We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Rectory Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We've just returned from our friend's wedding. We had an amazing time. The food was lovely and the venue was ideal. The staff were friendly and made the bride and groom feel really supported. We finished off with a swim in the pool. It was really warm, despite the overcast weather. Would recommend for a wedding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2601
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and congratulations to the newly weds. It was a great day and fabulous atmosphere. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

The double room ensuite that I booked was nothing like I had expected from the photo on the website. We were shown to room 21 with a four poster double bed and a rather tired looking gloomy room. I did not feel well and did not complain but in retrospect I feel very disappointed in the hotel and would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajstevens0n
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry we did not meet your expectations this time, i can see you had cancelled, then re booked and modified the booking which changed from the super king bedroom to a standard. I am guessing this is the confusion relating to the room imagery. Please contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

SPALDING
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We choose this hotel because it has adjoining rooms which enable my wife and I to take our 3 grandchildren (11,10,7) and still have privacy. Both rooms have full facilities with bathrooms. The childrens' room has 3 single beds The hotel is convenient for Norwich, The Broads (Wroxham is close) and the coast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank APOLLO1991
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to see you again and glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you all again.

Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Last weekend we took over the entire hotel for our son's wedding. The ceremony, decorations, reception, food and rooms were all faultless. The staff were all attentive, hard-working and keen to please. The owner, Ian, could not have been more helpful and the same is true of Becky, the wedding organiser. Outstanding in all regards. Thank you so much for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and what a pleasure it was to be part of the special day. Congratulations to the newly weds, hoping they are having a lovely honeymoon and best wishes for the future.

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights when attending a friend's wedding. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. There was a wedding in the hotel (different than the one we were attending) and i was slightly concerned with the noise. However, we were given a room entirely at the end of the corridor which was certainly well-thought through and welcomed. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doortje_d
Owner88, General Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and pleased you had a nice stay.

Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

From the photos this looks like a quiet period hotel but most, if not all of the rooms, are in a modern annex. It is also situated on a very busy main road that is very noisy. The overflow car park is quite a way from the reception so our tip would be to drive up to reception and unload...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Localyokel2013
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. We value all of our customer feed back and act where ever possible.

North Yorkshire
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The Old Rectory Hotel is a pleasant mostly modern hotel. The rooms are reasonably well equipped and spacious and the dining room is light and airy. The grounds are also attractive and there is plenty of parking. The breakfast was good and the dinner reasonable but a little expensive. The staff were uniformly friendly. Would recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MuseNorthYorkshire
Owner88, General Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Decided on this hotel based on the good reviews and poor choices available in the city during the UEA graduation period. No regrets. Although travelling into Norwich was a daily 20 min journey, the ambiance, service, surroundings and fresh clean air more than made up for it. There aren't many rooms, but they were clean with comfortable beds and modern...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seow Loong F
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words it was a pleasure to meet you and your family congratulations on the graduation. hope to see you again if in the area

Southam
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Pleasant hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Adequate rooms, and nice grounds. Heated outdoor pool. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very tasty, and the evening meal good. Walls were paper thin, could hear the neighbours TV over ours!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahsmartie_12
Owner88, General Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we talk all comments on board and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

After having the worst experience at another hotel, we called up here and were immediately accommodated too. Absolutely stunning hotel and brilliant facilities. Staff are very helpful and good value for what you get. Excellent for a retreat type holiday. Would return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky G
Owner88, General Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were happy to accommodate you and thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
7.4 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,045 reviews
16.4 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,044 reviews
3.3 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,341 reviews
8.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
3.9 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Price Range: $111 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room away from the function area”
 of 5 bubbles V6800WKianb, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ROOMS to the rear are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles bigglesStrathaven, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to book rooms 2 to 5”
 of 5 bubbles raysD3612BT, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the staff in advance”
 of 5 bubbles painter100, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 not recommended”
 of 5 bubbles ajstevens0n, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5