We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Rectory Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful place to stay with clean rooms, great staff and a quality restaurant. The breakfast was locally sourced and well cooked. We stayed for 2 days and will definitely go back as soon as we are able.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The most effective way to judge a hotel is how they deal with the exceptions and in this case it was, disappointingly. We arrived late having phoned ahead and were eventually greeted by someone whom I assume was the night porter, who had clearly been out the back having a cigarette. We were pointed in the general direction of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We do apologise whole heartedley that you were disturbed by the "Cricket Club" and you were disappointed. Just to clarify you had made an online booking of a twin bedded room with two additional beds and not one of our family suites. Your booking worked out to be under £30 per person night (inclusive...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I've just come back from a 2 night stay at the Old Rectory. First the staff. Friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile. They also saved me from the spider in my room. Second the food. Wow. You can not get better. Good menu with £20 for 3 courses and a good selection. Cooked to perfection. No microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bmurkin
Owner88, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the food was to your liking, so glad to hear someone came to your rescue with the spider and we hope to see you again if in the area.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had a truly perfect and magical wedding day at this wonderful venue. We want to give a massive thank you to Ian and his team for all the hard work they put in on our wedding day. Ian helped us to decorate the venue on the morning of our wedding and his team took the decorations down on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemmafaith2002
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both. It was a pleasure to be part of such a fantastic day. From all at The Old Rectory Hotel we wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

strathaven
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Poor food at dinner dismal restaurant,seems to be fine for function business.Finding staff seems to be a problem never anyone on reception,very busy with function business but not particularly welcoming to guests.Pub down the road goes the extra mile and the food and ambience is far better they also do B&B.ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE ENOUGH. Grounds could be much improved with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigglesStrathaven
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

I am disheartened to read your review of how felt regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and is frequently commented on. Had any issues been raised with us at the time i am certain we would do anything within our power to rectify. With regards to the grounds we invest a large amount of...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice. First stay room was ok, basic but ok. Staff friendly. When we checked out all was fine, checked bank after leaving and found they had taken the payment three times from our account. Took over a week for the money to come back to us. Second stay, room was very basic. Shower wasn't clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haynesyL
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review and i am saddened to read that we did maintain the experience you had on your first stay. On review of the monies claimed to have been debited from your account by us, we only took one payment from you on departure. As you had made an online booking for the incorrect night then cancelled it...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I am not quite certain whether we were put in a particularly poor part of the hotel ( judging by the reviews below ) but in all fairness the whole experience was very disappointing . Lovely surroundings and sufficient parking but it all pretty much ended there fir us - very tired reception which doesn't appear to have been renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juc574
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

I am deeply saddened to read your review and sorry we did not meet your expectations. We take all comments on board and address where ever possible. The hotel was developed in 1990 and has undergone numerous renovations since, as has the cottage which was developed in 2000. The shower doors have been rectified they had jumped out of the...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Myself and my husband stayed here from Wednesday until today (1st October). Although the hotel is situate on a main road we did not hear any noise whatsoever from our hotel room. The hotel is lovely set within its own grounds. The lady on reception was very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen j
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Good clean spacious room , so very friendly and attentive staff ,food and swimming pool excellent , I found the old Rectory to be cheaper and better than the other hotels I stayed in ,around Norfolk that week , We will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I booked this hotel for my 80 year old mother to have a four day break. She told me that everything about her stay was excellent. The staff were especially kind and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. She needed extra cushions for arthritis and after the first time requesting them to sit on at breakfast, somebody rushed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank painter100
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to meet and accommodate your mother, i know this was a big step for her. We look forward to seeing you soon.

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
16.4 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,004 reviews
7.4 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#6 of 50 in Norwich
1,002 reviews
3.3 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
3.9 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
735 reviews
7.8 km away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Price Range: $112 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room away from the function area”
 of 5 bubbles V6800WKianb, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ROOMS to the rear are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles bigglesStrathaven, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to book rooms 2 to 5”
 of 5 bubbles raysD3612BT, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the staff in advance”
 of 5 bubbles painter100, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 not recommended”
 of 5 bubbles ajstevens0n, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay