We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Hill House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hill House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swan Hill House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 223: English reviews
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at Swan Hill House for the last three years. I come down to Seaton to run in "The Grizzly" and my girlfriend does a fantastic job supporting me. The best part of the weekend is having such a fantastic place to come back to. Simon and Libby are the best hosts you could wish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hi guys, hope you were not aching too much after the Grizzly!!! We don't know how you do it every year...Many thanks for the review and flattering it was too. We do hope to see you next March so keep the training up. Have a great year. Simon and Libby

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here in August 2011 for our River Cottage Saturday Night event. Rooms were clean and well kept. Breakfast was great. Owners arranged a cab for us that Saturday night. Going back again in August this year for a second meal at River Cottage. Car parking round the back. Review won't let me give correct date

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren6166
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review and look forward to seeing you in the summer!

Hampshire, UK
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband I stayed here whilst he was attending a River Cottage course and after having seen the glowing reviews on trip advisor. After searching for a few hours rather despondently on the internet, trying to find a half decent B&B near River Cottage HQ, we were thrilled to stumble upon this little gem! Libby and Simon were very welcoming,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darcyhels
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the great review! We are so glad your stay was a good one and hope the course at River Cottage went well. Sorry the weather was wet and gloomy, hopefully we'll have a hot summer. Simon and Libby

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I booked my husband into stay with Libby and Simon whilst he attended a four day course at river cottage. I joined him for the last two days.....had i realised what I was missing I would have stayed the whole week. The room was beautiful, the welcome , warm and the food!!! Oh my word I have never eaten breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda s
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hi guys, hope you are well and M putting your new found skills to good use!! Thank you so much for the glowing review and so glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. Maybe see you again in the not so distant future, all the best. Simon and Libby

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2013

The weekend wasn't looking promising when we set off for Colyford in the cold and driving rain to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. However, from the moment we set foot in Swan Hill House, the surprise trip proved an inspired decision. The warm greeting from Simon and the moist home made ginger sponge accompanying the welcome pot of tea were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Thanks for the glowing review, it was very thoughtful of you and we both look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Glad you both had a great birthday stay and meal in Devon and lovely to meet you. Regards to Cornwall....Simon and Libby

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at Swan Hill House on the weekend of 17/18th November with family members where we were all going to River Cottage to celebrate our daughter-in-law's birthday. She had booked this Guest House in advance and so we didn't know what to expect. However, what a find. We had a brilliant time there. Simon and Libby were excellent hosts....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your glowing review, how thoughtful. Libby and I enjoyed having the family book the whole house and we very much look forward to seeing you all maybe ib the summer! Enjoy the cornbread, you will have to try my spicy version next time!! Simon

Dunlop, Ayrshire
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently for 4 nights whilst I was at a cookery course at river cottage. We had the most wonderful and relaxed stay and can thoroughly recommend here!! Simon and Libby are great hosts, accommodation is so comfortable/spacious and spotlessly clean! Breakfast every morning was delicious with tasty smoothies and a special every day! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FMFAyrshire
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hi Guys, hope you are well and thanks for the lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your day at River Cottage and your stay here at Swan Hill House, hope to see you if you are ever down this way again (I know, its a long way from Scotland.......) Simon & Libby

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just got back from spending one night here this weekend. It was a family birthday with a meal at River Cottage and the reception we got on arrival set the tone for the whole stay. Simon and Libby were amazing, their hospitality was second to none, the room we had was opulent and breakfast was yum! Unfortunately we hadn't done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpammyB
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hi and thanks so much for writing a review on Trip Advisor! Libby and I so glad you had a good birthday weekend and we do hope you will come back in the summer, it would be lovely to see you all again. I gather someone may have been sending a recipe around the family....enjoy! Simon & Libby

Bath
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed for a last-minute end of summer break in September, and I'm so pleased we did! Simon and Libby are perfect hosts, very friendly, super helpful and excellent at cakes!! The location is fantastic, the rooms are very well appointed and have everything you need - I'm sure if they didn't all you would have to do is ask!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the lovely review! It was great to meet you and so glad you both had a comfortable stay. Regards Simon & Libby

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife & I have stayed at Swan Hill House for short (4 day) breaks, spring & autumn for several years now. Simon & Libby are superb hosts, welcoming and friendly at all times. We love our regular room, which has everything we need, and more. The breakfasts are just the best - everything cooked to order, very wide choice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heinz1944
swanhillhouse, Owner at Swan Hill House, responded to this review

Lovely review once again and very much appreciate you finding time to write again!! Have a great Christmas and see you in the new year! Simon & Libby

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyford
0.1 km away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
271 reviews
4.6 km away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
315 reviews
1.7 km away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Harepath Holidays Ltd
Harepath Holidays Ltd
#18 of 25 in Seaton
49 reviews
2.5 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#1 of 25 in Seaton
305 reviews
8.8 km away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Swan Hill House

Address: Swan Hill House Swan Hill Road, Colyford EX24 6QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyford
Price Range: $131 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Swan Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hill House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were happy with twin bedded room 3 on ground floor, this was also easy access”
susanhH737QR, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We recommend the 'Superior' rooms. Although all rooms are excellent.”
robertbM6282LA, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1, 5 and 6 are excellent but I think they're all very good.”
ElaineMutum, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor with easy access to the car park, garden & dining room”
maryedrew, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I should think any would be great.”
ruthnickless, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5