We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Olde Plough House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulphan
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 236: English reviews
Start your review of Ye Olde Plough House
 Click to rate
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We attended a wedding at this location where the lay out on one floor is very conducive to that type of function. The wedding as such was good and well organised. Looking wider a the hotel this has very basic rooms but these were for a reasonable price of £75 b&b for two. Slight annoyance is that you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
Maldon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had my retirement do here. What a great night the staff are fantastic so helpful and friendly. The food was a buffet and it was lovely. The venue is clean and bright and could be used for all sorts of occasions. I also stayed overnight and my room was clean tidy and very warm. The breakfast was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HappyGW
Management response:

Many thanks for your review, i am pleased the Plough was able to contribute to such a special occasion. I will pass your thanks onto our staff.

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I have stayed here before and would do again. The rooms are accessed directly from the car park, which i like Its convenient for local things to do I only marked it down because it could do with a full length mirror in the room. Nowadays it shouldn't be falling don on a small point like that Also, it says...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
Management response:

Thank you for your review. I do apologise there was not a mirror in the room, full mirrors are in all our rooms. I have asked the housekeeper personally to check and rectify this matter. We are pleased we can offer free wifi, the code can be obtained from reception. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

food was ok although small portions and raw parsnips. one of our starters turnt up 10 minutes after everyone else in our party had finished our starters, dinner was ok but raw parsnips. after dessert we was left with our dirty plates and glasses on the table for 50 minutes which was only cleared when we had asked for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Absmoggy12
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Went here for our niece's wedding. The stay began very well when we arrived early, having asked for early access to change into wedding clothes. This was achieved with a smile and all round can do attitude. Our room was toasty warm on a cold day and very clean. Fresh bedding and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VSDundon
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review, I will pass on your comments to our staff. We will look forward to welcoming you again hopefully in the future.

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2017

VERY GOOD FOOD SUNDAY LUNCH SALE Sunday 29th January 2017 £12.95 per person Three course meal including coffee Child menu (under 10 years of age) £7.00 per child Menu Starters Mozzarella melters with chilli dip Leek & Potato soup Prawn cocktail with Marie rose sauce Cheesy garlic bread Mains Roast Topside of Beef with Yorkshire pudding Roast Chicken with Sausage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beverlycam
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Used the hotel for a mid-week overnight stay. Warm welcome. Very good sized neat tidy room. Breakfast in morning very good. Easy access off A128 and way cheaper than local chain hotels. Would certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger r
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I must say I was slightly concerned when I read some recent reviews before my visit but my daughter in law organised it so I went with an open mind. On arrival we had a coach load of people just leaving, what I can only guess was an earlier sitting, the bar was full of people but unmanned so we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff H
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family on 8 for my mother in laws birthday, was shown to the bar area when we arrived and before we could order a drink we were shown to our table. Starters arrived within 5 mins and were all delicious. We all had the Mozerella Dippers and Prawn Cocktail, both presented very nice. We then waited over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
wickford
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We visited Ye Old Plough House recently for a family wedding with my Mum, the Grandmother of the bride. Mum was in a wheelchair and I was pushing it all day. The place is lovely, well decorated and the service and food were good. My complaints are about poor wheelchair access everywhere! The wedding seemed to move from level to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quslt

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulphan
4.3 km away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
283 reviews
4.2 km away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
538 reviews
9.0 km away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
6.5 km away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
676 reviews
6.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
73 en suite bedrooms bordering the grounds at Ye Olde Plough House. All rooms are tastefully decorated and have either bath or shower,colour television and tea & coffee making facilities, there is also ample car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde Plough House

Address: Bulphan RM14 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Bulphan
Number of rooms: 71
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Plough House Hotel Bulphan
Ye Olde Plough Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde Plough House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Plough House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the main gate is better, lower numbers i think”
 of 5 bubbles T8984QPdana, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms near reception have views of the garden and stream.”
 of 5 bubbles VSDundon, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are well sheilded from main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 586rogerr, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles SamD51, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 21 which overlooked the grounds which was quiet and had a picture postcard view of the grounds.”
  • From our room a view of the gardens.
 of 5 bubbles stevenc546, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5