We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auberge Place D'Armes

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (908)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (657)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 101 hotels in Quebec City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Auberge Place D'Armes, your Quebec City “home away from home.” Auberge Place D'Armes aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. While staying at Auberge Place D Armes Hotel, visitors can check out Basilique Cathedrale - Notre-Dame-de-Quebec (0.1 mi) and Upper Town (Haute-Ville) (0.1 mi), some of Quebec City's top attractions. Rooms at Auberge Place D Armes offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as La Citadelle de Quebec, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (MNBAQ), and Musee des Ursulines de Quebec. Auberge Place D'Armes puts the best of Quebec City at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,345 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Auberge Place D'Armes receives accolades for its distinct blend of historic charm and modern flair, creating a uniquely charming atmosphere that enchants guests. Nestled in the heart of Old Quebec, the hotel's location is frequently celebrated for its easy access to local sights. While the rooms' historical elegance and comfort are well-regarded, some guests have mentioned housekeeping oversights. Visitors appreciate the added value from complimentary breakfast and attentive service, although experiences with additional charges and occasional service lapses are noted.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
2345Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,803
  • 439
  • 79
  • 15
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ScotianTripper wrote a review Feb 2024
Halifax, Canada65 contributions
I have struggled with this review. I first stayed at the Auberge probably 15 years ago, and this was my 6th or 7th visit; it has been my go-to in Quebec City, and I was last there in 2022. It appears that the ownership has changed; that is understandable, as people do retire. But the feel is very different, and it lacks the attention to detail it once had. It felt ... shabby. Not quirky, not charming, not reflecting its long history: just shabby. We were in the smallest room on the 3rd floor. The room carpet was ripped and stained, with a badly sewn patch. The shower control had a chunk broken off on one side, and neither the side sprays nor the readout panel were working (it is one of the Euro-style ones that North Americans find either fun or intimidating.) The hallways felt grimy and in need of a good paint refresh. The 3rd floor hall and stairwell carpet was in particularly bad shape; the second floor looked like it had at least been cleaned in living memory. The steps at the bottom of the stairs up from the lobby were downright dirty. (Sure, it's winter. Boots. Salt. Muck. But badly worn and permanent old stains are a different matter.) The staff were pleasant, but apparently were working at several other inns (presumably a chain that has been buying some of the independents?), and seemed a bit harried. It was my first time in all these years and visits that coming back to our room wasn't a highlight of our stay. On the upside: the bed was comfortable, the room was cosy, and the linens were clean.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Anyone with mobility problems should not stay here. It is in a 300+year old building, with no...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Mathers, Propriétaire at Auberge Place D'Armes
Responded yesterday
Bonjour ScotianTripper, First of all, thank you very much for being a loyal guest at Auberge Place d'Armes! We are extremely pleased to learn that we are your preferred hotel in Quebec City, and we sincerely hope it remains so. Ownership has indeed changed in the past few months, and we are very concerned if there has been any noticeable difference, as that is not our intention. We also apologize if the room you stayed in felt like it needed a bit more attention. Improvements have already been made to certain areas of the hotel, and more are planned in the upcoming months. Please know that all of your comments and feedback are very important to us, especially as new owners, as we aim to maintain the wonderful reputation established by the previous owners. Do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to share anything else with us! Sincerely, Jonathan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FromBuffalo wrote a review Feb 2024
Buffalo, New York130 contributions
We spent a couple of nights during the carnival so the rate was certainly not at a budget level. It was actually fairly pricey. Perhaps having paid well above a budget rate we expected above budget level service and amenities. On the plus side the desk staff was very pleasant - when they were there - as it seemed they had to staff another location. Our room was very clean - but it was not tidied up nor was the coffee maker replenished after our first morning. The toilet was barely attached to the floor. The toilet paper holder was laying on the floor when we arrived. The desk in the room was in such condition that we were reluctant to put anything on it for fear it would collapse. God only knows what the room phone was connected to. Wifi was pretty much non-existent in our third floor room. In 2024? We've been to QC twice before and stayed at the Chateau. For this trip we thought to stay somewhere smaller and more personal. This hotel was certainly smaller, but maintenance and service was sub par. The location and the convenience it offered was great, but it was not a good hotel value. All in all we were disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan Mathers, Propriétaire at Auberge Place D'Armes
Responded yesterday
Bonjour, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding our property. As hospitality professionals, we always strive for full guest satisfaction, so we take your feedback very seriously. We will definitely follow up with housekeeping regarding the incidents during your stay. We did experience Wi-Fi problems a few weeks ago, but everything has since been upgraded and is now up-to-date. As an "Auberge" in the heart of Quebec City, our goal is to provide guests with a personal and intimate stay, so I apologize if this was not the case. Before your next trip to Quebec City, please do not hesitate to contact us, and we will ensure that you experience the true Auberge Place d'Armes hospitality. Thank you very much, Jonathan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
Seow Ting L wrote a review Dec 2023
Richmond Hill, Canada2 contributions
This is such a hidden gem in the heart of downtown Quebec City. The location was perfect just across the street from chateau frontiac hotel but half the price less. The staffs were amazing , had a small issue with the sink running water on the first day of check in and they upgraded me to a fantastic suite. Only thing that can be improved is too bad they don’t have a 24 hour service front desk, I was actually locked out of my room accidentally in the middle of the night once and don’t have my phone and key card but the front desk staffs were amazing after calling them they quickly made their way down in the middle of the night and help me to open my door. During my whole stay , they were extremely accommodating to me and my dog and also went to the extremes of carrying my very heavy luggage 3 flight of steps up and down even though they don’t have a bellboy . The rooms were also unique and beautifully decorated , very vintage and preserved and they were spacious and clean. Everything was wonderful and i definitely recommend this hotel will definitely come back again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alyssq r wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
This hotel is such a great stay. We were helped by Maude the entire stay who gave us so many recommendations which made our trip so memorable. She also let us to a late check out which was so sweet of her. The rooms were clean and cozy. The. Espresso was a great touch. The washroom was spacious and the water was nice and hot. The view of the chateau was spectacular. The hotel is right in the heart of old town. I recommend this stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amy L wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions
We love the comfortable, beautiful rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and perfect location on Rue de St Anne I’m Old Quebec. The hotel is a lovely blend of historic architecture - amazing stone walls in the rooms - and cute modern decor. We just finished our second stay and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Because this is on the stretch of Rue de St Anne that is restricted to pedestrians you park...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pacificogirl wrote a review Oct 2023
Ladner, Canada303 contributions
Fabulous location near Chateau Frontenac. Charming interior although mattress was very firm and we found the room a bit too warm. There is air conditioning but it didn’t seem to cool the room adequately. The firmness of the bed was improved by adding three layers of folded quilts. We can’t say enough about the amazing staff at this establishment. Maude was incredibly accommodating and couldn’t do enough to see to our every request. We overheard her offering to carry large suitcases up three flights of stairs for other guests. I suspect the other staff are just as generous but our interactions were almost entirely with Maude. Stairs were not a problem for us - we were on the second floor and travelling with carryon luggage only. Currently the adjoining restaurant is undergoing a management change so it was not available for our included breakfast. However, we were offered breakfast coupons for La Bouche which was enjoyable but really required going early or making reservations which were not always available as this restaurant is very popular and busy. All in all, I would stay again if the mattress were softer!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MEM777777 wrote a review Oct 2023
Lake Wylie, South Carolina6 contributions
So happy I found this hotel! The room had so much character and warmth instead of a boring cookie cutter hotel chain. The location was close to everything we wanted to walk to. The staff were so friendly and helpful and always had a smile! Only downside was the restaurant was closed but there were plenty other options nearby. Parking was tricky with all the road closures that day we arrived but Maude went out of her way to help. I would definitely stay here again as well as recommend to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JeannineBC wrote a review Oct 2023
Summerland, Canada518 contributions
I love this hotel. This is our second trip to Quebec and the second time we are staying here and neither disappoints. From the friendly and helpful staff to the thoughtfully laid out, comfortable and clean rooms. There is not a lift be warned, however I still recommend a room on the higher floor to get some distance from the street hustle & bustle. Tip: if you book direct, breakfast is included! Well worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book direct to have breakfast included & rooms on the higher floor are quieter/ further from...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Karen T wrote a review Oct 2023
Chicago, Illinois4 contributions
We stayed 3 nights after getting a recommendation from a family member that stayed in May 2023. The small hotel was perfect for our needs, in that it was SO close and walkable to the Chateau, great restaurants, and the St. Lawrence river. It was great also having a restaurant attached so we could quickly grab breakfast. The best part though was meeting Maude, who provided wonderful service! She answered our questions, made recommendations including directions, and always had a smile on her face. She even gave my Mom some chocolates for her birthday. It made staying at a hotel, more like being at home!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Frances G wrote a review Oct 2023
Coquitlam, Canada13 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was fantastic as was the location. The only thing was the parking was difficult to locate mainly due to all the road construction and detours in the area, not the hotel’s fault
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Quebec City area.
PRICE RANGE
C$155 - C$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auberge place d`armes hotel quebec city
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec CityDowntown Quebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Auberge Place D'Armes - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Quebec/Quebec City) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Auberge Place D'Armes
Which popular attractions are close to Auberge Place D'Armes?
Nearby attractions include Old Quebec (0.1 km), Quartier Petit Champlain (0.3 km), and Upper Town (Haute-Ville) (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Auberge Place D'Armes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Auberge Place D'Armes?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auberge Place D'Armes?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auberge Place D'Armes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taniere, Chez Rioux & Pettigrew, and Beclub Bistro Bar.
Is Auberge Place D'Armes located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Quebec City.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auberge Place D'Armes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Auberge Place D'Armes?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Morrin Centre (0.3 km), Fortifications of Quebec National Historic Site (0.6 km), and Plains of Abraham (0.8 km).