We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cley Windmill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cley Next the Sea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cley Windmill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 353: English reviews
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have loved coming to this area forever and when given the opportunity to stay in the Windmill jumped at the chance. Our room was the River Room - triple aspect and very comfortable. A family gathering of ancient cousins who enjoyed the glorious weather and walks especially a return trip to the beaches at Wells-next-the-Sea. There is a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alantip
London
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On a miserably rainy day I began the journey from SE London to Cley Next The Sea via M11, A11 and a variety of B roads that Sat Nav guided me along. The journey to Norfolk always takes longer than you think, but as we were in no hurry we enjoyed the fact that at 11:30 there was very little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smashy27
telford
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary. So quirky but the standard was first class. We had the long room which is adjacent to the windmill and was just perfect. Very cosy and comfortable. The dinner in the evenings was an intimate affair with candles and subdued lighting. The food was excellent and they change the menu every night....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank naughtynana
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When you book something on your tick list of must do's there's always a risk it won't live up to your expectations. Staying in a windmill for my 50th meant it had to be special, and it was. Quaint and cosy with warm hospitality. From booking to check out everything was dealt with efficiently and with thought. The windmill is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

one of the most unique places i ever stayed in. I loved it. Full of character. The owner is putting all the money he makes back into the property. Instead of rich people buying it and moving in as it happens in so many other places, this guy makes is accessible for us. It is not cheap, but a once-in-a-lifetime-experience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RavinKraut
Norfolk, England.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately they do not do lunch at this establishment but for those staying, there is a B. B & D option. My husband & I went for dinner only. The welcome was not overly warm nor was the room we were shown into as the fire was going out. One of the waitresses, the older of the 2, was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellybucket
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you were not aware that we operate a set menu only. We always serve three courses at our nightly dinners. We would be interested know how you booked as we always discuss the set three course dinner as a part of the booking process as advertised on our menus. Our...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you love peace and quiet, reading or painting, and going for long walks with terrific views and birdlife/wildlife. Combined with fantastic food then this is the place to stay. A perfect get away and relaxing stay. Extremely courteous and friendly staff to ensure your stay is great. Want to go again !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wishiwasretired_10
norwich
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wish we had stayed now!!!!!....Had dinner here a couple of weeks ago on a Sunday night, only 4 couples in the restaurant, You cant fault it, lovely lovely place, food to die for and "Immy" are waitress is simply superb, a credit to Cley Windmill, prompt, friendly and nothing was too much, I urge anyone to pay a visit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris b
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the evening to celebrate my wife's birthday. Simon very kindly organised flowers (which were amazing!) and pink fizz for the room. We stayed in the Stone room which was very cosy and extremely comfortable. The evening meal and breakfast were both delicious and the wine menu was impressive.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing.. the room was comfy and copied and everything was how I'd expect it to be. The food was lovely.. the biggest let down.. the evening waiting staff. In fact it was hard to listen to the same waitress ask 8 different tables of 2 "Is everything OK say far?" The guy waiter didn't really know what he was doing.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tashy83
Carolyn G, Owner at Cley Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your rating of ‘Amazing’. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests old and new to the Windmill, especially on a special occasion. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your room. We are on the other hand surprised by your comments regarding our lovely evening staff. It's normally the opposite as our diners...

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cley Next the Sea
5.4 km away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
479 reviews
1.7 km away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
344 reviews
21.4 km away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
735 reviews
0.2 km away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
397 reviews
0.3 km away
Old Town Hall House
Old Town Hall House
#2 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique accommodations in a converted 18th-century windmill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cley Windmill

Address: Cley Windmill The Quay, Cley Next the Sea, Holt NR25 7RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt > Cley Next the Sea
Price Range: $127 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Cley Windmill Hotel Cley Next The Sea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cley Windmill staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Miami Beach, Florida
over a year ago
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Cley Windmill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River room is on ground floor and has has easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles alantip, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a double called the boathouse but do contact them if you want to stay in the room at top of windmill.”
 of 5 bubbles Smashy27, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wheel room for best views”
 of 5 bubbles RavinKraut, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms offer excitement, but for the fit and agile choose the room at the top of the Mill”
 of 5 bubbles wishiwasretired_10, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher you are the more stairs and so better views!”
 of 5 bubbles peternb10, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5