We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Agoda.comUS$100*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$143*
US$100*
US$111*
US$143*
US$100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were so disappointed with the Wilderness retreat. Our first impression was not good- the staff on the desk were quite rude and impatient. We chose the eco lodge rooms with bunk beds and a fold out (family with 3 kids). The fold out bed still had the old sheets with someone's dirty socks and undies in it. The bunk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle B
KIWR, General Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, we were grateful when you informed us of the condition of your apartment and agreed that this should not have happened. We immediately rectified this and gave you a full refund for the first night of your stay. We now have a brand new team of housekeepers who ensure that standards are consistently high. It is unfortunate that...

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in Kangaroo Island and this really was not long enough. I really wanted to get into Flinders Chase national park and thought that the Wilderness Retreat was the best option at this end of the Island. I was really looking forward to experiencing some 4 star hospitality and luxury as had been advertised. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dippy_sal
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 January 2013

From all of the reviews, website and price I was expecting more of a luxury retreat. This was extremely basic and outdated. I can't remember the last time I've seen a shower that primitive. I understand respecting surroundings and being economical with water but it can still be done nicely on the inside. The food was terrible; very bland and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve D
Redwood City, California
Reviewed 22 December 2012

First of all, Kangaroo Island is a wonderful and unique place. It is bigger than one might imagine, it will take about 4 days to see it all, but we only had time for one night. Flinders Chase National Park is the best part, don't miss the Remarkable Rock and the Admirals Arch. We rented a room with the lowest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NatalieWit
upstate new york
Reviewed 20 December 2012

KIWR is located at the western end of Kangaroo Island, a few minutes drive from the Remarkable Rocks, Admirals Arch, and the Koala walk (the highlights of our three day trip to the island.) The setting is quiet - a good retreat. The rooms are rustic - the furniture and the carpets are quite dated, although the beds are comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ivy_professor
Littleton, CO, USA
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This place is very expensive for the quality, and I was sorry that we paid a high price to get our car across on the ferry and then were somewhat stranded in the most fly-ridden area, where we could hardly stand to go outside because of 200 flies milling around our faces. We wanted to leave as soon as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovetoexploreplaces
KIWR, Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I am surprised and saddened by the many negative and inaccurate comments you have chosen to highlight in your review. I feel that this paints an unfair and incorrect picture of our retreat which I would like to dispute and rectify as follows. It seems that the main issue to have upset your stay were the flies, which...

Taree, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We paid $200 for a room with old furniture and television and mould in the shower recess. The bathroom was like something out of a 1960s motel. The room needed a good dusting as there was such a heavy build up of dust inside the TV cabinet and on the bedside tables. Dinner at Baudin's restaurant was abysmal. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WandaSandhills
KIWR, Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

We regret that this guest had an unsatisfactory stay. We take customer feedback very seriously and appreciate constructive comments so that we can continually assess and improve our level of service. It is fair to say that our Eco Lodge rooms, which are less expensive than our more luxurious Courtyard Suites, are in need of a little updating. Our General...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Ideal place to stay and visit places around. A min 2 nights is recommended as there is a lot to see around. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Sunset at the rocks really ROCKS!!!!!!! Native wildlife at the resort is great too!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swoza
Montreal
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Whatever negative things I may say are outweighed by the location of this lodge style hotel. The hotel is about ten minutes drive from the Flinders Chase National Park visitor center, which allows one good opportunity to engage in early morning or late day wildlife viewing without needing to drive in the dark. The primary purpose of our visit to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtrodgers99
KIWR, Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. I agree that our location is ideal for those who wish to encounter wildlife in a peaceful environment and access the stunning Flinders Chase national park with ease. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We have a very small kitchen and all our meals are freshly prepared so...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Beware of descriptions! The "Eco Lodge" at the site suffers a little from green-wash. Not clear what the "Eco" bit is when there's not even a plug for the bathroom basin! Perhaps "Retreat" is a way of describing "no TV". The location is terrific next to the National Park, but don't book this expecting to see lots of onsite wildlife,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
KIWR, Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your comments. The Eco Lodge is named as such because it is economical rather than specifically eco friendly. However we do practice this at the retreat and always welcome feedback regarding ways to improve reducing our impact on the environment. We will certainly rectify the missing basin plug. Although I appreciate your comments regarding the...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
83.8 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
806 reviews
91.4 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
408 reviews
107.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
121.0 km away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
184 reviews
83.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Price Range: $136 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth staying in the courtyard<”
suep654, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a porch -- they're bigger and have a view of the wildlife.”
Alexandrasmom817, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a room on the courtyard. Makes it easy to sit on your deck/porch and watch the animals in the evening.”
TravellBuddies, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1and 2 are close to the reception and you could get the Wifi in your room”
TheTrick70, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay more for a nicer room, the eco-lodge rooms are very tired”
Nixxypies, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$100* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$111
TripAdvisorUS$100
ElvolineUS$143
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates