We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Camino Real Tikal

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Camino Real Tikal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camino Real Tikal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 172: English reviews
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The hotel is very well located, between Flores and Tikal. My room was the on the top, so far away from lobby, although you can call every time you need a ride, some times is not conformable. The rooms exteriors are very well decorated, the architecture melt with the forest. Interiors are not the best for me, as this is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank miltonwar
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits. Every problem you mentioned will be notify to responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review from our hotel. This is very helpful to...

LONDON
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

First impressions: dated and needs a comprehensive make over. Rooms are ok, bathrooms clean but old. Facilities limited though offer a bit of everything. The 'beach' is a bit of scrub grassland at the edge if the lake, with a small jetty. Could be nice but it isn't at all. You need to negotiate a lot of steps at this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BILLYSE21
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits. The WiFi problem will be notify to responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review from our hotel. This is very helpful to receive...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2013

A modern hotel with rooms, on three levels, set in several small blocks on a slope over looking the lake. Rooms were fine with a balcony. One major asset were a couple of deep freezes, set along the pathway which you have to walk along to get to the pool and resaurant, where there are bags of ice for guest's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antony B
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest!! Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests. Regards,

Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hotels best feature is its location near Tikal National Park. The lake views and pool are great, but expect basic room services and long walks with many, many steps. This is not a hotel for those afraid of stairs. Food was fine and pretty good considering location. Staff were generally very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VisitingProfessor_29
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest!! Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests. Regards,

Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Isolated location on Lake Peten Itza, about half an hour's drive from Tikal. The rooms are clean, but somewhat tired, with wonderful views of the lake. The grounds have beautiful tropical flora. The food is okay, nothing special. The staff are somewhat friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is weak & unreliable. Do keep doors closed to keep out mosquitoes and scorpions.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 7469moog
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests. We hope to see you soon again. Regards,

Keene, New York
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This hotel is located on the Lake about 25 minutes from the Tikal monument site. The staff are very friendly and helpful, which is a bit surprising for a hotel that largely caters to groups. We asked to stay late on our last day and they let us stay until 3:30pm. This is certainly the best hotel to use if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimKeeneNY
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests. We hope to see you soon again. Very truly...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here with a group while visiting Tikal. The staff was incredibly nice but the internet was pricey and the rooms could use some updating. One building has been recently renovated and the room that we saw was much nicer than ours. Unless you have a car there's nowhere close to eat except the dining room which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelz
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest!! Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. But also we are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is a full service hotel not far from Tikal, that makes no concessions to its location. Nice location on lake Peten Itza's far northeast side. Fully acceptable rooms. Food was no more than acceptable, except for the pastries and breads, which would be excellent anywhere. Service was good. We were there doing a cold spell, so can't comment on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhoads793
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests. I will take the liberty to put your comment...

California
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had a four night stay at the facility January 2013. The room size was adequate and the appointments were fine. There is air conditioning if its needed. The views from the room we had were excellent of the lake. The balcony was comfortable. One can hear the air conditioners running if its hot but this wasn't a bother for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chingachgook
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest!! Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard. I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests. Regards,

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

The place is convenient if you want to stay inside the hotel, its close to Tikal ruins by car, but you can not go out for a walk to any place. Maybe its better to be closer to Flores town. The room is noisy: you are listening the air conditioned from the other rooms all the night. Room very poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anagbl
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notify to responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review from our hotel....

199 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
14.7 km away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
27.0 km away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
541 reviews
9.8 km away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
824 reviews
21.7 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
263 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Camino Real Tikal

Address: Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17029, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Santa Elena
Price Range: $116 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Real Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Camino Real Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Tikal Hotel Peten
Westin Tikal National Park
Camino Real Tikal Westin
Westin San Jose
San Jose Westin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Camino Real Tikal staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
ny
Los Angeles, California
7 months ago
Edmond, Oklahoma
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Camino Real Tikal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have an amazing view to the Lake.”
  • view from the room
 of 5 bubbles 810heidip, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“While getting a 2nd floor room could possibly give you a better view of the lake, it is not guaranteed.”
 of 5 bubbles Outrunner75, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good, but i would pick a upper floor room. the room are only two levels”
 of 5 bubbles Tron8, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The top floor rooms have the best views. Normally, I don't luck out when the keys are given out. This time was the charm.”
 of 5 bubbles ArthurM624, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Looks like all rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles lasPa, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay