HI Regina

HI Regina

2310 McIntyre St, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 2S2 Canada
other beds in my dorm room
Traveller (10)
Private double room
Room & Suite (15)
Küche
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

2.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Regina
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Peaceful downtown location just 10 mins off the Transcanada beside the beautiful Wascana Park & the Royal Saskatchewan Museum. Hostel is within walking distance of Mosaic stadium & close to numerous pubs & eateries. Free wifi, free luggage storage, full guest kitchen, lounge room with TV.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

2310 McIntyre St, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 2S2 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Regina Airport
34Reviews2Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 8
  • 8
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PGtraveller wrote a review Jun 2015
Prince George, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After all the bad reviews, I was a little worried about staying at this hostel. But there isn't any other choices for budget accommodation in Regina.

I booked for four nights. As I was flying out of where I lived, my flight was cancelled due to mechanical problems. I emailed the hostel to let them know I wasn't coming. They thanked me for letting them know and then they surprised me by telling me they wouldn't charge for that night as the reason I wasn't coming was beyond my control, Wow! That impressed me! I didn't ask them about doing that, just assumed I'd be charged.

Then, I ended up with a bike from a friend in Regina, so I asked them if they had a place for it. They said they could store it in the shed. Another plus!

The Dorms and the beds were clean. As it's an old house, it does have a bit of an old smell to it, especially the washrooms.

The main con to the hostel, as mentioned before, is the showers. They are in terrible shape, like something I'd find in a third world country, but there was hot water.

The only other problem was that they have limited check in times due to having only a few employees. As Regina isn't the most touristy place, I can understand that. The one employee on the last day came in an hour later then when they are supposed to open. Someone was waiting to check in with her bike and gear. I needed to get my bike out of the shed. After contacting owner, I got it out when the employee arrived.d

Other then that, it was a great place to stay, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It doesn't quite have the atmosphere of other hostels, but again, I think it is partially due that Regina isn't a big tourist draw.

I'd stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debeelyn wrote a review Jul 2014
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location. Clean up, vacuum, shampoo carpet or better yet remove them, put some mattress covers and pillow covers on, cotton washable blankets, (woollen ones have hair on them!!). Early morning knocking on door. Felt safer in NYC! A heritage building in a heritage location, show some respect and clean it up. Scrape, sweep and paint the front stairs!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina
Responded Mar 17, 2017
Hi There, I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Hostelling International Regina, myself, Victor Castro and Heather Parkin, new management team since 2017, are working on giving a great customer service to our guests, to make improvements in the building and for sure to have the hostel clean at all time. Once again really sorry for the bad experience that you had with us in the past, I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future, and thanks a lot for your feedback. Victor - Hi Regina Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
linds4516 wrote a review Apr 2012
Melbourne, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at 9am on a snowy morning and were allowed to check in right away. We had booked a two-bed dorm which was small but comfortable, with a bunk bed, desk and shelf-space. It was right across the corridor from reception (so right next to the front door).

There are renovations happening here. They're sporadic and appear to be done by the Executive Director, an older man who is a nice guy. There is no library as advertised on their web site: this room is now reception. One large room on the ground floor has been turned into a meeting room.

The showers are in the basement, as is tthe kitchen, dining area, TV area and laundry. All of these are in good condition.

The house dates from 1907 and is made of wood, therefore there's plenty of creaking. It's impossible for anyone to move around the building without their location being pinpointed.

Another reviewer mentioned "strange older men" and "halfway house". This is no longer the case. David, the (apparently) recently appointed Exec, talked to me about "educating the community that this hostel is for travellers, not a halfway house as some people seem to think".

That said, there are a couple of guys who seem to be there on a semi-permanent basis but they're OK, not weird at all.

The office is staffed ten hours each day, from 8am to 1pm and from 5pm to 10pm. We reserved by email and the reply stressed this very clearly. There is also a notice on the front door. I often heard staff give this information to people making phone bookings.

Staff themselves were friendly. One young lady told me a great deal about Banff and another about Victoria, British Columbia from where I'm writing this review.

We have been travelling from Halifax, Nova Scotia to BC, so stayed one week in Winnipeg and 16 days in Regina, as we didn't want to travel during the Easter break. We would never have stayed so long if we had felt threatened in any way.

There's nothing scary about this hostel. It's cheap, clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Private rooms are available. Grab 'em if you can.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina
Responded Mar 17, 2017
Hello Linds4516, Thank you so much for your review! At the time our library had moved and is now our front desk area, however I hope that didn't deter you from reading our many travel guides and National Geographic collection. We also now have a bookshelf in the main hallway with works of fiction for everybody to enjoy. We did have a nasty reputation for hosting unsavory guests, but that is all in the past. We have improved our security and are striving for a better future for this hostel. We appreciate your honest and just review. We hope to see you again in the future to show you how much we have grown. Cheers, Heather Parkin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venture66268868725 wrote a review Jun 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very safe hostel and breakfast was amazing to start the day. Hostel was clean and even though it was shared bathrooms I never had to wait too long to go as there were options on other floors. Second floor had a great lounge area and wifi worked well too. I did the free walking tour with was a great way to start my stay in Chicago.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I stayed in the 10 bed hostel, yet it was never full for any of the 4 nights I was there
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roxy4444 wrote a review Jul 2014
Pelly
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A family member was in hospital. No place to stay. Didn't know city so we thought this was our only option. As we walked up to settle for the night someone was trying to break in. They obviously didn't have a key or code. We felt so uncomfortable we got back in our vehicle,went back to hospital and was told about wascana rehabilitation center hostel. They were god sent. Returned the next morning and explained our situation and we're told we could not get our money back. I urge people not to stay here. Very unpredictable. No security. People coming and going. Bathrooms and showers downstairs with no doors on showers. Please people. Do not waste your money. Go to wascana rehab hostel. They are cheaper,have security and make you feel comfortable. Hi in regina should be ashamed of themselves to even portray a dump like this. I would pray that a day (very soon) they are closed down. DISGUSTING.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina
Responded Mar 17, 2017
Hi There, I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Hostelling International Regina, myself, Victor Castro and Heather Parkin, new management team since 2017, are working on giving a great customer service to our guests plus to make improvements in the building. The security of our guests is really important for Hostelling International and I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience regarding security. Once again really sorry for the bad experience that you had with us in the past, we are working very hard to give a different impression. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future, and thanks a lot for your feedback. Victor - Hi Regina Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack J wrote a review Feb 2012
Regina, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were going through Regina and decided to go with this hostel since it's the only one in the Saskatchewan province. We booked for 2 nights, found out that it was more expensive than any other hostel we've been to, even more than the one in Banff. The maximum stay is 7 days, which is kind of absurd since there were older guys that seemed to live there.
Anyway, we got the wrong code for the room, got assigned to the wrong beds, they didn't tell us that no alcohol is permitted anywhere in the building (which it would be ok if we knew in advance, but they tell you only when you have a beer in your hand. If you have problems with people getting drunk you take it out on those people, not everyone), they have only two showers per gender in the whole building and they were dirty, the kitchen doesn't have enough tools and it was constantly a mess.
We expressed our disappointment in the guest book and when we decided, against our common sense, to stop by again on the way back from Manitoba we got refused, saying that we left malicious comments. I thought that guest books were meant for any sort of comments, not only the positive ones, if you have some criticism you try to improve, although the manager decided to rip that page out.

Really poor management, no wonders that no one travels to Regina except people passing through, if you only have one hostel and the manager doesn't know how to do his job you won't get more tourists, and whoever goes in once will never go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina
Responded Mar 17, 2017
Hello Jack J, Thank you for your feedback, I agree that for a business to succeed they need to listen to all comments, not just positive ones. Previous management had many issues with mistreating guests, something that we at Hostelling International find inexcusable. As of 2017 HI-Regina has made great leaps in improving our standards of cleanliness and maintaining sure our guests feel comfortable. Our new staff are all on the same page, no miscommunication about miss-assigning beds and door codes. We haven't been able to add more showers at this time, but once we are able to we intend on renovating the entire downstairs washrooms. Thank you again for your comments, we hope to serve you again and make your next visit positive. Cheers, Heather Parkin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thebackpacker77 wrote a review Dec 2017
Wellington, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Its the only hostel in Regina, its a fair price per night, it wasn't very busy so good for a quiet relaxing stay. It's in a good location to the airport/bus terminal and down town. The only small complaint I could make is, the locker mechanisms are too big and wasn't able to use my small padlock. Other than that would stay again if I came back to Regina.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alanna D wrote a review Dec 2015
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful hostel. The best location for visiting Regina. All the staff were great, super friendly service, and great prices. Tons of local information, and traveler support. Hostel is basic, but really has everything you could want in an affordable hostel. I would happily recommend this place to others.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Dorm rooms are smaller compared to most hostels, so any bed you pick will be great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Love4travel81 wrote a review Nov 2015
Miami, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great experience at HI Regina. Staff are kind, helpful, and sincere. The building may be old, but is full of character and feels like home. Hostel has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Full kitchen, lounge area, laundry, even snack machines. Really happy we stayed there!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Private rooms are just as nice as most hotels, but half the cost. Awesome!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David A wrote a review Oct 2015
Regina, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is fantastic, the guests and workers are friendly and will help you through whatever type of question you have. I would recommend staying here, the building is very nice for being old, it has its own charm. The cleanliness of the building is pretty good, the bathrooms werent gross like how other hotels i have been to were. Sure there is no food provided but there is stores you can get food close by!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I would suggest a private room, not for the fact of other people, its just the private rooms are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from HI-Regina
Regina, Canada
I am sorry, this past year we have been closed for the winter months. I am doubly sorry for the delay in response. If you are still curious it is 63.00$ for a member and 68.25 for a non-member.
Venture66268868725 wrote a tip Jun 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I stayed in the 10 bed hostel, yet it was never full for any of the 4 nights I was there"
Read full review
jbouncehouse wrote a tip Jun 2017
Houston, Texas1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe bring an eye cover/sleeping mask if you are sensitive to light"
Read full review
Alanna D wrote a tip Dec 2015
New York City, New York1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dorm rooms are smaller compared to most hostels, so any bed you pick will be great."
Read full review
Love4travel81 wrote a tip Nov 2015
Miami, Florida2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Private rooms are just as nice as most hotels, but half the cost. Awesome!"
Read full review
David A wrote a tip Oct 2015
Regina, Canada1 contribution3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would suggest a private room, not for the fact of other people, its just the private rooms are quiter and have a homie feeling."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Regina area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Turgeon International Hostel
LOCATION
CanadaSaskatchewanRegina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HI Regina - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about HI Regina
Which popular attractions are close to HI Regina?
Nearby attractions include Stone Hall Castle (0.3 km), Royal Saskatchewan Museum (0.3 km), and Mystery Mansion Regina (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HI Regina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and laundry service.
What are some restaurants close to HI Regina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cathedral Social Hall, Fireside Bistro, and Leopolds Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at HI Regina?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at HI Regina?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HI Regina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to HI Regina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Legislative Building (1.0 km) and Government House (2.6 km).
All Regina HotelsRegina Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ReginaHotels near HI Regina
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars