We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
Lancashire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Very disappointed in my stay there recently. The building looks fabulous from the front and from what I saw of the gardens they look great however inside the building there was no character and it felt like a hospital. The bar area is tiny. I arrived about 9ish in the evening and I just wanted a bar snack however this... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyELancashire
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear AndyELancashire We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here recently. As you may have seen from other reviews this is not the usual feedback we receive. However, we take on board your comments to provide a platform from which to move forward from. We do hope that you are able to return to experience... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Just came back from a stay for my wife's birthday. The service was good and the grounds are beautiful. The room was ok, a little tired in places but good enough to enjoy and a great view of the lovely grounds. There was a wedding on and out room was right on top of it which disturbed me until the... More 

Helpful?
Thank FruitBat71
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear FruitBat71 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Ponsbourne Park. We are please to hear that you found the service and that grounds to a good standard. It is disappointing to hear that you were able to hear the music from the wedding as we endeavour to ensure that we locate all non-wedding... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've been working on a major client project for the past 3 years. They book the hotels, and they use De Vere venues a lot. I'm always gobsmacked at how poor the bedroom TV offering is: old sets, very poor reception (lots of 'snow' - like the 1960's) and four or five channels. Not even Freeview on offer. Please get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murficles
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Murficles Thank you for posting your recent review following your stay here with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was let down by the availability of the TV and that you wouldn't recommend us on this basis. We do hope that you change your mind in the future and get the opportunity to return.... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Booked the hotel for an overnight stay to break up a journey up north. Hotel was very cheap so wasn't expecting too much when we arrived but we're pleasently surprised. Staff were very friendly and willing to help, room was clean and a nice size. Shower was hot and good pressure. Coffee and tea area downstairs was a nice touch... More 

Helpful?
Thank nightlim
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear nightlim Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on Tripadvisor following your stay here at Ponsbourne Park. We are pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations in terms of the room and the team here. If is great that you were able to take advantage of our freeflowing tea and coffee. Please do return... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

What a great offer! Def value for money ... Room was cool beds comfy - staff was friendly - had dinner which included bottle of wine. Emma & George was our waiters & were absolutely great. Couldn't of wanted more. They were fun and made the dinner very enjoyable. Would def use again and go back. Thanks guys ! 😋... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Sinead F Thank you for posting your kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent Wowcher stay here at Ponsbourne Park. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that Emma and George looked after you so well. We hope that you get the opportunity to return in the near future. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Attended a wedding reception here on 27/Aug. The hotel is tucked away and currently the subject of some sales speculation. The service for the wedding was excellent, with the traditional sequence of events well managed and organised. The food was very good quality and the wedding breakfast passed very well. There was a BBQ in the evening which was again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip H
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Philip H Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor following the wedding you attended here at Ponsbourne Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your time here - the team will be pleased that they made the day so memorable. We do hope that you get the opportunity... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Stayed here on a voucher deal. Fantastic value for money. Staff are great and also the food. Dinner and breakfast served in the bistro. Food was beautifully cooked and so much of it, Would go again. The grounds are beautiful. Near to the M25 and the A10 Was told by staff it was closing down at the end of Dec.... More 

Helpful?
Thank toro212
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear toro212 Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor following your stay here recently. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The team will be really pleased to read your comments about themselves ans also the food. It is great to hear that you were also able to take advantage of our beautiful... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Staying for three nights on business at this hotel was very comfortable, pleasant staff, amazing views and surroundings, the room was good clean and comfortable, TV needed attention but overall it was a very pleasant, one funny thing though at the desk checking out to be told that I owe £00.02 “Two Pence” he laughed adding that he did not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Morhaf A
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Morhaf A Thank you for your nice review after your 3 night business stay here at Ponsbourne Park. It is great to read your comments about the team, the views, the hotel and grounds and the room. We are really pleased that these contributed to your relaxing stay here We hope that you are able to come and stay... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Staff at the hotel were great and made my Birthday a fantastic party. A special thanks to Tegan, Dan, Leanne and Katie and also all the staff that he'd helped up to and including this day Alan Dickens

Helpful?
2 Thank alanandsteph
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear alanandsteph Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor following your 70th Birthday lunch here at Ponsbourne Park. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic day. Tegan, Dan, Leanne and Katie will be over the moon to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Team... More 

Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Stayed for one night on a voucher deal. What amazing value for money it turned out to be. Set in beautiful surroundings in a good location. We had a comfortable room but the highlight of our stay was a delicious 3 course meal in the restaurant. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Every... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KazboSussex_UK
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear KazboSussex_UK Thank you for posting your kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent meal and stay here at Ponsbourne Park. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your time here so much and that team and the meal exceeded your expectations. We are really pleased to hear that you would return here and we look forward to seeing... More 

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newgate Street
6.4 km away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
5.7 km away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
605 reviews
11.6 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
7.4 km away
Royal Chace Hotel
Royal Chace Hotel
#2 of 5 in Enfield
515 reviews
14.9 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by over 200 acres and set in the peaceful oasis of the Hertfordshire countryside, the combination of space, tranquility and friendly staff will help you feel quickly at home at Ponsbourne Park. The 19th-century house offers a blend of classic elegance brought stunningly up to date by stylish and creative design. Our facilities are the perfect tonic for today's hectic lifestyle. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast before a game of golf or tennis in the grounds or you could use the gym. (Please note that our pool will not be open for the summer of 2013). With Ponsbourne Park easily accessible from London, the M25 and Stanstead Airport, you have the perfect mix of town and country benefits in one great venue. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Address: De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Newgate Street
Price Range: $86 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel Newgate Street
Ponsbourne Park Hertfordshire
Ponsbourne Park Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have a room out the front the ones at the back are peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles 573craigh, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles allan2952, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose an alternative hotel..!”
 of 5 bubbles AndyELancashire, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“121, 122, 123 have good views over the Pitch & Putt and are high enough to be quiet although revellers in the garden may linger.”
 of 5 bubbles philiph782, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy your stay it is good all round”
  • Desk in the bedroom
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles morhafa963, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay