Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Best Western Gold Rush Inn

View from our 4th floor room
Traveller (148)
Gold Rush Floor Premium 2 Double Room
Room & Suite (131)
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#4 of 13 hotels in Whitehorse
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in Whitehorse,YT, the Best Western Gold Rush Inn is sure to provide a peaceful and comforting home away from home for any traveler. Each Best Western hotel provides free internet access, giving guests the opportunity to check emails and surf the web, all from the comforts of their room or the business center. With cleanliness and value being our top priority, we ensure a restful and productive stay. On top of that, our superior customer service will ensure that we meet all your needs and go beyond your expectations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Now! Stay 3 Nights Get 10,000 Bonus Points!

Location

411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Whitehorse Airport
903Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 244
  • 375
  • 185
  • 68
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Janice0333 wrote a review May 2023
Montreal, Canada
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel underwent recent renovations (4th floor completely renovated), rooms refreshed and staff service excellent! Short walk to everything within city centre. Excellent front desk staff and pleasant check in experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jasnoor Kaur, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded May 8, 2023
Dear Janice, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us following your recent stay at our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovations and found our refreshed rooms to be comfortable. We are also thrilled to hear that you had a pleasant check-in experience with our excellent front desk staff. We take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional service and it is wonderful to hear that we met your expectations. Furthermore, we are glad to know that you found our location to be convenient for exploring the city centre on foot. Thank you for choosing our property for your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnDunn wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed in Whitehorse & stayed at the Best Western Gold Rush Inn. The hotel was in a very good location, you could walk to most places, including some very good restaurants. The hotel itself is a little dated, but very clean. The service was good. The only reason I’m not giving it 5 stars is due to the heating; the room was very cold & they could not get the thermostat working properly, they did bring in portable heaters which helped and did work to heat the room. Overall, good place to stay, I would recommend them & would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danielle Pfeifer, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Hello AnDunn, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback for the Best Western Gold Rush Inn! We couldn't be happier to know that you had an enjoyable experience staying with us. We look forward to having you back with us sometime soon in the wilderness city! Sincerely, Danielle Pfeifer Front Desk Supervisor Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Odile Ela Rousselle wrote a review May 2021
Teslin, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is a nice quiet hotel where the front desk staff is professional and efficient. The rooms are very clean as is the rest of the hotel including the laundry room which impressed me. The food at the restaurant/lounge is good, the service on the other hand has been disappointing on more than one occasion. I would recommend eating at the 506 All Day Grill across the street; the food there is always great and my husband and I have never experienced poor and bad service. The Best Western now provides parking cards to place on your dash and it seems to have improved the availability of parking which is wonderful. This hotel is pet friendly; their pet fee is $30.00 a night to a max of $150.00 per week. Very expensive pet fee but it is what it is.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danielle Pfeifer, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Aug 8, 2021
Thank you for providing your feedback on the Best Western Gold Rush Inn, Odile! We strive for excellent service; knowing the we have delivered this during your stay keep us motivated to continue our service culture. We are especially happy to know that you were able to enjoy our high level of cleanliness. On behalf of our team, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to see you return soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
georginavilleneuve wrote a review Apr 2022
Edmonton, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I called in advance to make sure they knew I was coming with a service dog. The person who answered the phone told me I could not have the room that I booked because I had a pet. I told him no it is a service dog but he said no you have to go to a pet room. Then he told me because he was moving me he would give me a discount on the pet clean up fee? The fee was $25 then $50 then $100. Then when I again told him that my dog was a service dog he agreed to waive the fee.

At check-in I tried to explain the issue again but the young man overheard and started yelling at me about my service dog? Then they insisted that we went to a pet friendly room that was right over the lobby and people were out front drunk and screaming. The room was beyond filthy and the tub was full of long black hair. The door to the bathroom was covered in dirt. The towels were yellow with age and the bathroom mat was disgusting. We just packed up and after we were able to get a room at another hotel. The overall room was dusty and dirty. I made sure to take pictures.

We have stayed at the gold rush on each visit to see family. Never again and I plan on reporting the gold rush to the veterans association ,chamber of commerce and human rights.

What a nightmare. What part of a service dog do you not understand.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alfie McKenzie, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Hi Georgina, Thanks so much for leaving your feedback, we're always keen to hear the guest perspective and reflect and improve. The pet fee is always $30, and our initial solution offered was to completely waive that, I'm sorry if this wasn't clear and unsure where the 50 and 100 dollar figures come from in this case. The gentleman you spoke to did understand from the beginning that the animal was a service dog, however being from the UK accidentally still used the phrase 'pet' to describe the dog due to a simple cultural difference. He apologized to you for the offence caused on the phone, then apologized again at the desk, and we completely reiterate that apology now. Of course a service dog is a working animal with a very important role and we are regretful if you didn't feel that the animal was respected and recognized as such.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Windcurrent wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was a Godsend on our Alcan trip. We asked for a quiet room and, for a slightly higher rate, received a room that was completely quiet, nicely spacious, and extremely comfortable. The beds were the best of our 64-hours-of-driving road trip. And, to my surprise, breakfast at the hotel was very good. The people at the hotel and restaurant go out of their way to make sure that guests have a good experience. We certainly did! Driving the Alcan isn't something that I anticipate repeating, but if I do, the first reservation I'll make will be for this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The floor where the hotel tends to put airline crews is a little more expensive, but very quiet!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jasnoor Kaur, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Jul 28, 2022
Dear Sarah S, We love feedback from our guests, and are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We are so grateful for 5 star rating, and look forward to seeing you next time! Jasnoor Kaur, Superintendent Of Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fromhome1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Given the remote place that is Whitehorse this hotel was ok. We stayed 4 nights in total three nights pre a visit further north then another on way south. First three nights were in an older room which hadn’t been refurbished but which was clean and comfortable. Air conditioning was incredibly loud and was stuck on cold but as it was cool while there we managed by turning it off and on as required- the unit was old so the noise would have been a constant. House keeping didn’t turn up one day so the evening housekeeper had to do our room. Reception staff happily sorted it and the evening man was pleasant about doing it. On second stay we got a refurbished room which was much nicer as it was modern and the air con worked and was quieter but as it was an in wall model there was still some noise but not as bad.
Bar is showing signs of wear with some tables and chairs being passed their best. Food is a average but it’s not trying to be fancy. Some nights it was busy and long waits others ok. I have a feeling that like lots of places the hotel is short of staff at times and thus service not always at its best. On the plus side it’s right in the heart of town so the shops and most cafes and restaurants are within walking distance. Didn’t see anything that looked any better in the area. Reception staff were generally helpful and accommodating
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jasnoor Kaur, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Hello Fromhome 1 ,thank you for sharing your honest feedback with fellow travelers. Our team is dedicated to providing guests with anticipatory guest service. I am so pleased that our front desk staff left such a positive impression on you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future We are in stages of renovation to our property; our Premium rooms were all completely renovated in 2020.We had to halt renovations in 2020 due to Covid-19 and since have not been able to resume due to supply and labour shortages. All of us at the hotel, and our guests can't wait to resume our 3.2 Million dollar renovations. We will make sure to pass your feedback to the restaurant as well .Location makes our hotel a great place to stay for those visiting Whitehorse, but it's the people that put us over the top. I am so glad that you enjoyed these parts of your stay too! Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly upon your next visit to Whitehorse. We will be delighted to make your next stay with us a truly memorable one!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catherinerehwinkel wrote a review Apr 2022
Stamford, Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved all the staff we encountered, the Gold Pan restaurant’s good and atmosphere, and the location is amazing—right in the midst of shopping, bars, restaurants, other businesses. Was super comfy and I loved the prospecting gear on display in the lobby. Like a little museum. Would definitely return and recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alfie McKenzie, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Hi Catherine, Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review, we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're really proud of our location, our rich history and we always strive to provide the best service here at the Gold Rush. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin400921 wrote a review Jan 2020
Victoria, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived mid-evening. At -26 C outside the thermostat stood at 0 and the room assigned had one inadequate baseboard heater under a large window. It took hours to become comfortable. With very few guests and creaky floors, another guest was assigned the room above us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DaniellePfeifer, Front Office Manager at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Hello Martin400921, thank you for sharing your honest feedback with fellow travellers. At the Best Western Gold Rush Inn, we take the satisfaction of our guests seriously and are always seeking ways to enhance our guests’ experience. We appreciate you letting us know that the thermostat wasn't set before arrival and assure you we have resolved the issue you experienced. We are also currently renovating our guest rooms in stages over the next few years, with 8 rooms completed so far, to include sound proofing in the floors and walls as well as many other upgrades. While this does not change your experience, know we take your feedback seriously. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back, and deliver a phenomenal stay in the wilderness city. Sincerely, Danielle Pfeifer Front Desk Supervisor Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tkhalaska wrote a review Oct 2020
Eagle River, Alaska
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon check-in the front entry was obstructed by several inebriated persons who were smoking and swearing. There was another homeless appearing person sitting inside the hotel lobby talking to himself and swearing. I inquired about breakfast for guests and was told there was a complimentary breakfast available starting at 0700. At checkout I was told there was a breakfast available for purchase and there was not even a coffee service for guests. The room was clean and the bed comfy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Danielle Pfeifer, Guest Services / Front Office at Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Dear tkhalaska, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our hotel. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it is apparent in this case that we fell short. We apologize for the experience you had. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown fond of. Although we do not have continental breakfast, our on-site restaurant offers a great selection for purchase and we also have coffee available in every guest room.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arthur M wrote a review Sep 2021
Hamilton, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Smack dab in the middle of downtown, this hotel is essentially walkable to most attractions of Whitehorse. Hotel is pretty spacious. Lobby decor is totally amazing, resembling like a wilderness lodge mixed with Gold Rush era decor. Room looks newly renovated.

The adjoining restauramt has nice decor and has great breakfast. Though it is not free. Decor is essentially like an 1890s saloon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Danielle Pfeifer
Hi Freek J, thanks for your question. We have resumed service for flight arrivals only between 11:30 AM and 11:30PM due to staffing constraints. We are actively trying to hire so we can resume full service.
Soniabaldeo asked a question Dec 2021
Toronto, Canada84 contributions14 helpful votes
Is there a supermarket or gas station close by to get water and milk?
Answer from robert2021934
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Yes lots of spots in walking distance to get food and supplies.
Answer from James E
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Not an employee, but a frequent guest here. There is not a shuttle operating. However it is less than 15 minutes drive and the taxi ride from the airport was under $20 with a 15% tip. Staff is at the front desk all night and I have never had an issue with a late night check in. The restaurant will be closed however and the only all night food in town is the McDonalds drive thru, so if you are hungry after your flight and want food, have the taxi go through there on the way to the airport. You drive right past it on the way.
Lalashere asked a question Nov 2020
Riverside, California12 contributions10 helpful votes
how far from Alaska highway are you? and do you have parking for a pickup truck pulling a trailer?
Answer from Danielle Pfeifer
Hello, we are only a few minutes from the Alaska highway and do have a large parking lot but parking is first come, first served.
Answer from Paul K
Vancouver, Canada310 contributions114 helpful votes
You should be able to find fishing trips. Also kayaking, etc. Way too late in the year for ice fishing. Temperatures can be mid-20s C and up in Whitehorse.
alex_ghosh wrote a tip Oct 2023
Kolkata (Calcutta), India373 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a west facing room during the summer months to see the midnight sun"
Read full review
travelandshop2014 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Montreal, Canada294 contributions160 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"luggage storage is down a set of stairs and smells "herbal". You can ask for help with bags though."
Read full review
Louiszwei B wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We arrived at Whitehorse around midnight and check-in was still available. You can join the hotel using a shuffle (car rental was closed). "
Read full review
PranteauFamily wrote a tip Aug 2023
Nipawin, Canada48 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have ac in your room when you book a room in the warmer months."
Read full review
Windcurrent wrote a tip Jul 2022
33 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The floor where the hotel tends to put airline crews is a little more expensive, but very quiet!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitehorse area.
PRICE RANGE
C$251 - C$346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western gold rush hotel whitehorse, best western whitehorse, whitehorse best western
LOCATION
CanadaYukonWhitehorse
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Best Western Gold Rush Inn - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Nearby attractions include MacBride Museum (0.4 km), North End Gallery (0.4 km), and Frantic Follies Vaudeville Revue (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Antoinette's, Baked-Cafe & Bakery, and The Kind Café.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and a sauna during their stay.
Does Best Western Gold Rush Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Best Western Gold Rush Inn offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Best Western Gold Rush Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Best Western Gold Rush Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Best Western Gold Rush Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Whitehorse.
Are any cleaning services offered at Best Western Gold Rush Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
All Whitehorse HotelsWhitehorse Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WhitehorseHotels near Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars