We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundog Retreat

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good17%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fuzzy crocus”(38 reviews)
“viewing cabins”(19 reviews)
“raven's nest”(18 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Breakfast included
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Sundog Retreat
Offers & Announcements: 20% off room rate
Offers from Sundog Retreat
Offers & Announcements: 20% off room rate
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
278
55
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
278
55
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfuzzy crocusviewing cabinsraven's nestwolf denhot tubnorthern lightsdog sleddingfire pitsun dogcranberry cottagesun roomaurora viewingcity tourbean northwell equipped kitchensatellite tvtakhini hot springs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We rented the largest cabin (Fireweed) for a girls' weekend getaway. It was perfect! All amenities were available from fully stocked kitchen to outdoor BBQ and deck. We enjoyed our potluck meal in the sun catching up on each other's gossip and moved indoors when...More

Thank Peregrina-Norte
Response from Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog RetreatResponded 2 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed a spring getaway... thanks for spending time with us.

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

Sundog Retreat is an absolute gem. This unique, secluded property is everything we expected......and more! We spent 4 nights in the Wolf Den cabin in mid December and to be honest, we didn’t want to leave. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights...More

1  Thank Munch29
Response from Welcoming_Host, other at Sundog RetreatResponded January 26, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. Glad you got a real Yukon experience and thanks again for the recomendation. We hope you'll come back to visit again too.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family of 4 (2 teens) came for a quick weekend trip to (hopefully) see the Aurora. Unfortunately we missed out but it was a very comfortable stay at a unique location that we were all relaxed and enjoyed ourselves. Cabin is well equipped (minus a...More

Thank wukongsun
Response from Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog RetreatResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad your family enjoyed a northern adventure! Hope you will get back again next winter for some northern lights next time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The four of us went there on 23rd March and stayed at the Panorama Cottage which is so well kept and comfortable. According to the owner this was their old house. We were picked up promptly from the airport the moment we reached there. We...More

Thank kklMalacca
Response from Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog RetreatResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking time to write such a nice review. We're glad you were keen to stay up late enjoying the northern lights! Thanks for the compliments about our winter meal program. It was very nice to have you stay with us.

Reviewed April 15, 2018

We had a magical experience during our 3 day stay in the Fireweed cottage last Dec 2017 at -30 Celsius degrees. All is prepared to make you feel at home. We enjoyed the hand-made slippers very much. We were able to see the aurora from...More

Thank lizgc79
Response from Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog RetreatResponded 2 weeks ago

We like to welcome adventurous spirits like you, who don't mind the cold in exchange for watching the spectacular skies! Thanks for your review; hope you can join us again someday.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Whitehorse
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$121 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$121 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
chu136
December 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ROZGLO | Reviewed this property |
No it's too early. October around new moon time and then Mid February to early April. Always plan for new moon as this is when the sky is darkest and the lights are at their best. November, December and January bad weather... More
1
Vote
Kathryn R
April 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tabimono | Reviewed this property |
I believe for December there's only about 5 hours of daylight so keep that in mind. At Sundog since you can be in the comfort of your cabin while you wait and look for the Northern Lights it's great. I was told to look for... More
2
Votes
kulhair
January 24, 2016|
Answer
Response from Dizzyland | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure since we are not cross country skiers and we did not ask. I suggest to go to their link and ask Heather.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"You can ask owners about the cottages with a view of the mountains."
Read review
"Any of the cabins"
Read review
"We found Cranberry to be in the best spot for Aurora viewing."
Read review
"book early. Stay a few nights if northern lights are on the list. We stayed 5 nights but they only came out..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing