We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec

Save
Share
19, rue Ste Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E1 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-02
Expedia.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-03
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 22-12-03
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$58
PricelineUS$61
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (140)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (217)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 61 Specialty lodging in Quebec City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The staff at the Auberge internationale de Québec are always ready to welcome all travelers, alone or in groups. Come and enjoy an unforgettable experience in the beautiful Quebec City region. We are in a great location, nestled inside the walls in the center of the old city. You will be steps away from popular cultural, historical and tourist sites. Our hostel offers lots of services to make your trip simple and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
520Reviews12Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 240
  • 63
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lucy wrote a review Sep. 2021
Banff, Canada4 contributions
I am delighted to have chosen HI Quebec for my stay. Good chats, free coffee, great walking tour of the city, clean room/bathrooms, and some wonderful friendships made. The building itself is huge and really cool and has a theatre of all things! Extra special shoutout to my fellow ex-Surreyite Simon (general manager) , one of the kindest people I have ever met, who gave me my very own tour of the city completely free. Loved hearing about your rather eclectic career so far. Don't go letting that violin gather dust - I will be back to check :P Few comments - wifi can be a bit hit + miss in some rooms and the beds are pretty narrow. But maybe I'm just a bit spoilt on the latter..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Jacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Oct. 30, 2021
Hi, sorry for taking so long to reply to you! I am so glad you had a great time staying at the Auberge. I had a lovely time showing you around this city that I love! I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claudio F wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution
I had a very nice room with view to the mountains. Bathroom / showers very clean and new. The staff makes you really feel welcome. Close to all amenities like restaurants, groceries, pubs and of course wonderful Vieux Québec. And so affordable!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Jacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Jul. 9, 2021
Thanks so much for your review. I am glad you had a good time and a great view! Come back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mills_whitehead wrote a review Jan. 2021
20 contributions4 helpful votes
Me and my friend wanted to do a little road trip and needed somewhere cheap to stay in the city, this hostel was excellent- super friendly staff- clean rooms, and dining area to cook food was so handy- felt really communal in the evening! We did the walking tour offered by the hostel which was a great way of experiencing and exploring the city! Location was great as just off the high street and there’s some little food stores just down the road!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Jacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Jul. 9, 2021
Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to hosting you next time you are here!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David N wrote a review Jul. 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
This is my second time at this fantastic hostel. Needless to say, the location was fantastic, being located right in the heart of one of Canada's most beautiful cities. This time, I spent a week here right while the COVID-19 pandemic was happening, and was amazed at the professionalism of the staff and how much effort they put in to ensure that their guests had a great and safe stay. Everything was immaculately clean. All of the social distancing rules were followed, and there was hand sanitizer every where. I was also working remotely during this time, and just wanted to mention that their WI-FI was great, and allowed me to do Zoom/Team calls without a hitch. Thanks so much again to the team for being such fantastic hosts! A bientot :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Jacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Jun. 30, 2021
Thanks so much for your review! Excuse me for taking so long to reply to it though. I hope that you will have the chance to come back soon and see what else we are doing. We have now installed a new touch card door lock system, which is a lot more effective than the magnetic stripe system we had before.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abdallah K wrote a review Jul. 2020
35 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Quebec city! was not supposed to stay here this time since i needed to be back in Montreal, but things changed and i ended up staying 2 nights in the largest hostel of Canada...Great staff (very helpful), excellent facilities and large dorm rooms! also great location in the heart of the old town! they closed some comon facilities due to covid and changed the dorm and bathroom rules as well to be safe for covid (and u get a free packed breakfast)! compares with the best hostels of Europe! 👏👏👏
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Jacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Jun. 30, 2021
Thanks so much for your review! I hope we will see you come back this summer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy W wrote a review Jul. 2020
2 contributions
Stayed here in February/March. Location: it's easy to find from the coach/train station. Well situated to explore the main attractions of the city. Rooms: I stayed in a few dorms here: each was well maintained; very clean. Facilities: laundry, showers, WCs, and communal areas were well looked after and cleaned daily. Staff: honestly from my experience they're the most friendliest, accommodating, conscientious and inclusive team from the senior management to the temporary staff. Activities: lots to see and do around the area. I was there for the Winter Carnival! The hostel arranged activities such as tours, karaoke and an icebar. They were inclusive of everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon Jacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Aug. 2, 2021
Thanks for your review! Do come back again and see how things will continue to change for the better once the pandemic is behind us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim W wrote a review Mar. 2020
1 contribution
Being retired, and having visited and stayed in Hostel International youth hostels world wide, I must say I was very impressed with the Quebec City hostel....friendly staff, very clean and well looked after, secure and right in the heart of Old Quebec.....job well done.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonJacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Mar. 16, 2020
Thank you so much for your review! As you have said, a youth hostel is for the young at heart! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nelson wrote a review Feb. 2020
Heredia, Costa Rica36 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
A gigantic hostel sitting right in the middle of Old Town granting you easy access by foot to most of the tourist spots. I doubt it ever becomes deserted, considering that I was there during winter and people were crawling. They have a lot of common areas that you can fully use before checking in and after checking out and their kitchen is fully equipped, next to a very large dining hall which also has a bar. Watch out for the happy hour and secure your pitcher of IPA before it's over! There were a lot of toilets so this wasn't really a problem but the toilet nearest to my room got busted and, while everywhere else was cleaned everyday, it took more than a day for the cleaning staff to purge what was left behind by the person who last used that toilet.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daniel T wrote a review Jan. 2020
Montreal, Canada1 contribution
So, generally speaking the experience was a very good one. I am a very experienced and well travelled hostel guest and this one is most def. in my top three (out of say 15+ places I've stayed at). Right in the tourist zone, everything was a quick walk away. If someone wants to go to shopping malls, they do need to go to the suburbs for that though. While the café / bar staff were friendly (but lacking a bit in experience) the real jewels were the well organized front desk folks. A-1. I did have a rude bunk-mate, but this happens in all hostels and in no way reflects the awesomeness of the HI-Auberge Québec. The bean bag TV room was so unique (and comfortable) I just have to mention it. If asked to rate this place, I'm gonna give it an 8.5 out of 10.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonJacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Jan. 29, 2020
Thanks so much for your review. I love it when we are called 'awesome'! As you say, the location couldn't be better, close to everything. You mentioned the shopping centres being far, but in fact they are only a 20 minute bus ride away, practically door to door. I do hope that you will have a chance to come back soon and see the improvements we are planning. It should be super awesome!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy D wrote a review Dec. 2019
adelaide6 contributions1 helpful vote
Just spent two nights in this great place in old quebec. We had a private room which was lovely and warm ( very cold outside) and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Location is excellent for sight seeing. Enjoyed the christmas atmosphere and lights in quebec, even the cold weather with a touch of snow. Would recommend Auberge International Quebec hostel to stay in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hi-quebec, auberge internationale de quebec hotel quebec city
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec CityDowntown Quebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Quebec City) - Hostel - Tripadvisor