We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
389-399 Conception Bay Highway, Bay Roberts, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 1G0 Canada
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
StayForLong
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Have you been to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Post photosWrite Review

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Roberts
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Inn,located within the breathtaking natural beauty of the Baccalieu Trail, offers our guests hospitality beyond expectation! Encounter the magic, mystery and wonder of our Newfoundland as it lifts your spirit, clears your mind, and brings peace to your heart. We have 20 spacious rooms, LCD, Cable TV, Wi-Fi, Mini Fridge & In Room Coffee. Hotel offers licensed dining room with traditional Newfoundland cuisine, cozy lounge, library or chat room, a children's play centre, picnic area with firepit. Located in the Town of Bay Roberts within minutes of shopping, walking trails, recreation complex and marina.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
19Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
AmN wrote a review Jun. 2022
St. John's3 contributions1 helpful vote
The place smelled really old upon entering, we proceeded to room which was ok, screens in windows was broken, no air-conditioning,view from window was OLD bikes and a unused outdoor pool full of crap. Went to go to bed and one of the kids seen creature on mattress which appeared to be bed bugs OMG owner just said ok and gave money back, like really and then we seen more. 10pm we left to find new place to stay The owner then knock on car window said it was Flys trying cover his butt but in fact was bedbugs So discussed
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
M.S wrote a review Jul. 2020
1 contribution
Overall nice place but the staff seem very condescending, especially the female manager (?), I didn’t feel welcome,. and did not feel good about asking for anything from her,,we only seen the two owners there, anda young girl. the young girl got us extra towels when we asked and was very polite, the male owner was also nothing but nice. I feel this place needs to work on its hospitality,, and does seem a little overpriced
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Passenger240651 wrote a review Aug. 2019
1 contribution
We recently had booked and stayed 1 night at the Silverwood... The Inn was dated and front lobby was cluttered and not clean. The rooms had a terrible smell, bedding had yellow stains. The Inn was well overpriced... We were not very well greeted and were told that we would have to pay adult prices for our 2 young teenagers because they were the height of an adult. We have never had an experience like this, and would not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
T.Vo wrote a review Jan. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was there for a week in the middle of cold winter just after the New year. But a warmly welcome from the owner and his staff makes me feel like home. Nice room and clean , home cooked meals were awesome . I will definitely stay there again on next business trip .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded Feb. 27, 2019
Thank you for the great review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert D wrote a review Jul. 2018
Bowmanville, Canada23 contributions3 helpful votes
Nice place to stay, longer stays may garner a discount. Good place to tour the four loops of the Avalon peninsula. We were told that it is very busy in August with concerts. The dining room serves very good steak at a reasonable price. The owner was excellent at providing local sites to visit. The gps will not take you to the right place so phone the Silverwood inn first for directions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Guy L wrote a review Jul. 2018
Twillingate, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed at this hotel during a kids ball tournament . The hotel is old , smelly, no air conditioning , fridge is unplugged when you leave, paint is scaling off and an aweful job with the paint touch ups. The shower head is pre dated 1970’s. Kids were in a room playing games when at approximately 10:20pm, quite time being 11pm were cornered in the room by a strange man, who stood in front of them , yelled at the kids till they were scared and cried, and went back To his room , because he had to get up early in the morning . Management seem to not mind that he assults the kids verbally , and that it was just him being angery . Not a good spot to stay with family !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded Oct. 17, 2018
Children are not to be left in any part of hotel unsupervised by a parent. We find most often that when parents come in a group for children's events they think they have rented the whole hotel with little or no supervision of the children. Quiet time at 11pm is not meant for children. Children should not be running & screaming up & down hallways at 11 pm with other guests in building. If you plan to leave your children unattended then you are right - this is not the hotel to book
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin M wrote a review May 2018
21 contributions55 helpful votes
We were visiting town to see a local artist. A good experience! The owners were very friendly and offered to cook meals anytime we wanted. The room was also nice and had very comfortable beds. The only thing I would mention is when we were out of town to attend to a concert, we never got back to the building to after 2:00AM. Once we got there, we were terrified as we realized the door to the lobby was locked and we couldn't get it in. We called the number shown in the porch and the owner came and let us in after about 5 minutes. After a few drinks and for a few minutes we thought we were going to be sleeping in the porch of the hotel. This was a very minor concern during our stay, as the service and friendliness of the owners were great. A heads up would of been nice that doors would be locked at a certain time, but all was great, and we would return!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karen M wrote a review Feb. 2018
Burin, Newfoundland, Canada13 contributions5 helpful votes
Booked in early February for three nights. No restaurant available contrary to advertised amenities. If you like naked teens asking for towels and a host that doesn’t care, this place is for you. Find somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded Feb. 22, 2018
Are you the same guest who we allowed to bring a dog and you put the doggy doo in the ashtray on our front steps? Are you the same guest who we offered dinner from the restaurant twice and you refused?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siro89 wrote a review Aug. 2017
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We never had the opportunity to stay at the silverwood inn because the reservation did not get that far so I cannot comment on quality of the facility itself, however, I can comment on the level of customer service I received as a potential guest. We had originally reserved a room at the silverwood for two nights. They have a 48hr cancellation policy so 4 days before our stay we cancelled for the first night as our plans had changed. This seemed not to be a problem. Upon a phone call from a friend to discuss a call she received from the silverwood inn about her reservation, I called to see what the issue was. I was very rudely spoken to by a woman who I assume to be the manager and patiently listened to her rant on about how they were a small hotel and only make their money in the summer and for anyone we know to cancel now or their card would be charged. I tried to explain how our plans had changed and we no longer needed two nights but was abruptly haulted mid-sentence because she wasn't finished yelling at me. She ended the conversation by hanging up on me after I asked to cancel my reservation (which I was not within the 48hr window as their policy states). It was despicable and outright rude and not what you would expect from a facility who you were going to give business to. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is unfortunate for the owner since I had multiple conversations with him and he seemed to be nice and understanding. But he needs to choose his staff more wisely if he expects to receive business. Not a good experience at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded Sep. 20, 2017
Thank you for your review. We had several rooms with 3 day stay blocked out for a team travelling from St. Anthony for many weeks during our peak season. We turned away many guests for that time period. A few days before the booking we had multiple bookings cancelled or request less nights. Knowing that we would not have the time to re-rent these rooms in our peak season was very upsetting. As I tried to explain that a small hotel in a small town have limited opportunities. Some hotels charge a non refundable deposit for team bookings and we will look into this for the future. I apologize for ranting this to you. You were the last guest from your group to confirm or cancel your reservation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Duals98 wrote a review Sep. 2016
Fergus, Canada18 contributions30 helpful votes
yes, a bit tired as someone said earlier, but the people really make up for it. The basics are there and the amenities are basic but all there. They are very welcoming, and helpful and really want to please. They will go above and beyond as someone else has indicated. if I returned to this area, I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All rooms to see equitable
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded Sep. 18, 2016
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$127 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandBay Roberts
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Silverwood Inn Hotel - Reviews, Prices UPDATED 2022 - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silverwood Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bay Roberts Shoreline Heritage Walk (3.2 km), Cupids Legacy Centre (4.9 km), and The Newfoundland Distillery Company (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Quay, Skipper Ben's, and The Captain's Table.
Are there any historical sites close to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Brigus Tunnel (7.1 km).
Is Silverwood Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.