Hotel dei Principati

Hotel dei Principati

Via Salvatore Allende 88, 84081, Baronissi Italy
Traveller (177)
Room & Suite (56)
Ristorante
Dining (50)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Baronissi
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Italian, Ukrainian
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
565Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 180
  • 245
  • 102
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Henrik N wrote a review Jan 2016
Toulon, France
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has a nice appearance but in the details you will see things:

I was in the room 302 which is on the last floor and the furthest from elevator and corridors - actually the last room on the floor - the room was extremely quiet and I slept like a baby.
However the price for that is bad Internet connection I guess, the Internet was jumping out so many time during the evening that I wasn't enjoying it.

- The staff can not really English. Even at the reception where you will "expect" them to speak some English. But some of the employees were really friendly and tried hard.
- I have experienced to wait 10mins for the barman to show up for an evening drink but then he poor me a glass strong enough to almost make forget about the waiting time.
- the breakfast choice is the lowest I have ever experienced, it was basically : cornflakes and some others cereals,boiled eggs or scrambled, cheese and ham, bread and marmalade. That was a bit deceiving! However the coffee was good and strong enough that it could have awakened a dead.
- However the dinner was good, a bit overpriced ( normal in a hotel ) but good though.
- the hotel is located very near to the university campus so it was very convenient for researchers.
- the TV channels are all in Italian and half of them have a bad reception so you can't actually watch them.

It is an ok hotel if you want to be left alone :D ( not interaction )
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StePart wrote a review Oct 2014
Thessaloniki, Greece
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been visiting Salerno and staying in hotel Dei Principati as last year. I can surely say that the level of services has been increased, yet has more to go.
The restaurant is great and the food "very good Italian" (it needs to be more clean: seats, table clothes, etc).
Very clean rooms and beds that welcome you (please add some international channels on TV).
I hope to get there soon again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
geog81 wrote a review Oct 2012
Athens, Greece
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Been there for 6 nights. The first night was bad because the mattress in room 116 was damaged. Breakfast is OK, but scrambled eggs have sometimes the taste of the gas heater. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean, warm and quite. LCD TV, fridge, free WiFi and jacuzzi-like shower cabin are some of the room's amenities. Staff is excellent and will fulfill your demands.
The Hotel is situated literally in the middle of nowhere, next to a large IKEA store, a gas station and the autostrada. They offer a shuttle bus to Salerno Railway Station for 10euros (taxi is double the price and you never know when the buses arrive).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Room 116 has a damaged mattress. Rooms on the west side have a beautiful mountain view (above...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gertie700 wrote a review Jun 2016
Alessandria, Italy
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a stop along the road when nothing else can be found. It overlooks a gas station and IKEA, and is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It is frequented by touring groups with set meals mainly as unappetizing as they look.
The rooms are adequate although the setting down of two suitcases rather than one is a problem as space is provided for one although the room is for two. We had to wait for a plumber to fix the tap as this whirled around without giving out water.
The service was quick. A light switch gave out crackles and sparks and that had to be fixed too.
The restaurant was nice to look at but the food was pretty awful. Breakfast wasn't much better. I presume that being in a tour everything was done on a budget, but if so why try to make meals so pretentious when in Italy a decent plate of rice or pasta followed by a mixed salad with eggs or tuna and some fruit would have satisfied everyone at a low cost.?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Afroditi B wrote a review Aug 2019
Athens, Greece
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the hotel with a group of tourists from Greece, in August 2019. Unfortunately it is not what you expect for a 4 stars hotel.
- Breakfast : not very rich, lack of variety
- Dinner: bad cooked, not tasteful, no choices (the first course rice with seafood, the second course fish... If you were allergic - something not rare with these food -they didn't serve anything else... After many reactions they brought "hamburger" to a lady, which was extra charged), awful wines.
-Outdoor spaces: a space with tables and chairs without staff to order something, dirty, with hills of cigarettes in the ashtrays
-Rooms: enough space, clean, with decent minibar, many towels. But: extremely bad view (you can observe the photo), dirty and dangerous to fall "floor" in the "jacuzzi". Not satisfying number of power plugs in the room and the power supply was not sufficient to use a television and a hair dryer at the same time...!!! The window had no window screen, so you couldn't open it, even for a while. The television had only BBC
for the tourists and all the rest were dubbing Italian channels...
-Staff: not very polite, (ok not rude though), with lack of speaking other languages besides Italian..
Attention: the hotel is located far away from Salerno center and it is totaly isolated, if you need something...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Principati, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel dei Principati
Responded Aug 29, 2019
Dear Guest; thank you for reviewing your stay experience on TripAdvisor; and thank you for sharing it with the entire community. We're sorry you didn't like the services offered during your stay at Dei Principati Hotel. You have complained about a not rich or varied breakfast. Well, if you browse through the reviews of other Guests on TripAdvisor, you can realize the vast assortment of product we offer for the breakfast (both sweet and savory). In particular, we have the classic Neapolitan "sfogliatella" ("frolla" and "riccia"... and much more). As for the Dinner, we point out that there was no possibility of choice on your part, as the Menu was already predefined with the Agency organizing the trip. We strongly believe that the courses were not "bad cooked", indeed, they were characterized by being typical of the Campania tradition (Pasta alla Nerano, Zucchini alla Scapece on Sea Bass Fillet, Buffalo Meat Burger with cherry tomatoes and cucumbers .. .and much more). In the case of allergies and / or intolerances to particular products, again, it would have been the precise task and duty of the Tour Operator organizer of the Journey to notify us of the changes to be made to the meals: this happens, normally, in the case of organized groups. In relation to the external space, we note that it is furnished and designed as a place for relaxation and entertainment for smoking guests, as smoking is not allowed inside. The small outdoor terrace can be used from 9.00 pm to 11.00 pm. We apologize if you have found cigarette ends just left behind by the Clients in the ashtrays. Regarding the positioning of the power outlets in the rooms, we underline that the design choice for the realization of the Hotel has responded to criteria of well-being, comfort and protection of the health of the Guests. In fact, damage to health that can be created due to excessive exposure to radiation from mobile phones is well known, especially if positioned close to comfort and rest areas. As for the problems encountered with the power supply of the hairdryer and the TV, we would like to point out that our rooms allow a maximum power consumption of 1.5 KiloWatt / hour. It isn't allowed the use of professional hairdryers that absorb more than (1.500 Watt) 1,5 KiloWatt, but only travel hairdryer. For this reason, the bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer with features in accordance with the absorption of the electrical system. We hope to meet you, during your subsequent travel experiences, in our Hotel: maybe we will be able to change your mind! Greetings from the Hotel Manager and all the staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caterina O wrote a review Jul 2016
Glasgow, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived for 3 night stay. Booked family room for 2 adults and 16 year old. Room was nice but bed for teenager was broken. Went to reception to tell them - big kafuffle. I don't expect people to be able to speak English, I have no other languages and am put to shame by the talents of the people we meet when travelling. So I was ok with having to speak to someone on the phone because the receptionist wasn't fully understanding the issue nor could she comprehend why I was unhappy with one of us just staying in another room. Spoke to woman on the phone who was very abrupt - said if child wasn't old enough to stay in a room 2 floors away then either me or my husband could and hung up on me. I asked to speak to the manager. Understandably he didn't speak any English and spent the next 15 minutes trying to get someone for me to speak to on phone. Eventually I was put on to a man - he also couldn't understand that we didn't want a 2nd room for one of us to stay in - kept saying it was a Sunday? What could I expect? I was told to wait for the house keeper to come from another town to look at the bed. I was not willing to do this - it had been around 30 minutes by then - and who knew how long it would be before the issue was resolved, I really didn't want to ruin any more of my holiday. We were told we would all have to move to an inferior room. I asked how we were going to be compensated for this. The man on the phone was incredulous that I should expect reimbursement for moving to a cheaper room. I was then offered a free coffee while we waited on the housekeeper! I declined. We moved room and went out to enjoy the rest of our day. When we came back we went for a drink at the bar - the bartender was very nice and apologised for the problem but told us the bed was fixed and we were to move back. My husband told reception we were not going to move rooms again at this late stage, he was told that we could stay in the room that night (it was after 10pm). Next morning we were again told by reception we had to move back to the room. Again I refused. When we arrived in on 2nd night room key wouldnt work so we had to go to reception. We checked out after 2 nights and moved to a different hotel. On checking out no one wanted to know why. I had to ask to leave a comment and my email address should someone wish to contact me about this. Other than the hassle ...

Good bits
Location handy for exploring area
Clean
Decent breakfast lots of choice (fun to watch other residents sneak rolls and cakes into their bags)
as said above - lovely bartender
Free parking

Ok bits
Room size

Not so good bits
Air con not great
No fan available
Shower looks great (can sit down and have jets shower you) but very uncomfortable
2 out of 3 of us had difficulty in connecting to WiFi (didn't like apple products)
Safe temperamental
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Principati, Responsabile reception at Hotel dei Principati
Responded Jul 15, 2016
Dear Caterina; thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor community: reading our customers' reviews helps us to improve service. We apologize for the inconvenience due to unpredictable failure of the bed. We tried immediately to fix it but the maintenance staff were temporarily engaged in another job. We didn’t know that you and your family had to go out otherwise we could solve the problem during your absence without any discomfort and waiting from your side. When you came back in fact the problem was solved and we proposed to return again in the room with the double bed. We are sorry if there was some misunderstanding. We also apologize for the difficulties due to the English language, our company deals with with international markets, and the operator on duty was able to understand the Russian language but unfortunately less the English one. We apology for the inconvenience again...we hope that you will be again our guest so we can show that it was a singular event. Greetings PS: The bartender thank you for the express compliment!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Busy_Girl_HB wrote a review Nov 2015
Napier, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night on our way from Sicily to Rome. An excellent hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean. Great to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Bathroom spotless. Our room was very quiet during the night, bed comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant, Enzo and his colleague were very helpful and professional. Breakfast good, all the usual you get in Italy for breakfast with the addition of scrambled eggs. The wifi was not the best, only two devices can be used and the signal was not very reliable. The only other negative we experienced was when checking in, the staff member was not at all friendly and in fact was quite unhelpful. This was a pity as all other staff we came across were great. We would definitely recommend this hotel, it is excellent value.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giovanni wrote a review Oct 2014
Montreal, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is one I will always recommend. After a rough start with the initial booking the hotel made sure to clear up any booking issues and ensured that our business trip went smoothly. The shuttle service was very reasonable from Naples Airport and the staff was courteous for all of our requests. They made sure all of our needs were met and made reservations for us at great places to dine, since for almost all of us this was the first visit to Salerno. I wish every time I hosted a business conference it was as smooth as ours was.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VAChristine wrote a review Jan 2014
Rome, Italy
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Principati Hotel with my friend , to see all the beautiful lights that Salerno offers .The room was nice and the bathroom welcomes you with a spaces bath . We stayed for lunch we ordered two antipasti di pesce they were okay and then two spaghetti alle vongole very good . The bad thing was what happend after we ordered the salmon ( that was on the menu )but they didn't have any , not pleasant by that we ordered pork chop they didn't have that as well . We then ordered fries thanckfully they had that they then offerd us dessert !
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James B wrote a review Dec 2018
Guerville, France
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed one night on this hotel during a business trip.
The rooms are not so bad but the staff is not so friendly.
The breakfirst is not good at all.
The restaurant is not good.
But the price is quite cheap, then if you want to stay one night, it s ok but not more.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antony asked a question Jul 2016
45 contributions46 helpful votes
É facile raggiungere il porto di Salerno per poter fare qualche escursione? Grazie
Answer from francesco t
Brugherio, Italy26 contributions22 helpful votes
Arrivare al porto di Salerno, e un impresa difficile in alcune ore della mattina, se ci si avvia dopo le 10:00 tramite autostrada ci vorrà 15/20 min.
d0menic064 asked a question Jul 2016
Rome, Italy13 contributions8 helpful votes
salve desidero sapere se nei dintorni ci sono delle piscine x svagarsi un po'?
Answer from 11lilo11
Salerno, Italy282 contributions145 helpful votes
ciao,si,una piscina è disponibile a circa 2 km.località saragnano....è comunale non offre grandi cose,ma lo stretto necessario,ed è comoda se non vuoi avventurarti a salerno,molto più caotico!
Answer from ANTO
Syracuse, Italy185 contributions53 helpful votes
il porto di salerno è a circa un quarto d'ora di strada. l'hotel ha un parcheggio interno. Ti aprono loro il cancello a richiesta e poi entri dal retro. Veramente molto comodo. Struttura consigliatissima
Carlo S wrote a tip Oct 2016
New York City, New York7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can hear some noise in rooms facing the highway, so request rooms facing the back if possible."
Read full review
TC04-63 wrote a tip Aug 2016
Evesham, United Kingdom45 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do t have a room next to lift"
Read full review
geog81 wrote a tip Oct 2012
Athens, Greece51 contributions56 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 116 has a damaged mattress. Rooms on the west side have a beautiful mountain view (above the gas station)"
Read full review
julianrowland wrote a tip Jul 2011
Hitchin, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with an even number - they are quieter."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Baronissi area.
PRICE RANGE
C$115 - C$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Hotel dei Principati
LOCATION
ItalyCampaniaProvince of SalernoBaronissi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel dei Principati - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel dei Principati
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel dei Principati?
Nearby attractions include Frijenn Magnann (0.8 km), Museo Frac - Fondo Regionale d'Arte Contemporanea (1.1 km), and Chiesa di S. Bartolomeo Apostolo (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel dei Principati?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel dei Principati?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel dei Principati?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel dei Principati?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel dei Principati?
Conveniently located restaurants include 'A Puteca d' 'o Munaciello, Le Cinque Porte, and Carne & Fornelli.
Does Hotel dei Principati have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel dei Principati offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hotel dei Principati?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel dei Principati offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel dei Principati?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Italian, Russian, and Ukrainian.
All Baronissi HotelsBaronissi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BaronissiHotels near Hotel dei Principati
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars