We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Leintwardine SY7 0JZ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (73)
Dining (52)
Room & Suite (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-07-15 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Lion
Updated 20-07-15 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leintwardine
Travellers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Leintwardine, The Lion is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its romantic environment and proximity to great restaurants, The Lion makes it easy to enjoy the best of Leintwardine.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as The Lion Hotel offers guests free wifi.

The inn features room service, a sun terrace, and outdoor furniture. Plus, The Lion Hotel offers free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Leintwardine's popular fish and chips restaurants such as The Lion Inn, The Sun Inn, and Fiddlers Elbow Fish & Chips, all a short distance from The Lion Hotel.

The Lion is sure to make your visit to Leintwardine one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Bar / lounge
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Great View
400Reviews1Q+A70Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 291
  • 75
  • 18
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Drone G wrote a review Jun. 8
Ludlow, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
After not being able to book on open table yesterday we decided to go to the lion and see if we could get a table for lunch today. After a 5-10 minute wait at the front door we were offered a table inside or outside. We chose to opt for outside due to the lovely weather. The location here is truly beautiful right next to the river, I wish I could say the same for the food. We were quickly offered drinks and given menus I opted for the moules mariniere which was good. My other half went for the battered hake and chips. The fish must be bought in frozen and pre battered. A soggy small fillet of hake pretty much inedible, a mountain of dry peas that I assume were heated in a saucepan and crushed with the back of a spoon. Chips tasted awful I’m guessing Sunday’s left over roast potatoes cut up and refried. Considering there was 95% of the food untouched on the plate I was a little astounded when the waitress came to the table and simply said. “Have you finished?” Not a single question asked about the meal or why so much was left. We mentioned this upon paying at the bar and was given a simple sorry no explanation or price change on the bill. Ive always worked locally as a chef and the fish you sent out today was totally unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Stephen D wrote a review Oct. 2020
6 contributions7 helpful votes
The staff made us feel very relaxed and had found out it was our anniversary so gave us a glass Prosecco on our arrival. A very nice touch. The food was excellent and the service was faultless. A really enjoyable night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Response from Penny Butler, Owner at The Lion
Responded Oct. 15, 2020
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! Thank you for choosing to celebrate at the Lion. Please come again soon.
Read more
Tony B wrote a review Sep. 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom16 contributions23 helpful votes
Unplanned visit whilst driving past, and decided to stop for a drink. Wonderful riverside gardens, and the food looked great so we decided to have lunch. Good, varied menu, quick service and the food was excellent - well presented, tasty and delivered nice and hot. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, arrangements for the Covid maddness were efficient but not overpowering, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. If ever in the area again, we would certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Penny Butler, Owner at The Lion
Responded Oct. 15, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you felt safe during this awful time and enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon - hopefully without all the Covid Madness!
Read more
Becky wrote a review Sep. 2020
Haslemere, United Kingdom3 contributions
We had a lovely stay for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend with our 8 year old daughter. Lovely rooms, excellent staff and excellent food. A lovely setting right by the river. We will definitely come back next year and would highly recommend as a lovely location and place to stay. Thank you the Lion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Penny Butler, Agency / Consultant at The Lion
Responded Sep. 24, 2020
Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you had a safe journey home. We hope you visit us again soon someday.
Read more
Kim L wrote a review Aug. 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom44 contributions17 helpful votes
My experiences of a sunday lunch have gone from quite nice to downright awful. Yesterday "quite nice" changed to absolutely perfect! We called in hoping they had a table free, as we hadn't booked. The member of staff was very friendly, and soon we were seated, had drinks and a menu. It is not budget price, but in the current climate, and because we had not booked, we decided to go ahead and eat, regardless of the cost. First we had soup of the day, which was tomato and red pepper. I could not believe how tasty it was! I loved every last drop, along with the nice bread and ample butter that came with it. After a reasonable length of time, our meal of roast sirloin with roast potatoes, roast and boiled vegetables, and a massive featherlight yorkshire pudding arrived. We were offered extra gravy, and condiments, which were accepted as usually gravy is at a minimum - not so! although I had enough, my partner tucked in with the extra because I think it was so good! Every part of that meal was perfect, and the red wine gravy was the best I have ever had. I could imagine the chef standing over his cooker, watching so that each item was cooked to absolute perfection! Every mouthful was full of flovour and cooked perfectly, including the beef. Service was on time, and extremely friendly without being a nuisance or pushy. We will be calling again, as occasionally my hobby takes us through Leintwardine. Thank you, the experience was first class!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Response from Penny Butler, Agency / Consultant at The Lion
Responded Sep. 1, 2020
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch, you described it so beautifully it made me want to go there right now!
Read more
US$99 - US$151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
the lion hotel leintwardine
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireLeintwardine
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Lion
Which popular attractions are close to The Lion?
Nearby attractions include The Sun Inn (0.2 km), Aardvark Books (3.7 km), and Wigmore Castle (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lion?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Lion?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lion?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lion?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Baron at Bucknell, The Oak Wigmore, and The Lion.
Is The Lion located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Leintwardine.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lion?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stokesay Court (6.2 km).
Does The Lion have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Lion accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.