We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel
 Click to rate
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The hostel is located a block from Albert Street, a thoroughfare of the city. I had lunches and dinners at different restaurants along this street. The hostel is also one block from Wascana Centre, where I walked to few of the local attractions, including Royal Saskatchewan Museum, Saskatchewan Legislative Building and MacKenzie Art Gallery. A walk to downtown would take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianchow
Lewis K, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Brian, Thank you so much for your wonderfully informative review & for staying with us here at HI Regina. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the city & hope that you may visit again some time.

Pavullo Nel Frignano, Italy
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Since this city ofers little, this is a good place to spend a couple of days in town, located in an old house. Simple hostel, nothing in particular to say, enough room to cook your food. You have to agree the entrance outside evening times though, but it is not a problem. It is not exactly downtown, so dress up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matteocanada
Lewis K, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have recently undergone some management changes & are hoping to restore this wonderful hostel to it's former glory.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 December 2015

What a beautiful hostel. The best location for visiting Regina. All the staff were great, super friendly service, and great prices. Tons of local information, and traveler support. Hostel is basic, but really has everything you could want in an affordable hostel. I would happily recommend this place to others.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alanna D
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We had a great experience at HI Regina. Staff are kind, helpful, and sincere. The building may be old, but is full of character and feels like home. Hostel has everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Full kitchen, lounge area, laundry, even snack machines. Really happy we stayed there!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Love4travel81
Regina, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Location is fantastic, the guests and workers are friendly and will help you through whatever type of question you have. I would recommend staying here, the building is very nice for being old, it has its own charm. The cleanliness of the building is pretty good, the bathrooms werent gross like how other hotels i have been to were. Sure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BostonAnderson
Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2015

After all the bad reviews, I was a little worried about staying at this hostel. But there isn't any other choices for budget accommodation in Regina. I booked for four nights. As I was flying out of where I lived, my flight was cancelled due to mechanical problems. I emailed the hostel to let them know I wasn't coming. They...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PGtraveller
Nipissing, Canada
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Definitely do not stay here, it is disgusting, unkept, the sheets have stains on them. Its cold at night time and you can't even get an extra blanket if you dont ask the staff during staff hours. Poor place needs to be shut down if you cant afford to pay staff to stay longer and made sure guests are taken...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HappyTimes6901
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Hostelling International Regina, myself, Victor Castro and Heather Parkin, new management team since 2017, are working on giving a great customer service to our guests plus to make improvements in the building. We don't have deposit fees for padlock or cutlery any more, and we are working in...

Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

I stayed in an eight bed dorm whilst at this hostel. For a hostel it lacks many of the features that you usually find- there was no daily breakfast or organised social events. There was no vibe or feeling to the place. The hostel seemed to have a number of long term residents staying here; mainly more older men. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Aus2
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Hostelling International Regina, myself, Victor Castro and Heather Parkin, new management team since 2017, are working on giving a great customer service to our guests plus to make improvements in the building. We don't have deposit fees for padlock or cutlery any more, and we are working in...

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location. Clean up, vacuum, shampoo carpet or better yet remove them, put some mattress covers and pillow covers on, cotton washable blankets, (woollen ones have hair on them!!). Early morning knocking on door. Felt safer in NYC! A heritage building in a heritage location, show some respect and clean it up. Scrape, sweep and paint the front stairs!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Debeelyn
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Hostelling International Regina, myself, Victor Castro and Heather Parkin, new management team since 2017, are working on giving a great customer service to our guests, to make improvements in the building and for sure to have the hostel clean at all time. Once again really sorry for the...

Pelly
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A family member was in hospital. No place to stay. Didn't know city so we thought this was our only option. As we walked up to settle for the night someone was trying to break in. They obviously didn't have a key or code. We felt so uncomfortable we got back in our vehicle,went back to hospital and was told...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Roxy4444
HI-Regina, Manager at HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at Hostelling International Regina, myself, Victor Castro and Heather Parkin, new management team since 2017, are working on giving a great customer service to our guests plus to make improvements in the building. The security of our guests is really important for Hostelling International and I am sorry to...

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Regina hotels
Core
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Conference Centre Regina
Residence Inn Regina
#9 of 33 in Regina
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Peaceful downtown location just 10 mins off the Transcanada beside the beautiful Wascana Park & the Royal Saskatchewan Museum. Hostel is within walking distance of Mosaic stadium & close to numerous pubs & eateries. Free wifi, free luggage storage, full guest kitchen, lounge room with TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel

Address: 2310 McIntyre St, Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 2S2, Canada (Formerly Turgeon International Hostel)
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Regina
Amenities:
Price Range: $32 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel Saskatchewan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
puerto vallarat
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from HI Regina - Turgeon International Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dorm rooms are smaller compared to most hostels, so any bed you pick will be great.”
956alannad, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Private rooms are just as nice as most hotels, but half the cost. Awesome!”
Love4travel81, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I would suggest a private room, not for the fact of other people, its just the private rooms are quiter and have a homie feeling.”
BostonAnderson, 21 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Private room 1 is just in front of the reception. So, lots of people move in the corridor. But the noice level was very correct in general.”
Maxifrod2001, 13 Jul 2013 | Read review
“You might want to avoid accepting a bed underneath one of the noisy and powerful A/C units.”
hippiegeek420, 27 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5