We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Villa Afrodite

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Villa Afrodite
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 9: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Villa Afrodite
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

What a mistake...the car in the carpark should have warned me! Bovalino Marina is a shabby, crumbling, rubbish strewn no-where with unfinished buildings, refuse, cracked pavements and weeds! The Hotel is a vast dying edifice (nowhere remotely near the 5 star they claim! We waited 4 hrs for them to (unsuccessfully) try and fix the tv and internet. No hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynogwen
California
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We made a mistake on the reservation from one to two and we were charged an extra 40 euro. Would be fine if it was offering a good selection of amenities but nothing. The breakfast was the worst I've encountered in any Italian hotel. It's also not directly on the water as it portrays. If you order in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworldcs
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Very kind and helpful staff, rooms where excellent air con wonderful as it was very hot Close to shops, restaurants, and the beach. Provided excellent service even transport without being asked. Would return if possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olga L
Primerano, Direttore at Hotel Villa Afrodite, responded to this review

Thanks, very kind, thank you so much I hope you soon The director Michele D'ALBA

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The pictures are great but the reality hits home when you drive up to it. It is located a couple blocks from the beach (reached by walking down an alley/stormdrain) and is isolated in a pretty desolate area. The facility itself was probably once a grand hotel with high quality materials used throughout. Unfortunately, it has suffered a bit in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Biscottiboy
Alfredo P, Direttore at Hotel Villa Afrodite, responded to this review

We apologize if the way to the beach is not so comfortable, but we do our best to change things in a town, which has to be to deal with a tainted mentality. We are working to improve services in a small town which wants to have the chance to be known worldwide, that’s the reason why we need time...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The best part of arriving at the hotel was the welcome: I was immediately greeted & offered a drink (I did have one after freshening up). Like a previous reviewer, it did feel a little like a ghost hotel: where were the other guests? Why weren't any of the public areas 'open'? However, I wasn't on holiday so wasn't put...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariamogo
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After arrival at the hotel in the afternoon the receptionist told us our rooms weren't prepared yet. He asked us to wait for 15 minutes in the lounge and offered us some drinks while waiting. When we got to our rooms we noticed that the hotel was not really that well maintained and was a little bit derelict, both from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dh1807
Meriden, Connecticut
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for five days. One can not say enough about how the staff treated us like royalty. Everyone had a smile & couldn't do enough for us. Made us feel happy every day! Breakfast buffet was a delight every morning with many selections too numerous to list. We had fresh scrambled eggs and cappochino served hot to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Loretta P
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The staff could not do enough for us. They were friendly, professional and courteous. Our room and ensuite bathroom were both spacious, and we had a very large balcony which was made private with plants and flowers. Even though the beach was "closed" because we were out of season they went out of their way to arrange for an umbrella...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank WendyB947
direzioneGM, Direttore at Hotel Villa Afrodite, responded to this review

Good morning, makes us great pleasure to be able to make you enjoy and we hope to see you again our guests. General Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2006

From 1 to 16 July we had a delightful stay at the Hotel Villa Afrodite in the small coastal town of Bolvalino Marina. The hotel is a family run enterprise and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. After warning the hotel that my wife was a coeliac (and I only had to do this once), the staff made sure she...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank A TripAdvisor Member

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovalino Marina
23.3 km away
Parco dei Principi Hotel
Parco dei Principi Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roccella Ionica
236 reviews
14.3 km away
Grand Hotel President
Grand Hotel President
#1 of 2 in Siderno
286 reviews
30.1 km away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#1 of 4 in Gambarie
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Hotel Residence Arcobaleno
24.8 km away
Club Hotel Kennedy
Club Hotel Kennedy
#1 of 3 in Roccella Ionica
362 reviews
0.7 km away
Palazzo Reginella Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Afrodite

Address: Via Aldo Moro, 89034 Bovalino Marina, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Bovalino Marina
Price Range: $169 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Afrodite 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Afrodite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Villa Afrodite staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Villa Afrodite staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms where lovely”
olgal161, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Book well in advance, be sure to ask for a balcony.”
LorettaP_13, 6 Jun 2013 | Read review
2 of 2