We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilly Side Home Stay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suntikoppa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hilly Side Home Stay
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

10 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a terrible experience in this home stay. The rooms, linen everything was dirty,rooms were damp and smelly as if didn't get cleaned since a long time.Bedroom false ceiling had a hole in it , looked like rat can jump out of it anytime. There was only one caretaker and he too didn't show much hospitability. Food quantity and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShilG_2017
D R T, Guest Relations Manager at Hilly Side Home Stay, responded to this review

Hi, It's unfortunate that your stay at Hillyside wasn't as expected. During the rainy and winter season, the moisture levels cause the rooms to develop a musty spell however the rooms are cleaned daily and bed linen changed as well. With regards to the ceiling, these are high ceiling tiled roofs and because of heavy rains, repair work was underway....

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We were 7 of us, youngsters, who booked the cottage for a day. The experience was so great that we decided to extend it to 2 days!! To our luck, the rooms were available. Hillyside estate is beautiful. Food is excellent - We had some yummy Rice balls & Aloo curry for breakfast one morning. The river side is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pallavikraj
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 April 2016

We had been here with my parents and kid. We had booked two rooms and the booking was done 4 days earlier. The house looks old and is not maintained properly. Walls have long cracks, floor is dusted and does not seem like the caretaker Joyappa is bothered about it. There are torn portraits on the wall and some broken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happy2trip2016
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

I had been here in December 2012.We were 10 cousins and took the whole house for our stay. This homestay is not your regular hotel so do not expect the facilities of hotel. This property is around 5 kms from the main road, inside a village and about 15 kms from madikere so get all your basic necessities along. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SumitNagori
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 15 May 2015

I wasnt informed that this is 6 KM from main road in the middle of forest. Pitch dark in the night with Power failure, bathrooms with cockroch and lizards, bit stincking bedroom. Exterior looks good, interior is not good,especially bathroom are nightmare. If u can spare these things , its a calm and aloof place from city.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 36msshiva
chennai
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Hello All - I have booked this place with the help of travel agency. As per the plan, we supposed to reach this place around 2pm afternoon - (check in time) but unfortunately had to reach at 8 PM. There is no proper route, and located in dense forest felt bit scary until reaching the place. We then immediately made...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank arunanu
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been to coorg twice and have stayed at two different places.. This time i ended up in Hilly side with the other three reviews. - The location is good , seperate cottage and has privacy - The place is very dusty, Unkept, Carpets are old, Utensils are old. There are many spiders all around the living room and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AhhAhoy
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked this for a nights stay in coorg. It's simply superb & the best part of the estate is it's location and it's manager joyappa who cook's the best coorgi cuisines like Koli Saaru,Akki Rotti,Pandi Fry,Kadumbu etc.. The place is very quite and comfortable, all the basic necessities are taken care of, the place has a very homely atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Praneethmr
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I booked this home stay for a 2 day getaway and I was really impressed by this place, tucked back 5kms away from the main roads, all you can hear in this place is the chirping of birds. The place is very quite and comfortable, all the basic necessities are taken care of, the place has a very homely atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AkshayBiradar
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 6 October 2012

To experience the natural beauty of Coorg one should stay at Hillyside Estate. The esate is in the woods & surrounded by Coffee Plantations. It was a great experience. We went in a group of 8 members. The Estate has a beautiful lawn where different outdoor games can be played. One can just lie down on the hammock & watch...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DebChandrani

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suntikoppa
0.0 km away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Somvarpet
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
194 reviews
0.0 km away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Parampara Resort & Spa, Coorg
0.0 km away
The Windflower Resort and Spa, Coorg
0.0 km away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spend your weekend at a coffee estate. Hillyside offers you two bedrooms in a beautiful setting on the banks of the Harangi river and dam waters. This property is an ancesteral home and maintains much of the rustic beauty and is coupled with the convenience of a homestay. This is ideal for anyone looking to live amongst nature, giving the authentic experience of life in a coffee plantation. Since this is a home we request visitors not to expect the luxury and amenities that are associated with other hotels or resorts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilly Side Home Stay

Address: Hilly Estate, Suntikoppa 571237, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Suntikoppa
Price Range: $26 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilly Side Home Stay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If ur visiting first time to coorg, would recommend hotel in city”
 of 5 bubbles 36msshiva, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“Go for the room's in the main cottage and the one with the fire place is best for couples.”
  • Bed Room
  • Bed Room
 of 5 bubbles Praneethmr, 1 Jul 2013 | Read review
2 of 2