We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan at Forton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Forton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan at Forton
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a twin room, beds were tiny and very uncomfortable, the bathroom was also on the small side and desperate for refurbishment. The room was at the front and from 6 am it was like sleeping on the hard shoulder. The evening meal was my biggest complaint, started with muscles in tomatoe sauce, more sauce than mussels, I then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience with us. I am sorry to hear of the problems you had whilst staying and dining with us and can only apologise. I will address each and every one of the issues you raise and will endeavour to put them right for future guests. (Obvoiously I cannot...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Whilst en-route to Manchester airport we arranged to have a meal at the Swan at Forton on Boxing Day. We had booked our requirements in advance from the on line menu and,once seated ,our starters arrived within minutes of our drinks. The restaurant was very busy with Boxing Day revellers but this did not detract from the attention given to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crabma
Swan F, General Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and am glad that even though we were very busy, that we were able to look after you very well and that we helped make your boxing day! Hopefully you will be "en-route" next...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Swan for three nights while visiting friends and family. Upon arrival after an 8 hour journey, we were not made to feel very welcome, with a member of staff very quick to tell us when they would be stopping serving food, and when we needed to check out by. The room (in the converted barn) was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete M
Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Nice venue, really nice food and very good atmosphere. Good all day event and nice drinks at the very well staffed bar Nice room and warm considering the cold weather outside. The only one downside only luke warm water in the shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The carvery can't be faulted. The food looks delicious and is definitely home-cooked. The price is reasonable and staff helpful and friendly. I hadn't booked but was welcomed in. The restaurant very quickly filled up and most seemed to be 'regulars'. Enjoyed the food so much I've booked a Christmas carvery lunch too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sw1abc
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Stayed for one night recently, evening meal was excellent and staff very attentive considering there was another large party eatingat same time, breakfast ok. Room was well below what would be expected even at a competitive price. We stayed in a room in the annexe and it was very cold when we got there at about 5.30, the wall heater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wifandsally
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1 night and had a great time, staff were all very friendly and food and drink were both great. Plenty of parking and rooms clean and comfy. Very good price too, would recommend highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blakie1987
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The management and staff were excellent nothing too much trouble .First class service they all made our Wedding day one to remember. Food was excellent both main meal and later serving for evening guests .Everyone commented on the welcome they received . We found the price we paid was very competitive and excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianWilson1943
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We are always pleased with our food at the swan; we are regular visitors and enjoy going to the carvery on Mondays for £5. Staff are always welcoming and helpful. Definitely recommend to families. Thanks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haribo_999
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The character of the building is lovely, we were warmly greeted on arrival by friendly member of staff who was shadowed by a new staff member and shown to our room. Room size was sufficient but looked tired and overshadowed by the road noise due to single paned windows.(We were in a room near the front of the building.)The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cfc1008

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
8.2 km away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
11.0 km away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Offley Grove Farm
Offley Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Adbaston
55 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Swan at Forton

Address: Eccleshall Road, Newport TF10 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Price Range: $79 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Swan at Forton 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan at Forton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Forton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hove, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Forton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the Bridle suite which was very large so cannot comment really.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianWilson1943, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles cfc1008, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose it elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles WellCooked, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles AnniGM, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the main building, rooms are bigger than average.”
 of 5 bubbles 406garryt, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5