Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge

Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge

3412 Highway 3, Barrington Passage, Nova Scotia B0W 1G0 Canada
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (7)
Portside Lounge
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in Barrington Passage
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
If you’re looking for a small hotel or chalets in Barrington, look no further than The Starboard Inn. Free Wi-Fi is offered to guests, and rooms at "The Starboard Inn" offer air conditioning & a heat pump. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out our on site restaurant "Portside Lounge". Breakfast is served daily. If you're looking for seafood options head into town and check out "Capt. Kat's Lobster Shack" and "Ocean Treasures", which are popular with the locals and out-of-towners alike. Best of all, The Starboard Inn makes it easy to experience some great Barrington attractions like Baccaro Point Lighthouse, which is a popular lighthouse & many beautiful beaches. The staff at The Starboard Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Golf course
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
22Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 7
  • 4
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark S wrote a review Sep 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Starboard Inn is a mixed bag. Rooms are nice enough with the ones I saw being recently renovated. However, cable TV is not guaranteed: some rooms have it while others do not. Floors, while new, are laminate and not carpeted, so noise can be a bit of an issue. However, the inn was fairly quiet overall during my stay.

That said, the "lounge" hours are weird to say the least, closing at 2 pm. And while the front desk staff were friendly (even though the front door is also only unlocked til 2 pm), an issue with internet wasn't handled in the best way. The inn resides in an area with less than stellar cellular reception, so wifi is a must for those who need to get online during their stay. Unfortunately, the wifi was not working properly during my visit. Twice during the stay, staff members said a discount should be given to compensate for the lack of internet availability (tried to connect with two different phones and my laptop), but management didn't see it that way. Instead, the manager stated, "My staff was able to get on the network and I didn't have any complaints from other guests." No apology, just an excuse. Paid full price in the end.

Even though I travel through the area regularly and Starboard Inn seemed to have a lot of promise as a reliable place to stay during my work travels, I will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Even though the inn has on-site dining, it is not available after 2 pm.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dgg123 wrote a review Jun 2015
Halifax, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not the safest place in Town. Rather noisy esp. on a weekend and room reeked of smoke. There is not a lot of choice Motels in the area. It is the centre of town so location is easy to find. Would I go back here, answer No, would drive on to Yarmouth.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda V wrote a review Jul 2015
Ontario, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a chalet not realizing it would be next to three other people. Why pay the extra money then and just stay in the motel? When we got there the office was closed. We tried to call the office and they would not answer and did not return our phone call. There was silverfish in our bed, spider webs everywhere. It was overall dirty and no nice view. I felt like I was in downtown Toronto. No thanks. Breakfast? I dont even know where the heck it was served.. not that I would want to eat there anyways. Overpriced, bad service, dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Climber375969 wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped at this Inn while on a tour of the South Shore. Very disappointed in the service and lack of amenities. Price was outrageous for what we got. and considerably higher than advertised.
There were dirty towels in the bathroom.
The room was clearly not designed for 2 beds,.with only a ridiculous 9 inch gap between the two beds.
No lamps, clock, night stand, shelving or other furniture in the bedroom, so we had to leave our eyeglasses and misc other personal items on the floor and window ledge.
The box springs were still in plastic bags and no duvet covers.
No bureau, coat rack, rods to hang clothes. No place to lay out or unpack clothes.
No hair dryer, iron or ironing board
No shelves or racks in the shower so soap etc.had to be put on the floor
No blind on the front door , which allowed people outside to look straight into the bathroom and bedroom.
Poor TV and wifi connections
No reading lamps/lighting anywhere
We were expected to wash our own dishes and dump our garbage
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Chalet had poor wifi and tv connection; no view of the water ;
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin MacIsaac, General Manager at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge
Responded Oct 5, 2020
Hello Nancy, I am sorry you were so disappointed in your stay with us, most of these issues have been rectified. As discussed during your visit, in which you explained to me you simply only needed a place to sleep for the night, we did in fact offer you another unit as our cleaning staff accidentally left behind one hand towel, which we fully apologized for as it was our mistake. As far as the room prices go we are under major renovations which we explained upon your arrival and the prices were increased by only 20 dollars and allowed for a more accommodating unit by adding in a kitchenette. So the increase of price is definitely reasonable for what you are getting in our newly renovated units. We had been slowly working on finalizing the chalet renovations and due to Covid we were unfortunately faced with shipping delays. The box springs were left in the plastic until we received our coverings for them, we did not want to uncover them until we could put a protector over them as they were brand new and we did not want to chance ruining them. As far as the garbage and dishes go during a pandemic it is not sanitary for my staff to wash another persons dishes or collect garbage left around the room, therefore when I explained this to you, you did agree with this. Once again I am sorry your experience was not what you were expecting for a last minute booking but please be aware that we have since improved our units based on suggestions and we strive to continue making improvements during these unforeseen circumstances. Sincerely, Erin MacIsaac Manger of the Starboard Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LisaEm wrote a review Oct 2020
Halifax, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed at the Starboard Inn for a weekend away. We were greeted by lovely employees who gave us suggestions on where to eat and what beaches to see during our visit. They were all so kind and definitely went out of their way to accommodate us. They told us they were under major renovations and mentioned the addition of a lounge that they would be adding to their property, I cant wait to come back to check it out! This place has truly come a long way and has so much more potential. We had rented out both the top chalet as well as one of the bottom chalets, the top had a nice view of the ocean from the front window and both units had a back window in which you could watch the birds at the feeder from. As far as the units went both were immaculate, the bottom unit although smaller in space then the top had everything that you would need during your stay. The addition of the kitchenettes really makes staying here a breeze as youre able to choose between eating out or making your own meals. They even leave complimentary k-cup coffee and paper towel which came in handy. The beds were so comfortable, the duvet like comforters were light and definitely cozy, they even had accent blankets neatly displayed on the bed. This place is definitely somewhere I will stay again and recommend to anyone. This place was wonderful! We also took a walk on the trail located on the side of the parking lot and across the road, it was beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Erin MacIsaac, General Manager at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Hi Lisa, Thank you so much for leaving us a review! My staff and I have been working very hard over the past few months getting our newly renovated units ready for our guests. Reviews like this one are what make all of the hard work so worth it! We still have a long road ahead of us but are very excited for what is instore for our Motel and Chalets. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Erin MacIsaac Manager of the Starboard Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2017Luv2travel wrote a review Aug 2022
Falmouth, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Enjoyed our stay in one of the modern 1 bedroom upstairs units. The bedroom has 2 queen beds. This unit also has a full kitchen with dishes etc. Lovely restaurant and lounge on site that is open from 8am to 7pm daily. Very well situated close to Cape Sable Island and other tourist attractions such as museums. Definitely would recommend staying here. Staff is super friendly and the unit was very clean. Thank you for a great experience!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pariscapedirtdog wrote a review Apr 2014
Halifax, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my friend they made us feel like it was an incovience to rent a room to us.they didn't clean the room the remote for the tv had a dead battery,the soap despencer was empty and there was only one small bar of soap for the sink,none for the bathtub and they screwed up the receipt for the room
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggiem784 wrote a review Sep 2014
Port Alberni, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
At arrival we found scuzzy looking people smoking and hanging around doorways of apartment building? beside motel. We did not feel safe staying there. Husband said the room reeked of cigarette smoke but all I could smell was the pungent stench of room deodorizer. We spent the night trying to prevent ourselves from rolling into the trough in the middle of the bed. It was a horrid experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Will M wrote a review Aug 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at the property at 4:30pm on Saturday 8/27 to find nobody at the office. I called the number listed and it went to voicemail. nobody called me back. i ended up going to Yarmouth and got a room there.

Dont go here! Just keep driving! I even called the night before I left Halifax to confirm it was available and to ask if they took American Express. They confirmed yet the office was closed and I had to way to get key and check in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
154976judy wrote a review Aug 2014
Halifax, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pretty laid back spot , typical Nova Scotian ...room big , newly decorated with a very good mattress .we seldom one watch tv on holiday but it had new , big flat screen for those that need one. Not a fan of A/c so felt quite safe putting the large window way up for night air . Frig , micro but no coffee maker. Strange although I always carry a kettle and my supplies . No breakfast included. Bathroom clean . Table and chairs plus a desk so very adequate , quiet and relaxing ! Would return ...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Best thing near here is the restaurant , the Lobster shack ! Good spot to stay while exploring...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Mark S wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even though the inn has on-site dining, it is not available after 2 pm."
Read full review
Climber375969 wrote a tip Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chalet had poor wifi and tv connection; no view of the water ;"
Read full review
Geoffrey M wrote a tip Jul 2016
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada355 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You are close by to A LOT of local seafood restaurants if you enjoy seafood check them out."
Read full review
154976judy wrote a tip Aug 2014
Halifax, Canada101 contributions58 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best thing near here is the restaurant , the Lobster shack ! Good spot to stay while exploring this part of southern Nova Scotia . Looks like the community is fixed up recreation wise .and deep sea fishing .. Really lots of things going on for tourists and residents alike As a Nova Scotian , I know that the smaller communities have a great deal more going on than one would think . .. The motel rooms are fine for a couples, the chalets more for families or couples travelling together ! Great place for a rest !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barrington Passage area.
PRICE RANGE
C$127 - C$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Horizon Chalets & Motel
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaBarrington Passage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge
Which popular attractions are close to Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Nearby attractions include Barrington Woolen Mill (4.5 km), Wild Axe Lumberjack AXEperience (4.6 km), and Old Meeting House Museum (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Capt. Kat's Lobster Shack, Dan's Ice Cream Shoppe, and Jb's Restaurant.
Is Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Barrington Passage.
Are pets allowed at Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Starboard Inn & Portside Lounge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cape Sable Lighthouse (13.4 km).