We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec

Save
Share
19, rue Ste Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E1 Canada
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$55
Hotels.comUS$55
PricelineUS$55
FindHotelUS$55
Orbitz.comUS$55
eDreamsUS$55
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (138)
360
Panoramas (25)
Room & Suite (215)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-06-27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Updated 20-06-27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 59 Speciality lodging in Quebec City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The staff at the Auberge internationale de Québec are always ready to welcome all travelers, alone or in groups. Come and enjoy an unforgettable experience in the beautiful Quebec City region. We are in a great location, nestled inside the walls in the center of the old city. You will be steps away from popular cultural, historical and tourist sites. Our hostel offers lots of services to make your trip simple and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
509Reviews12Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 186
  • 239
  • 62
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
snowbound2U wrote a review Aug. 2019
Regina, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
Clean. Safe. Cheap. Quiet. 5-20 minute walk to shopping, cafes and many attractions. Recommended for those who have good mobility, ( it is located on a steep hill and there are lots of stairs), and don't mind "roughing" it a little bit - think camp or university residence. Nice people and well run. Bring a washcloth and soap for the shower as well as a padlock. Incredible value for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Maria Alejandra C wrote a review Aug. 2019
Concepcion, Chile2 contributions
Staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the rooms have lockers (you need a lock). There are plenty bathrooms and showers, the breakfast was good. The room has fan, but no AC. We didn't close the windows first night and It was quite noisy early (my room was neext to street, but you could close the windows). You can access to the kitchen all day, they have all the facilities. They have activities every day. Also a good point it's that they have a room for storage your backpack if you need. I would definitely stay with them again. Thanks for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonJacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Aug. 14, 2019
Thanks for giving us a review. I am glad you had a great time at the hostel and I hope you were able to get the most out of this increadibly beautiful city! Being located right in the middle of the historic old city is such a plus! Come back again!
Read more
Jinn wrote a review Aug. 2019
2 contributions
The morning walking tour for english was horrible. Go with some other service. The tour to fall is literally bus ride with a 19 years old, with no information about park, history, or bus back. there are other hostels with better guide tour system. I asked have my bed moved to lower bunk because I twisted my ankle (had 3 more night booked). The receptionist said its impossible because there is no bed available and because i didnt use their website to book. They give you such nasty sting about NOT using their website to book. In my room alone (8 bed girls), 3 beds were empty for next 3 nights. The ceiling fan was shaking so bad that we were scared about our safety at night and some of room doors close very VERY loudly, literally will startle you from your sleep. Very clean
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonJacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Aug. 12, 2019
Thank you for your review and letting us know what we can improve on. I am glad you found the bathrooms were kept clean and that you enjoyed our common areas. I am sorry to hear that you twisted your ankle and that we were not able to change your bunk location. I have checked with our system and it shows that all the beds were checked in and paid for during your stay so it is strange that there were three empty beds! Of course we would have moved you if possible (we are at near full capacity at the moment)! All our clients are treated equally, no matter how they have booked with us. We use special fire doors that have to close automatically. We ask clients to be respectful of others by closing the doors rather than letting them slam, although unfortuantely not everyone complies with this request. I am sorry to hear about the magnetic key card you had demagnetising. This can happen, often because a card is kept near a cell phone but not allways. We have bought new cards and replace the old ones when needed. We are now looking into buying a completly new system that will eliminate the problem. Wherever you stay, if you think there is something unsafe in your environment, (i.e. an unstable ceiling fan) I recommend that you immediately tell the reception about so that something can be done right away to fix the problem. I will check on the room you stayed in. I am sorry that you didn't like the free guided walking tour. In Quebec city the municipal government obliges all tours to be undertaken by a trained and licensed tour guide only. The training course is at least 6 months long with exams to pass at the end. We have three guides who regularly offer their services with us and they do not charge anything but appreciate tips. Can you please contact me to let me know with whom you took the tour. If there is a problem with their English it should be pointed out. IF you want a different tour experience there are many companies offering tour guiding services. These can range from free (although you are likely to be in a large group) to $175 for a private personaized tour. Tours Voir are highly recommended The ride to the falls is done using local transportation and with one of our volunteers leading the group to buy their bus tickets and show the way. It is not meant to be a historical tour (although I have asked the volunteers to do some background research) but more a way for clients to get together, navigate the local transportation system and be shown the different paths and routes in the park.
Read more
Nadia M wrote a review Aug. 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom85 contributions41 helpful votes
Room 218 had bunk beds built for children I couldn’t believe it when I seen it. Rooms small and stuffy. Heat at night was unbearable I had to get up several times for a cold shower as I felt so sick. Getting up and down from the top bunk requires acrobatics due to the high bars. However these are necessary as the beds are so small you will fall out. Severe lack of communication from staff on check in, no orientation around the hostel or told about any activities or the area. All staff were nice on other occasions. Room card stops working all the time which is inconvenient as you might nip to the toilet then have no access to your room. Good points are that there is a reading light at the bed as well as power outlets nearby and lockers to keep your things. Fresh clean towel every
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonJacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Aug. 12, 2019
Hello and thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you found the location of the hostel to be really well placed and that other than check-in, the staff were nice. I will speak to the reception about the lack of information they gave you at check-in as they are usually very thorough and helpful. There is a lot of information on the things going on, with suggestions from the team about things to do, see and recommendations for places to eat. These are all displayed in the front lobby. There is also a wall with the different activities we provide for the week with sign-up sheets underneath. When you were here we were having a humid heat-wave so I am sorry to hear that you were badly affected by it. All the rooms have ceiling fans and we also have portable fans in the rooms and on demand. Some of the bunk beds are smaller than others and we are planning on replacing them soon, once we have found a sturdy and comfortable replacement.
Read more
jonaslimbonic wrote a review Aug. 2019
Turku, Finland9 contributions2 helpful votes
Room was clean and good, no problem with that. Staff was friendly 50 / 50, so good and bad experiences in that compartment :/ First dont put notifications on your walls that alcohol is prohibited and that cops will shoot you if you drink your own, or maybe you should inform people before they make bookings!!! we dont have jesus in our butts, sorry. And omg dont ask about those breakfest coupons... like twice, breakfest is worth 2 dollars so take it easy, people who just paid 400 dollars staying in your hotel dont try to steal that ridicilous breakfest. Young german lady was rude in bar and in breakfest and she was worst bartender ever, like how hard is open beercan and serve it? and these people even have a nerve to give some eyeballing to us in next morning and then i have to
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from SimonJacobs, General Manager at Hi Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Responded Aug. 6, 2019
Hello and thank you for leaving a review. I am happy to hear that you found the room to your liking and that it was clean. We have a no-drinking in the room policy at the Auberge to comply with the liquor rules of the province and also because, in the dormitories, you will be sharing with other people. I don't know where you come from but here cops will not shoot you. Quebec is one of the safest cities in North America and you may be hard pressed to even see a police officer when you are here let alone hear a police siren. At the Auberge clients who stay in the regular dormitories do not have breakfast included, but can purchase one for $6 taxes included. All other rooms and smaller dorms have the breakfast included in the price. Clients are issued breakfast tickets on arrival that they are expected to present one each time. This is how we can tell if the clients have paid for breakfast! Also, unlike many other hostels, we do clean the breakfast dishes for you, so it is worrisome to hear that your third cup of coffee was dirty. I will look into this. Regarding tipping in Canada: unlike other places in the world, tipping is not included in the price of the meal. It is normal to leave a 15% tip at the end of the meal. So much so, the government expects that the server will be given a 15% tip and will tax them as if they had been given one! The servers are paid below minimum wage in expectation of recieving said tip. All the same, it is not obligatory to leave a tip, so if you feel that you had really bad service then act accordingly. Just remember, even if you leave nothing, the government will assume you did and the server will be out of pocket. I hope this explains the tipping policy here in Canada.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hi-quebec, auberge internationale de quebec hotel quebec city
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec CityDowntown Quebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing