We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbour View Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newlyn
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Harbour View Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night stay in this spacious well run b and b . Excellent view over harbour as you would expect. Joy was a very helpful and welcoming host. Great value for money. We are walking the coastal path and all 4 of us agreed this was the best we have stayed in during the 350 miles we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andybigboy
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Excellent location, service, hospitality, food and value. We would definately recommend Harbour view. Unfortunately we will probably not return in the near future as we are expecting a baby, but we loved our stay here.

Helpful?
Thank HolidayHoliday75648
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had a very warm welcome at Harbour View, great breakfast, and hosts were most helpful in giving advice about the village and surroundings. Our room and bathroom was average, but overall clean and priced correctly. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Federicotrip
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Myself and my Best friend went on a girly trip together, over two years ago now, and we stayed at this welcoming, homely and fantastically situated B&B for 5 days. We were hosted by a gorgeous lady who made us feel very comfortable. We went in early spring, so the weather was hit and miss, but coming back to a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Molly M
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed at Harbour View Guest House in Newlyn for a week and wish I could be back there now. My room overlooked the harbour and so I had a splendid view of both Penzance and Newlyn when the weather was sunny. It made a huge and refreshing contrast to London views. My room had a shower, which was excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isobel K
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife, daughter, and I truly enjoyed our 4 night break at the Harbour View. Joy was extremely helpful and attended to all the details that made our stay so enjoyable. Our rooms were very comfortable, clean, homey and had tremendous views. We enjoyed the hearty breakfasts and really appreciated Joy's little touches to make the Harbour View into our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin G
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Me and my Mum stayed at Harbour View for 3 nights and it really was a home from home. We were unexpectedly given the fantastic family room on the the top floor which was very clean, very comfortable (great sofa!) and has the most amazing views across the whole of Newlyn harbour. Joy and Pete really made us feel at... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatureStrikesBack
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Harbour View is a very nice BB and Joy made everything she could to make us feel great. The room was clean and comfortable -we had an amazing view from the bow window, nice details such as shortbreads and milk for the tea in the room. Very good service for the breakfast, a lot of choice from full english to... More 

Helpful?
Thank LuzSid
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to submit such a glowing review. I too really enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back to visit some time. I hope you got your tooth sorted once and for all. Kind regards Joy More 

Prescot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We arrived early evening and was offered a choice of rooms, which were all clean and comfortable.We stayed for 2 nights and Joy and her partner did everything possible to ensure we were comfortable. Myself and two Sisters had the top floor flat which consisted of a Double bedroom and two single rooms and a good sized Bathroom. We certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne N
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Don't waste your money. Uncomfortable beds, not exactly clean - in fact it was quite grotty. Would not stay here again or recommend it.

Helpful?
5 Thank J B
Joy C, Owner at Harbour View Guest House, responded to this review

Your review was written at a time when the Guest House was closed, so I cannot trace when it was you stayed with us. I am sorry you did not like the accommodation. We did have one problem double mattress before we closed for the Season, but that has now been replaced. I would like to have the opportunity to... More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlyn
2.7 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
733 reviews
1.5 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
391 reviews
0.0 km away
The Smugglers
The Smugglers
#2 of 5 in Newlyn
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 88 in Penzance
117 reviews
0.4 km away
Panorama Guest House
Panorama Guest House
#1 of 5 in Newlyn
118 reviews
2.2 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#2 of 6 in Mousehole
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newlyn harbourside Guest House has stunning views from all double rooms across the harbour and Mounts Bay - situated between Penzance and Mousehole in SW Cornwall - 10 miles from St Ives and Lands End. There is a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with free tea/coffee and wifi. We are the only B&B in Newlyn which has direct 180 degree views across the bay, and we are the cheapest. Free Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the harbour. We also welcome children from age 3. Our king-size double room, overlooking the harbour, has CH, wifi, digital tv, tea/coffee tray, hairdryer, alarm clock radio, toiletries and private facilities i.e. a shower in the room and your own private toilet across the landing. It can be booked as a single or double occupancy. Our Suite 3 has a single bedded room overlooking the harbour, a rear single room, and adjoining that a private bathroom. It can be booked as a single or double occupancy. Our Top Flat, on the 2nd floor, sleeps up to 4 persons in a front king-size double room overlooking the harbour, a front living room with 4-seater settee and single bed and fridge, a rear single room with another single bed. The flat contains one private bathroom, but no kitchen facilities. There are plenty of local pubs servicing food and 3 restaurants. Our local village is 300 yards down the hill with a variety of shops. We are on the coastpath, cycle route 3, a main bus route and have coastal walking in both directions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour View Guest House

Address: 22 Fore Street, Newlyn, Penzance TR18 5JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance > Newlyn
Price Range: $47 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour View Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Harbour View Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room1 double room is highly recommended for a short stay. Has an amazing view from a lovely bay window.”
 of 5 bubbles Burdju, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Penthouse where we had lots of space & privacy”
 of 5 bubbles 404porter, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms seemed good.”
 of 5 bubbles ritab377, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Suite 4 the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles Marcohacienda, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in suite three which had a great view of the harbour from the double bedroom and a comfortable and very quiet twin bedroom at the back. The suite had a bathroom with shower over the bath and there was also an additional shower between the two bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles brigidl_11, 24 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5