We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ascott Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ascott Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

321 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 319: English reviews
Poznaň, Polsko
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Absolutely perfect match for short stays in Manchester. Great localisation. Brilliant and extremely helpful staff. I felt like was visiting my good, old friends. Everything you need for a comfortable business trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marta K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow, what a gem, this was the most comfortable bed and best night’s sleep I had. The hotel is quirky, but if you are fed up with the chain hotels and want something different then try the Ascott. The problem is when you are travelling and go outside what you know it can be hit and miss on your hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil S
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel with attentive owners. Although we only stayed a single night the impression was very positive and we would stay here again when in the area. Homely rooms with a wholesome breakfast and ample parking can only mean an excellent rating!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaymeadow57
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went as 2 couples and booked 2 double rooms for a few days Christmas Shopping in Manchester, and to visit the Christmas markets. The Hotel was clean and homely, with a lovely friendly welcome. Our rooms were fine, with clean en-suite facilities. The breakfast was lovely and we felt well looked after. The building is an older set of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_MK
DavidAscott, Manager at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review

The heating is on when we are open if you arrive early before checkin it is not Thank you for your review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Don't stay here the owner was the most rudest ignorant person and spoke down to me in an horrendous manner infront of my child! Booked a room which said pay on arrival to b brought out the owner who came out all guns blazing calling me a liar practically and he doesn't take cash and turned me away! Came out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma708163
DavidAscott, Manager at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review

You booked a prepaid room on Booking.com your card declined Booking .com emailed you 24 hours before arrival asking for new card details .when you did not answer there calls or emails after 24 hours the booking was cancelled on there site. A per paid booking is exactly that paid at time of booking. As to the receptionist attitude (not...

Stornoway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you book this for one nights stay one of the booking websites and it says hotel, I expect a hotel. I should have done more research. I was expecting to be able to get an evening meal. Not have to walk half an hour (apparent just down the road) still only find a local chippy. I can only assume...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebesttaxilady
DavidAscott, Manager at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review

You neglect to mention you booked a Budget room £55.00 with no breakfast (room only) You did not purchase the breakfast so how you can say (not much to write home about) we are not sure, perhaps you posses mystic powers which if you did you would have found Monton village 7 minutes walk ,with about 20 restaurants / bars...

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Was very pleased to have found this hotel - very good value, decent sized room and very comfortable bed - excellent cleanliness throughout. Ideal for my work related overnight stay. Yes, the management need you to check-in before 10pm as they don't have 24 hour service and do send a number of reminders to that effect - but even then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Really lovely place to stay in, lovely room and very clean, breakfast was excellent. Went to the shopping centre and to the christmas market. You pay 2 pounds for a tea or coffee or hot chocolate and you keep the cup how cool is that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen A
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights whilst in Manchester for work. Really lovely hotel, the room and all facilities were always kept very clean. My room was beautifully decorated and lovely and warm. The bed was one of the most comfiest I've ever slept in! The floorboards are a little creaky as you would expect in an old building, there were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph B
Yorkshire Uk
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

I don't know what it is with hotels lately expecting guests to arrive to a cold room. It is winter in the UK heating should be on. I wouldn't sit in a cold room at home and don't expect to when I am away. The heating did come on eventually but only after I asked for it to be turned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank york1
DavidAscott, Manager at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review

The reason your room was cold was because you arrived before the check in time ,perhaps we should have told you to wait outside un till it was time to check in that way you would have had a warm room. Double beds and double mattresses are a standard size so we cannot comment on that. Thank you for your...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
4.4 km away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
3.6 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Hotel Football Old Trafford
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,309 reviews
4.3 km away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
3.2 km away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Price Range: $85 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ascott Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ascott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms I am sure are great and individual”
 of 5 bubbles , 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay here if going to Manchester city centre or Media City as the tram stop is only a 15 minute walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Gaymeadow57, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the car park may not have the best view but they are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 998jan, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The budget rooms will be smaller.”
 of 5 bubbles 216tonim, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“front of building will reduce noise from motorway”
 of 5 bubbles Gingerpiman, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay