2nd day we requested in the morning, and still no housekeeping. 3rd day we requested again in the morning, and explained if they do not do house keeping today we do not have enough clean towel to use. In the afternoon still not done, we requested again and finally it’s done. We were told they were too busy. House keeping will not be provided if not requested. When requested, it’s on a wait list, they do checked out rooms first, and if have time will do the request ones. We end up having only one house keeping work in 6 days we stayed there.
2. No coffee/tea bag refills. No clean towel refill. We had to request at the front desk so they will give them to you from behind the counter.
3. Room needs maintenance: in our room, the headlight above the bed does not work, the toilet leaks, and bathtub basin moves when stand on it. It wobbles when you stand on it and is dangerous to keep yourself balanced and not slip when taking a shower on a wobbled bathtub base.
4. We request repair of toilet and light on the 2nd day. They respond to us later stating it’s fixed. But unfortunately the light still does not work and toilet still leaks.
5. We requested a room change without luck.
6. During our stay they had a sales function and played loud music until 10:00pm at night. Very loud. Not reasonable.
7. The hotel has a smell to it. Not sure what it is.
8. Staff is friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caton D asked a question Dec 2017
Barre, Vermont
What's the check in age limit?
Answer from Expérience Client
1 helpful vote
Hi, to book a room, you must be over 18 and you will need a credit card. Thank you and have a great day!
Answer from TommyBernier1
Quebec City, Canada2 contributions
Bonjour, il y a tout ce qu'il faut pour cuisiner, chaudron, poêlon, ustensiles et couverts ainsi que le nécessaire à vaisselle. Tommy, de l'Hôtel Universel Québec
Grnevieve asked a question Oct 2015
Is it pet friendly?
Answer from TommyBernier1
Quebec City, Canada2 contributions
Thank you for your interest in our establishment! Unfortunately, we do not accept pets at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience. Do not hesitate, if you have other questions!
Answer from Tommy B
Quebec City, Canada11 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi, Sorry for the delay. The bus ride to the Old City is about 15 minutes. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel. You have to take the bus number 7. Many more options are also available, such as the bus number 800 and the bus number 801. For further information, do not hesitate to call! Have a nice day, Tommy
Answer from TommyBernier1
Quebec City, Canada2 contributions
Thank you for your interest in our establishment! We cannot wait to welcome you! For your question, as the other person mentioned, there is a bus stop across the street to get to Old Quebec. The bus number is 7 and it runs about every 10 minutes. It takes approximately 20 minutes to get to the Old Town by bus. There are taxis that are available as well. It would probably take less time by taxi, since it does not stop along the way. By car, it is about 10 minutes to get there. We would suggest that you check the RTC website to have all details about buses in the city. We hope that this answers well your questions! Best regards, Hotel Universel Management
Rose C wrote a tip Sep 2023
Melbourne, Australia94 contributions56 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"We heard one room has a jacuzzi…"
Read full review
Natacha D wrote a tip Mar 2023
Saint Georges, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel at all costs"
Read full review
P6855LPjohng wrote a tip May 2022
Toronto3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here"
Read full review
Joralex wrote a tip Oct 2021
Ontario,30 contributions52 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a different hotel."
Read full review
John C wrote a tip Aug 2021
Ottawa, Canada5 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No way, stay away!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Quebec City area.
PRICE RANGE
C$103 - C$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Universel Quebec - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Universel Quebec
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Universel Quebec?
Nearby attractions include Salle Albert Rousseau (0.5 km), Le Pub universitaire (1.1 km), and Laser Game Evolution Sainte-Foy (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Universel Quebec?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Universel Quebec?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Universel Quebec?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Universel Quebec?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Cedre Restaurant Libanais, Restaurant Momento, and Chez Victor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Universel Quebec?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Universel Quebec offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Universel Quebec?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Universel Quebec?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Morrin Centre (5.9 km), Fortifications of Quebec National Historic Site (5.7 km), and Plains of Abraham (5.5 km).
Is Hotel Universel Quebec accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Quebec City HotelsQuebec City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Quebec CityHotels near Hotel Universel Quebec
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars