We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Universel Quebec

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Universel Quebec
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universel Quebec
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Ottawa
Reviewed 8 June 2013

From the outside it looks like a small motel, but it is larger than it appears. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area. I was worried about noise, but they seem to enforce an 11 pm curfew. The room was larger than usual. There was a bath and a shower that were nice. The work desk...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DavidFromOttawa
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are happy to find out you found your room enjoyable and quiet. Our rooms with a balcony are indeed quite large and are usually very appreciated. We do apologize about your housekeeping problem. We hope you let our front desk personnel know about it so they could fix...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 4 June 2013

It would be easy to criticize Universel - its design is so 1960, looking more like a drive-in motel so common along America's interstates. It's too far away - sure, it's along Chemin St. Foy, which leads all the way directly to the Quebec city center but you couldn't possibly walk it, even in an hour. So you're forced to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JGR001
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. Your comments about our location are true ; we are indeed away from downtown Québec City, but bus 7, which runs right in front of the hotel every 15 minutes, can take you there within 20 minutes. It is true, also, that the nearby «pyramid» (Centre Innovation) has many services,...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at this Hotel in March 2013. The price at $116 for 2 queens was very reasonable. Very clean, spacious and well- maintained. Fluffy white towels and nice toiletries in the bathroom as well. The pool and sauna area is a great place to relax and the restaurant in the hotel serves excellent meals. We would definitely stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan665
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for this great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have the highest regards for our guests's opinion, and your comments about your room and the pool and spa are very appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is having an identity crisis. Parts of it were very well-maintained and modern, but other parts were less so. The lobby and atrium are as well-maintained as the website shows, but the overall hotel was not. My bathroom had clearly been recently renovated and I had a flat-screen TV, but the paint on the back of the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trigeekgirl236
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, First, thank you for writing this review about your stay. We appreciate your comments. We have been making renovations in the past years in the hotel, and will continue to do so. We take note of your comments about your room and about our front desk personnel. Again, thank you, and please contact us if there is anything...

Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Quite a shabby unkept place. First time I've ever posted pictures because it is disrespectful to keep a place like that for tourists. Owner has no respect, or no money. Very close to a university, the whole neighbourhood felt run down. Had to drive far out to find great food. A woman just before I checked asked for a refund,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farida D
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectation. We wish you had let us know about your problems during your stay so we could have worked something out. However, we take note of your comments about your room. We do want to offer our guests...

Ottawa
Reviewed 9 April 2013

First impression was not great. Neon sign had the"H" burned out, paint on the sign on the wall was peeling off. Seemed like a hotel in need of some upkeep. We were given a room that didn't match our reservation. We had reserved a king room with pull out couch. Received a room with two queen beds. Getting to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are sorry to hear that there was a mistake with your room at first, however we are glad you contacted us, let us know and found your new room more to your liking. Le Greco restaurant is indeed closed, and now we serve only breakfast to our guests. Parts of our...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 8 April 2013

At first glance, the Universel looks like an out-dated hotel/motel from the 50's. However, it has been up-graded inside, and while the paint is a little chipped and the doors scuffed, the rooms are comfortable. Beds are new and bathrooms up-dated recently. The pool area was better than I expected, with a hot tub and a couple of saunas in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skisoccertrampdad
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are happy to find out that you appreciated your room ; we try and keep our rooms as updated and as modern as possible, as you noticed. We are also glad you could enjoy our atrium, with its indoor pool and spa, and that you found our location...

Sept Iles, Canada
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I came to the Hôtel Universel 3 times before and was satisfied with the service received, although I though the last time it was a bit of a run down. This time, I got a room where the keys weren't working. I had to go down to the reception twice with all my luggage to change the key. The woman...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EliiMaud
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for writing this review, we appreciate it. We are glad you were satisfied with your room. We are sorry you could not enjoy our spa and pool as much as you would have liked to. Our atrium is indeed open to all our guests, including children, which makes its atmosphere different depending on who is currently using...

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice in the past 6 months and will return soon. It's a great location, rooms are very confortable and we love the pool/spa area, kids loved playing in the cold water spa. we also enjoyed the restaurant that can be accessed from the hotel , makes it very interesting when it's a blizzard outside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MomyontheGo
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Bonjour, Thank you very much for taking time to write this comment. We are very happy to know that your stay at Hôtel Universel met your expectations and that your family was able to enjoy our pool and spa. It is true that in the winter - especially these days in Québec City! - our restaurant, pool and spa are...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 November 2012

It is kitschy and poorly located (except if you are visiting Laval). Love the coloured light 70s piece in the front lobby. Rooms are more of a Motel type feel. Kids toys were lost in the shag carpet in our room. The price is low. For a single night in Quebec City where you will not be spending much time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SugarSammy
HotelUniversel, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We are indeed located right near Université Laval, where many sports competitions take place, which makes us the perfect hotel for sports lovers. As far as access to downtown Québec City, it is a ten-minute drive or a twenty-minute bus ride : very easy. And you know what they say : kitsch...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#79 of 104 in Quebec City
445 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#87 of 104 in Quebec City
101 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Sepia
Hotel Sepia
#28 of 104 in Quebec City
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 104 in Quebec City
574 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#50 of 104 in Quebec City
262 reviews
3.2 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#92 of 104 in Quebec City
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $73 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Universel Quebec staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for newer rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles liquid_gumbi, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book ahead”
 of 5 bubbles Bob_C44, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good Wi-Fi, great pool area, cable TV”
 of 5 bubbles Tomsteffek, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“apparently pay full price and don't look for deals otherwise expect to get horrible rooms”
 of 5 bubbles stastin, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book directly with hotel if you want a better room location.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay