We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
17 Ave Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A8 Canada
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$191
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$256
TravelocityUS$256
PricelineUS$191
Trip.comUS$232
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (96)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (142)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#23 of 105 hotels in Quebec City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Le Chateau de Pierre, an intimate hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec, is distinguished by its English-Colonial charm. Each room offers quality, comfort and good taste. Some have a view of the St Lawrence, others, adjoining balconies overlooking the garden. The hotel is located in one of the most picturesque areas of Old Quebec, set back from the Citadelle and close to the Chateau Frontenac, boutiques, historic sites and the winter carnival activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Dishwasher
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French
475Reviews8Q+A96Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 254
  • 177
  • 34
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Yhelen wrote a review Aug. 1
Wigan, United Kingdom152 contributions78 helpful votes
I was a little worried about virtual reception but the whole experience was seamless and I can’t fault the standard of care taken to ensure we had a pleasant stay The room was small but well appointed with a comfortable bed and very powerful shower Included breakfast at La Buche was excellent also Location very convenient for walking round Quebec too Would certainly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you very much for the amaxing review! We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Lynn B wrote a review Jul. 2022
3 contributions
I had booked this hotel but was not able to stay due to no elevators which I overlooked when I booked. It is in the heart of Old Québec and very well situated. Steffany called and offered to help us by getting a room on the main floor. Unfortunately, we had already continued on our trip. I give a 5 star because they actually took the time to try and accommodate us further. The 5 star also goes out for Customer service which is very important. I would certainly recommend this château. Lynn
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you Lynn, we look forward to meeting you soon! Steffany
Read more
C296 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Linthicum Heights, Maryland14 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
This very charming hotel made our stay in Old Quebec a very memorable one. I liked everything about it. The check in/check out process was all done thru email, text or phone call but it was very efficient. Jade guided me every step of the way and never failed to answer all of my questions. She even sent the maintenance right away when i told her about the front door issue. Gold star for her! I booked the family room on the ground floor, which was actually on the lower floor, right next to the kitchen which i liked for convenience. The room decor was really nice, fitting for the old world vibe of the entire place. The room seemed like it was newly renovated, the bathroom was modern and there were plenty of toiletries available for use. The location was the best. Its in the middle of all the sightseeing, restaurants and cafes. Its like 2 mins from the Chateau de Frontenac and the boardwalk. We also went to La Buche for breakfast, which i believe was included if booked directly with them. I booked thru Expedia so i didnt get the package. But the food and the experience at La Buche was also top notch. Food was good and the people were all really nice. There was no on site parking, we parked at the city hall and paid about $38 for three nights. Over all, it was a very good experience and I will definitely come back to this hotel when I visit Old Quebec again hopefully for Christmas (I heard that during Christmas time, the whole place is decorated and becomes really picturesque) and i would like to see that. Thank you Le Chateau de Pierre!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Park early to get the closer parking but the city hall parking is the cheapest.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind words! We are glad we were able to give you the full historical experience with a tough of modernity. We will be waiting for your call for your winter visit :)
Read more
Jansedona wrote a review Jun. 2022
VT3 contributions
We have been staying at Chateau de St. Pierre since our honeymoon in 1980, and arrived for this visit 42 years later to the day! Also have returned here many times in between- at least 6 different stays in various rooms. Always a pleasure! We were assigned to our original zoom from way back then - #14 just by chance of requesting a king deluxe. It looked almost the same as back then- immaculate, cozy, old timey elegant feel, view of park and Chateau Frontenac with a minute walk to the St Lawrence River, but with updated bathroom, TV's and electric fire place! They give you simple info in advance of Contactless check-in and out with touch pad doors, but with easy communication if one needs something. Use of kitchen in lower level is a bonus. We booked direct and got the deal that included breakfast at La Buche (5 minute walk) and enjoyed our breakfast there each morning. Location is perfect and central for walking to all of the historic walled city and beyond. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Follow their advice for parking lots (you pay) and use which ever one is closest. Get main floor...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Jun. 28, 2022
Thank you for the amazing review! We were honored to have to chance to welcome you again for that very special occasion. We are glad you have enoye it once more after so many years. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
Ball D wrote a review Jun. 2022
St. Catharines, Canada37 contributions13 helpful votes
Comfortable, clean , if smallish room. Lovely character building but no elevator which wasn’t a problem for us on the 2nd floor. Had some issues with tv reception & agent (Sandrene?) was over in minutes to happily take care of it. A bit noisy - we had tap dancers (or wrestlers) above us, but not really the fault of the hotel. Fantastic location, close to Dufferin Terrace and Chateau Frontenac. Offsite parking an extra cost, but only a block away. We got what was advertised so no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Jun. 14, 2022
Thank you very much for the nice review! We have established a self-check-in process to allow our guests to have more autonomy and flexibility but your comfort and satisfaction are our main priorities and we always go above and beyond when needed. We would've taken care of the noise situation in minutes if we had known. We hope you will come back to our beautifull city soon!
Read more
TD Henry wrote a review Jun. 2022
Apple Valley, California214 contributions63 helpful votes
I had a fantastic stay in Quebec City and the Chateau de Pierre was a definite plus as it is right in the heart of the Old City next to the Chateau Frontenac and the Terrasse Dufferin. The room was comfortable. I stayed in a queen suite which was ample space for a single traveler like myself. Self check-in and check-out but help was available via text.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Jun. 14, 2022
Hello, I am happy to see that you have enjoyed our location that cannot be beat and our efficient self-check-in process. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
buttercup1211 wrote a review May 2022
Winnipeg, Canada1605 contributions400 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel for a week while in Quebec City. We booked it because it was reasonably priced and it was one of the few with kitchen amenities. I will start with the things I liked about the hotel. The checkin and checkout process was very easy. They will send you a couple of codes to get into the front door and your room a few days before checkin. I really liked not having to worry about room keys. The location cannot be beat. It is only a minute away from the boardwalk. All the sites are within walking distance but it’s far enough from the busier areas that it’s nice and quiet on the street. All you will hear is the occasional horse or car that drives by. The kitchen in the basement was super helpful for toasting bread, boiling water, and it was nice that dirty dishes didn’t have to accumulate in our room. They also had an oven to cook things but we didn’t use it, after all, we were on vacation! We were very lucky to get a room on the main floor so no stairs for us! There is a small fridge and a nespresso machine in the room. I really liked the shower and I liked that there are extra supplies in the basement if you needed extra towels or whatnot. The things that I didn’t like about the hotel which might be a dealbreaker for some, is that the walls are super thin. I know that this is probably to be expected for older buildings but I have stayed in older buildings in Europe and it wasn’t like this. You could hear the other rooms’ tv, conversations, showers, footsteps. While being on the bottom floor was nice to not have do stairs (no elevator in the building), perhaps an upper floor room would have alleviated this issue. The front door definitely needs a door stopper because everytime someone would go out, the door would slam and not only can we hear it, it shook the walls of our room. It was fine during the day whilst just hanging out, but it was annoying at night. There were no outlets near the bed and we had to unplug some of the other things to just have enough outlets for devices. I think there needs to be an upgrade done to accommodate for modern devices. When we booked in Expedia, it says that there was a water dispenser, and while that is true (it’s a water dispenser as part of the big fridge downstairs), the filter indicator was on the entire week we were there and was not replaced. Expedia also said daily housekeeping but that isn’t true, however most items you need are downstairs and you can easily text for more coffee pods. There was no air conditioning and it could get hot and stuffy in the room. The bed and pillows weren’t the comfiest I have had. And lastly, we requested for an extra hour to do a late checkout because of our flight time and they charged $20 for it ($30 if you wanted an hour and a half). They texted a reminder at 9am about check out and someone was knocking at our door to remind us again at 10:45am that check out was at 11. However, they do allow for baggage storage. All in all, it is a good hotel for a shorter stay and you will just be out and about and just need a place to sleep. It is definitely one of the more reasonably priced ones for the location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Jun. 2, 2022
Hello Grace, I am happy to see that you have enjoyed our location that cannot be beat and our efficient self-check-in process. Given that we are a historic building, it has to be considered that the insulation will not be as good as newly built hotels. I'm sorry to see it had such an impact on your stay. Our hotel does have air conditioning that is installed in every room starting in June. We've experienced very unusual heat waves in the last weeks during the day accompanied by very cold temperatures at night. Therefore, we chose not to install the AC's to prevent our guests from being cold at night. We did have multiple fans and portable air conditioning that were available for use. We are available at all times and it would've been our pleasure to assist on that matter. I am shocked to read that you were disturbed considering that you had paid extra for a late check-in. It is definetly not the service we want to offer our guests and I will make sure to let the housekeeping staff know. We do send a text message before check-out but it is simply meant to be a reminder for the check-out procedure. All things considered, I am glad that you have enjoyed our beautiful city and very much hope to see you again in the future. Steffany
Read more
Grace B wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Traveled to Quebec with my parents and partner. We booked 2 rooms here.The hotel was advertised as having air conditioning and daily housekeeping. We arrived and neither room had air conditioning in outdoor tempertaures exceeding 30 degrees. We were expecting daily housekeeping as the hotel advertised, but did not get any housekeeping and was not provided with enough towels, cups, coffee pods for the duration of our stay. We contacted the owner for new supplies who was quite dismissive. Additionally, our room was VERY noisy. From the second floor, we could hear everyone entering the building, walking up the stairs, and talking in their rooms. If you are looking for a place falsely advertised and you like to lay awake in bed all night listening to your neighbours in extreme heat, this would be the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Jun. 2, 2022
Hello Grace, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel does have air conditioning that is installed in every room starting in June. We've experienced very unusual heat waves in the last week during the day accompanied by very cold temperatures at night. Therefore, we chose not to install the ACs to prevent our guests from being cold at night. We did have multiple fans and portable air conditioning that were available for use. We are available at all times and it would've been our pleasure to assist on that matter. Our housekeeping services are on demand and it is indicated in the room as well and on your Guest Portal that the sign has to be put on the door in order to get your room serviced. That being said, you also could've reached out by text message for any demand. Given that we are a historic building, it has to be considered that the insulation will not be as good as newly built hotels. All things considered, I'm sorry to see that all these factors had such a big impact on your stay. Being a very small hotel, 1 star reviews considerably affect us and we want to make it up to you and hopefully restore your faith in our team and establishment. Please call us so we can discuss, 418-694-0429.
Read more
PEIroadster wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
We booked chateau de Pierre because of the great reviews on trip advisor, however the temperature in Quebec was 31 degrees & room had no air conditioning, when I texted the contact we had (because it’s a virtual reception & NO housecleaning unless you stay more than 2nights!!) They came with a fan (useless in this temperature) hotel advertisements says air conditioning, they should have alerted us that there was none-we would have changed hotels!! As we could see forecast a week prior to our visit! Worst night sleep because of heat/thirst, & someone above us was pacing the floor !!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steffany Holton, Guest Services / Front Office at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Jun. 2, 2022
Hello, I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our hotel does have air conditioning that is installed in every room starting in June. We've experienced very unusual heat waves in the last week during the day accompanied by very cold temperatures at night. Therefore, we chose not to install the ACs to prevent our guests from being cold at night. We do work with a self-check-in process and do not have a reception on site but we are available at all times, day and night. We are dedicated to your comfort and satisfcation and often go above and beyong to help. Our housekeeping services are on demand. It is indicated in the room as well as on your Guest Portal that the sign has to be put on the door in order to get your room serviced. That being said, you also could've reached out by text message or by phone for any demand. Given that we are a historic building, it has to be considered that the insulation will not be as good as newly built hotels. All things considered, I'm sorry to see that all these factors had such a big impact on your stay. Being a very small hotel, 1 star reviews considerably affect us and we want to make it up to you and hopefully restore your faith in our team and establishment. Please call us so we can discuss, 418-694-0429.
Read more
LifeIsGood2019 wrote a review Dec. 2021
2 contributions
Would definitely come again! The location was perfect! Inside Old Quebec, 2 blocks away from Chateau Frontenac and Quartier Petit Champlain, just outside of the noisiest/busiest parts. The rooms and common areas inside of the building are absolutely beautiful, like stepping 200 years back in time. Free breakfast at La Bûche was great, though it does book up so reserve in advance!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Coralie Toussaint, Services aux clients/réception at Le Chateau de Pierre
Responded Dec. 21, 2021
Amazing review thank you very much ! We ae so happy to read that you enjoyed your sty with us. Hope to see you again real soon !
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$163 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le chateau de pierre hotel quebec city
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Chateau de Pierre
Which popular attractions are close to Le Chateau de Pierre?
Nearby attractions include Old Quebec (0.3 km), Quartier Petit Champlain (0.2 km), and Upper Town (Haute-Ville) (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Le Chateau de Pierre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Le Chateau de Pierre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Le Chateau de Pierre?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Chateau de Pierre?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Chateau de Pierre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taniere, Le Continental, and Bistro Sous le Fort.
Is Le Chateau de Pierre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Quebec City.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Le Chateau de Pierre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Le Chateau de Pierre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Morrin Centre (0.4 km), Fortifications of Quebec National Historic Site (0.7 km), and Plains of Abraham (0.6 km).